RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   AMT Netherlands (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/amt-netherlands-446/)
-   -   AMT AT 280 Thrust? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/amt-netherlands-446/11205599-amt-280-thrust.html)

cbooth1979 08-25-2012 09:56 AM

AMT AT 280 Thrust?

Hi,

I have a AMT AT 280 Pegusas turbine with a Gen 1 ECU. Im confused with the thrust rating of the engine though? Full throttle shows about 105-106,000 rpms and idles around 36,000. I was told that it was a 28lb engine but Ive read that some of the AT280's were 22lb engines. Anyone have any info on this? Thanks in advance! ( P.S. This engine is from the 1998-99 era)

-Carl

yeahbaby 08-29-2012 05:00 PM

RE: AMT AT 280 Thrust?

If I remember correctly that era AT280s were 28lb thrust motors. They were a collaborative effort with AMT USA and AMT Netherlands when they were based in West Virginia

solid motors, i've been running these tanks since 1998 when the first Mercury engines were introduced.

fuel 'em and fly 'em

Dr Honda 08-30-2012 06:11 AM

I'm not the most knowledgeable person here... but like all engines.. they've gone though some evolution.

If it's a V1 (older) engine... and the max RPM's are only around 106k... then it probably is a 22~24Lb engine. The "Newer" 28lb thrust engines are running up to 117k. (and the new Netherlands version is up to 35 Lbs!! ) Since Turbines make thrust exponentially... 12K off max would be about 4~5lbs less thrust.

I have an early, V1 AT 180, and it's a great engine. Originally... It was supposed to be a 15 Lb thrust engine. BUT... a simple call to US Microjet with the serial number... and I found at it's last service... they did some upgrades, and they had it making 17.5Lbs of thrust. Knowing that... I'd contact US Microjet, and see if they have a history on it.