ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

GP GEE BEE

Reply
Old 10-17-2003, 08:36 AM
  #51
popeye721
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

John
If your went over 13lbs. This would be your problem. This is not that big of a modle to require a gas engine.
Mine came in at 12lbs 4oz with a saito 120FS only 1/2 oz at tail to ballance perfectly
It was clocked at 85 mph. thats fast enough. The stubby fuse and thin wings can not cope being to heay it becomes a patato with wings at low speeds prop used 15x6 no torque problem.

Andrew
popeye721 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 08:50 AM
  #52
kw666
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: salem, MA
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

I am thinking about putting a mvvs 1.60 gas in mine do you think that is to much engine for this plane
kw666 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 09:02 AM
  #53
Vulture33
 
Vulture33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sylvania, OH
Posts: 36
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

It took a few weeks to get over the crash and I have decided to get another Gee Bee and put the 120 FS in it. Everything about the kit from construction to the flying were great and worth the replacement cost for a new kit and engine. It is wating for me at the hobby shop. I will also go back to a smaller battery pack with the goal of balancing with little or no additional weight.

With the 30cc engine, the takeoff and flight aspects were great... the landing got me. Hopefully with the smaller/lighter engine, it will be a great flying and landing kit.

John
Vulture33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 12:12 PM
  #54
pettit
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

It Flies!!! It Flies!!!

Test flew the GP Gee Bee Friday. No problems found at all in 4 flights. Needed half throttle with Saito 150. Knife edges at high speed and low altitude are a thing of beauty.

Read the whole review in an upcoming issue of R/C REPORT Magazine
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx70041.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	75.0 KB
ID:	68850   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk31334.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	45.8 KB
ID:	68851   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pv53445.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	24.3 KB
ID:	68852  
pettit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 04:59 PM
  #55
bruce119
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Holiday, FL
Posts: 36
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Larger Wheels

Hi all I hope all your GeeBees are flying good. Mine is flying great and a lot of fun. Here's a tip, last weekend I took the Gee Bee to another field. It was a little on the rough side and I had a little trouble taxiing with a couple of nose overs. I tried putting on larger wheels, 4 1/2" Dubro treaded lite wheels fit just fine. I only had to open up the wheel paint just a little. What a difference problem solved.
Just wanted to pass this on.
Have fun
Bruce
bruce119 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 12:09 AM
  #56
IncredibleITGuy
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 49
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

I noticed the range of motors in this thread... anyone running the .91 2 stroke? If it flies fine withthe 120-4.... let me know I am thinking about it....

-ty
IncredibleITGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 10:24 AM
  #57
Vampire
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bath, PA
Posts: 1,077
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Andrew:

I used the full recommended 5/8" U/D elevator w/ the 50% expo. and it works great on grass fields as the full 5/8" keeps the tail well planted during the landing roll out.

As stated in my previous post, I had replaced the 4" soft foam supplied tires with 4-1/2" sulliavn "Skylites".

Dick:

How where your "thorws" settup ? Just comparing notes.

BRG.
Vampire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 01:06 PM
  #58
pettit
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

I set them up as listed in the manual, on low rate, with a bit more on high rate. Never went to high during flight tests ands certainly didn't need to. Plenty as listed.

Make sure you balance it EXACTLY where listed. If you don't, it could get ugly.
pettit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 06:52 PM
  #59
Yak18
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 783
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Wanted to pass along some info: Robart is coming out with functioning landing gear for the Gee Bee. Part number: GPGEEBEE on the Tower site. Not yet available but soon.

Yak
Yak18 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 11:21 AM
  #60
GBR2
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 678
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

At $130 for a set of landing gear, when available. Wonder if they can be installed after building or must be installed during the build.
GBR2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 12:25 PM
  #61
therotund1
 
therotund1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: \'da Boonies , TN
Posts: 462
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

GBR2, I looked at the manual online and the Robart gear look like the'll be designed similarly to the ones I have for my GP Ryan STA. If so, installing them on an assembled plane will be no problem at all.
therotund1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 09:59 PM
  #62
marcopolo
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Built one for a friend and flew it for the first time last week. It is powered with a OS 120 four stroke. Flys great, fast, aerobatic, just keep the speed up on landing. It seems to like being wheel landed rather than a 3-point. Elevator loses effectiveness at low speeds and higher angles of attack making landings touchy. Set up airplane per instructions and it required about 3/4 ounce of lead in the tail to balance. Could have moved the battery back but it was easier to mount a small piece of lead in the tail.
marcopolo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 07:14 PM
  #63
Iflyglow
 
Iflyglow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Clintonville, WI
Posts: 3,843
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

I have my kit sitting on the bench presently, and am wondering what to power it with? I want it to be light and a 4C. I have already picked up some HITEC 225 servo's .90 oz and 55OZ's of torque. I would like to really keep the weight down. I am willing to mount the battery in a box on the firewall if I have to. I like the weight of the SAITO 100 19.5 oz's,but am not sure it will have enough. I know the YS110 would be powerfull enough but your back up to approx 26 oz's, A 120 is about 30 oz's. Any feed back would be appreciated.
Thanks
Dave
Iflyglow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 11:18 AM
  #64
rcavi8ter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rantoul, IL
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

YS 120 or a Webra 120? That is the question. I should have mine around the end of the week. Looks like it goes together real easy. Using this as a stepping stone to maybe finish my Hostetler R1 with a Saito 450.


