ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

GP Waco?

Reply
Old 10-28-2011, 07:12 PM
  #976
Pilot P51
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 190
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

I had a Saito 150 I was not using that I was going to try to fit but it is too big and you have to cut the cowel all up. Plus that is way to much engine for this plane now that I have been flying it with a Saito 125.

Walt
Pilot P51 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 01:30 PM
  #977
WindGap
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 228
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Made a tank tray to fit in where the stock tank location. However, it offsets the location closer to CG. Only using a 10cc tank.
WindGap is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 02:32 PM
  #978
Hill202
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

I got in a few flights on mine today. When I was putting it together, one of the blind nuts came loose in the wing. The ones where you bolt the angle brackets down that hold the outer wing braces. I was able to get to it through the servo hatch. I had to cut through some sheeting on the wing spar,from inside the servo hatch, to access it. A royal pain but I was able to do it at the field. The nut had very little barbs on it and was turning with the bolt.
Hill202 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 07:08 PM
  #979
Kostas1
 
Kostas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AthensAthens, GREECE
Posts: 3,549
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Did you design it on CAD;
Kostas1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 04:23 AM
  #980
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Hill202

I got in a few flights on mine today. When I was putting it together, one of the blind nuts came loose in the wing. The ones where you bolt the angle brackets down that hold the outer wing braces. I was able to get to it through the servo hatch. I had to cut through some sheeting on the wing spar,from inside the servo hatch, to access it. A royal pain but I was able to do it at the field. The nut had very little barbs on it and was turning with the bolt.
Hill why were you taking those lose?
skillet92 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 08:12 PM
  #981
WindGap
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 228
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

More like a butcher-mechanics, eyeball-metrics. But, it's sturdy, straight, and will hold up.

Will break in the dle 20 on airframe, wringing the control surfaces nonstop to see how many mah I drain for a 12 min flight. The same setup has been good to me on another plane. I assume that I can easily get 4-5 twelve fin lights w/o worry bout battery running out.
WindGap is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 01:29 PM
  #982
WindGap
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 228
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

My wife saw me trying to unbolt the cowl, and she stated, "Whoever designed that thing is stupid." Yes, it's a pain.

The dle 20 fits well. Plane is mostly finished. Just need to work out a good choke system. And no, the ignition plug isn't on all the way. Just mocked up for fitment.


Just following in the footsteps of those who made it a science.
WindGap is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 07:42 PM
  #983
Hellcat716
 
Hellcat716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,266
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Where is the exit for cooling?
Hellcat716 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 03:12 AM
  #984
Lifer
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 3,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Plus 1 on the previous comment. Look back in the thread for other examples. You need 2 or 3 times the size of the intake for the exhaust area. Failure to do so could be really bad.
Lifer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 07:42 AM
  #985
aframe2
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Walton, KY
Posts: 197
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

I want to finish the Waco like a mail carrier, without the front cockpit. The manual doesn't specify how to install the disc that covers
the front cockpit. Has anyone outfitted this plane as a mail carrier? Do you just glue the disc over the hole? Thanks, Aframe2
aframe2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 08:22 AM
  #986
cannonball200
 
cannonball200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Windgap; Here is a pic of mine.. There is also air outlet all around the cowl that lets quite a bit of air flow out...

I have cleaned up the outlet holes with my dremel sander since this pic so it now looks better...
Thanks,
Eddie
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx72034.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	501.7 KB
ID:	1682879  
cannonball200 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 08:50 AM
  #987
cannonball200
 
cannonball200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Here is my choke setup............. It works perfect..... 440 threaded end rod... Drill a very small hole in the fibergalss for the choke exit so it will be snug... When the choke is pulled outward it is in choke position,,,,when pushed in it is run position....awesome..Used a Dubro threaded 4-40 black safty-lock quick link. You can also see on the cowl pic all the air exit opening around the cowl interior.


Thanks,
Eddie
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd92369.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	296.9 KB
ID:	1682886   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sp45559.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	266.2 KB
ID:	1682887  
cannonball200 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:48 AM
  #988
Andy R Bush
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Hi I glued it on with canopy glue and it held fast even after the terminal crash. Hope this helps. I used masking tape to hold it in place while it dried.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: aframe2

I want to finish the Waco like a mail carrier, without the front cockpit. The manual doesn't specify how to install the disc that covers
the front cockpit. Has anyone outfitted this plane as a mail carrier? Do you just glue the disc over the hole? Thanks, Aframe2
Andy R Bush is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:54 AM
  #989
vasek
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,071
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Hey guys, isn't there a less conspicuous way of making the air exit from the cowl?

Thanks,V.
vasek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 03:53 PM
  #990
WindGap
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 228
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Thanks for all the advice regarding the outlet air opening. So much itchy fiberglass sanding that I just stopped and didn't get to it yet. Will make em similar to the ones in the manual. Cockpit as per manual.

