Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

GP Easy Sport balance.

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

GP Easy Sport balance.

Old 02-01-2012, 05:57 AM
mikegordon10

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GP Easy Sport balance.

I just finished assembling a Great Planes Easy Sport with an OS 46 engine mounted as per the instructions. A 600 mah battery mounted right behind the tank and the RX behind that. Now in order for it to balance at the 105mm called out in the instructions I would have to add 3 oz of lead to the tail. I've been doing this RC thing for 40+ years and I know all about moving stuff around , that's not the question. The question is, is this just a short coupled poorly designed model or am I missing something else here. I'd really like to hear from someone who has assembled this model.
Old 02-01-2012, 02:11 PM
mikegordon10

Default RE: GP Easy Sport balance.

I just can't believe that in the whole RC Universe, Universe that no one besides myself has assembled this model! Unbelievable!
Old 02-01-2012, 07:16 PM
jzrf6c

Well guess what? I've built two of these guys! I love to start off the season flying the ES first before going on to my other models. The reason - less stress. And I get more confidence with our windy weather starting off EASY (Ha HA).

I don't know must about the design but I too had to add about 3 ounces to the tail in order to get it to balance at the given CG. I have an OS 46 installed and placed the battery and receiver as far forward as possible.
Old 02-01-2012, 07:53 PM
mikegordon10

Thanks, that's what I was looking for. I feel so much better now. This model was not for me. I assembled it for another modeler.