Chris
rcavi8ter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 03:58 PM
  #65
RJConnet
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: OR
Posts: 680
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Quote:
ORIGINAL: epc

Please opinions on the previous post about the engine:

Supertigre 2300 or TT 120

thanks,


epc.

After reading through this thread it seems to me that either engine would provide ample power. I would go for the one I thought was most reliable, I think dead-sticks with this plane might be a real hand-full. IHMO

RJ
RJConnet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 01:57 AM
  #66
GeeBee_R2
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

I will be installing a thunder tiger 120 so I can turn a bigger prop. It should have extra power to pull out of a situation. I might have to rienforce some high stress areas. If anyone is interested, I will post some fly-by pics when I get them.
GeeBee_R2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 01:55 AM
  #67
Anson
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orange, CA,
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

I really wanted to put a gas engine in mine but after reading all the above it sounds like the Saito 120 will be the engine of choice. I have 2 new Quadras sitting on the shelf and I wish I could have used the smaller one (it's a 35) in the GP Gee Bee - or at least a smaller gasser, something like a Zenoah 23, but even that sounds like it's too heavy.

On another note, has anyone considered using mixing to use the ailerons as flaperons to improve low speed performance on landing? Since the tips extend well past the ailerons I wouldn't think tip stalling would be an issue. Thoughts?
Anson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 03:14 PM
  #68
Vulture33
 
Vulture33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sylvania, OH
Posts: 36
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Not sure about the flaperons... interesing possibility.

Has anyone posted video of theirs flying?
Vulture33 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 03:49 PM
  #69
TLH101
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Flaperons only work with full span strip ailerons. Will induce a tip stall with "barn door" ailerons.
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 04:04 AM
  #70
puma79
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: DarlinghurstNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 49
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

You said you are running a saito 120 F/S. I have the 74" CMPRO GeeBee and I am putting a 120 ASP F/S, and am wondering about prop size, given the frontal area of the cowl?
puma79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 02:43 PM
  #71
GeeBee_R2
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

I am at the point of installing the needle adjustment. I am thinking of extending it with cable to the opening in the cowl next to the fusalage. Does anybody have suggestions?
Gene

PS A 15 inch prop or bigger looks good. Anything smaller does not look scale.
GeeBee_R2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2003, 10:49 AM
  #72
rcavi8ter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rantoul, IL
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Stab problems. I got my Gee Bee last night and while checking over everything I slid the stab into the fuse and noticed that the fuse was 1/4 bigger then the stab. Has anyone else noticed this? Also the tabs for my wing mount were broken off the leading edge as well, not a big deal I just noticed some wood floating around inside the wing bags. While cutting the canopy out it is very brittle and cracked several times around the cut. I am looking for ways to repair the fuse or stab I have another one of these coming on Monday and I think they are very well made I just think I got a problematic one. Any help would be great here.


Chris
rcavi8ter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 10:00 PM
  #73
GeeBee_R2
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

I got my geebee from tower hobbies scratch n dent. It has some cracks in the fuse behind the cockpit and the cowl is chipped. The parts for this plane are very resonable. (I only paid 180.00 for it) I used monocoat over the crackes in the fuse. The wing tabs were also broken off. Just epoxy them back on. The gap between the stab and fuse can be filled from the inside with thick epoxy. I only had about a 1/8 inch gap on the top and on the bottom. it turned out nice. Ran the thunder tiger 120 2t today and it should pull this bird out of sight. Next week will be 1st flight. I will post pics when I get a camera. Hope this helps. Weight is 11 lbs 10 oz. dry.
Gene
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec88846.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	30.0 KB
ID:	75248   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt62596.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	34.6 KB
ID:	75249  
GeeBee_R2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 12:04 AM
  #74
epc
 
epc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Miami/Santo Domingo., FL
Posts: 568
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

GeeBee_r2:

Can you tell me how was the engine instalation any mods. needed for the TT , I think I'll be using this engine for mine but I'm not decided yet .

Will like to hear your comments on this combo.

thanks.


epc.
epc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 02:59 AM
  #75
GeeBee_R2
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

epc,
The muffler for this engine is a monster. You have to mount the engine at a 45 degree angle and extend the muffler out the bottom with a du-bro extention. Or you can put a pitts style on it. With this engine the plane balances perfect with no weight added. Just move your battery back a little.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv63401.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	36.9 KB
ID:	75296   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kg14824.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	33.0 KB
ID:	75297  
GeeBee_R2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:08 PM.