I like all your ideas for the choke. I'm shooting for light, since I'm using a DLE 20. I'm going to run it stock to see how much power I have, and if there's plenty, I will put a silencer on it. But that's down the road.
WindGap is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 04:49 AM
  #991
WindGap
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 228
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Well, it took me the whole little league football season to finish this plane. Could only squeeze an hour here and there. More time to think about what I needed to do, and less time to do it. Anyway, I cut four more holes for air outlet. It should be adequate in this cool weather. Just have to check the surfaces for proper movement, check cg (which seems to be pretty close with a finger check). Will add the dummy engine at a later date.

What's the best cg location? I know what the manual suggests; I know it's a safe suggestion.
WindGap is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 04:54 AM
  #992
Lifer
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 3,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Just my opinion, but the dummy engine is likely necessary for proper engine cooling. You need to have 2 or 3 times as much exit area as intake, so the engine, with a proper cutout in front of the cylinder provides this ratio. You have taken your time and built a nice plane, so please take a little more time and complete this last step.

Best regards!
Lifer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 09:56 PM
  #993
erans
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth WA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Hi, Ihave just got my first couple of flights on my WACO fitted with the SAITO FG-20 at the WAMASC airfield in Perth Western Australia.
The flight took place in gale force wind, but was OK. The aeroplane fly very well, but did require fair amount of trim (still to be investigated on better flying day) and landing was challenging as the aeroplane kept floating (maybe the wind didn't help).
I posted few photos showing the FG-20 setup with the tray for the ignition. I am using Eneloop 6V for the engine ignition placed in the area behind the fuel tank to get the balance correct. As to appearance, it is probably better to use the 90 degree bend for the exhaust which will get it straight backwards. I am using the Hobbico LiFe Source battery for the radio also located behind the fuel tank.
The radio is JR 11X with JR9ch receiver (one of the photos show the receiver "tray" glued to the side). The the LiFe Source battery is plugged into both battery and empty channel into the receiver using two switches for redundancy. Each Aileron uses its own separate channel, and one channel is used for Optical Kill Switch for the engine.
Ididn't used the supplied fuel tank which is way too large for petrol engine as there is no reason to carry around all this weight in fuel. I also didn't yet used the dummy engine, but may install it later.

I am very happy with the flying characteristics. It is very scale with the FG-20 and 15x8 APC prop. Iwouldn't mind a bit more power and will try the APC 16x6 to see if it is a better prop for this aeroplane, but only because Iwould like to do some non-scale manoeuvres..

What Ididn't like:
1. The landing gear fibreglass cover already cracking after two landings.
2. The wing bolts holes were in the wrong location and had to be filled and re-drilled
3. The fit of the wing fairings is not good out of the box.
4. Iam sure that Great Planes could have find a way to supply the wing joiners with the lock-nut permanently attached.

Overall, if you into scale flying, the FG-20 is quite a good match for this aeroplane.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca80370.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	462.4 KB
ID:	1685890   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xs58938.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	422.6 KB
ID:	1685891   Click image for larger version

Name:	Va70807.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	460.0 KB
ID:	1685892   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fz74908.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	648.2 KB
ID:	1685893  
erans is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 03:58 AM
  #994
leedees
 
leedees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 321
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?


Great post erans and congratulations on a successful maiden flight. The Saito must sound beautiful doing a nice scale low pass with your Waco.

I expect you will get a fair bit more thrust with the 16x6 prop.
leedees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 04:30 AM
  #995
Andy R Bush
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Congratulations on the successful flight, and for the info about it, the first ones are the most risky. Amazing that it flys so well on a 20.
Andy R Bush is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 07:42 AM
  #996
erans
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth WA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Thank you leedees and Andy R Bush. The sound of the FG-20 is fantastic. All I was feeling like doing is one low pass after the other so Ican listen to it...
Icannot wait to see how it fly in calm wind conditions.
erans is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 01:42 PM
  #997
WindGap
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 228
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Finally got to maiden the plane, while breaking in the DLE 20. Ran it rich, but did not take anything away from the plane. It flew excellent, with two clicks left, and one up to trim out. It finger balanced w/o any changes. It lands so beautifully on its mains, and is a joy to fly. The DLE 20 has plenty of power. Thank you to everyone who who offered advice on the build.
WindGap is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 08:38 AM
  #998
cannonball200
 
cannonball200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

The best CG location is just like the manual say's. It will fly perfect set there.
Thanks,
Eddie
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz77259.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	299.5 KB
ID:	1686631  
cannonball200 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 08:41 AM
  #999
cannonball200
 
cannonball200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Windgap, I told you the DLE20 would give you plenty of HP. They do land awesome.... Happy flying!
Eddie of OKC
cannonball200 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 07:40 PM
  #1000
flyntruk
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: santa rosa, CA
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP Waco?

Well... I'm getting all the parts togethet for my build (servos etc ) and I'm thinking about putting in a smoke pump . I'll be running a Saito 120 any thoughts on a smoke set up and muffler ? Your input is welcomed Thanks
flyntruk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:47 AM.