ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

New Hangar 9 1/4 Scale P 18 Super Cub

Reply
Old 02-14-2017, 07:13 AM
  #2001
dynoman024
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CO
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I just mounted the VVRC 40 and when I slide the cowl on it barely clears the carberator intake. I cut the excess fiber glass out and there is a little clearance but did any one else have the concearn that the air flow may be a little limiting? The PR Bushwheels look RAD on this thing. Thanks to the guys that have put in the effort here. ANY advice would be appreciated.
dynoman024 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 08:18 AM
  #2002
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,887
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Like I said in the PM I sent you, we have done 4 of these now to VV40s, there's no airflow issue to the carb.

I baffled the heads with foam board (black so it mixes in) from Michael's Craft store, but other than that, no problem
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 08:29 AM
  #2003
althepal88
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: riverside, CA
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InboundLZ View Post
Did you have any issues with that motor? Reliable?
The VVRC 40cc engine has been perfect for me. It hand starts fairly easy once you get the routine down (prop it with the choke closed and throttle open wide till it pops, open choke close throttle all the way, then open slightly, start flipping the prop).
althepal88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 08:34 AM
  #2004
althepal88
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: riverside, CA
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey View Post
Like I said in the PM I sent you, we have done 4 of these now to VV40s, there's no airflow issue to the carb.

I baffled the heads with foam board (black so it mixes in) from Michael's Craft store, but other than that, no problem
I used shortned toilet paper rolls and coated them with 20 min epoxy for baffles. I cut out the fake aircleaner (the blue piece) and have a direct air intake to my carb. I took an old servo horn and attached it to the choke arm so that I could operate the choke from the bottom rear of the cowl with a simple 2/56 wire.
althepal88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 09:39 AM
  #2005
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,887
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yea, I ran a choke rod out the back of the cowl. I cut away the black square part and put a screen there but left the bulbous oil cooler in place. There's fiberglass that needs to get removed from that trough where the oil cooler is but there's plenty of air getting to the motor.

I flew it w/o baffles for a while but my buddy has one on a Jeti with telemetry from both cylinders and after I saw the before and after telemetry dumps I made up the baffles.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 11:29 AM
  #2006
APLANEGUY
 
APLANEGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wayland, NY
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InboundLZ View Post
The build is coming along. Some minor challenges but they were overcome. I do have a question for you guys that have completed your builds. The manual indicates the need for 8 servos, it makes no mention of a reversed servo for one of the elevators. Did I miss something in the manual? I just reversed one of my servos and pressed on but I do think it is a major oversight on Hangar 9's part. I had the capability to reverse a servo, some guys would not not be able or have the tools....what was your experience?

I wished they had mentioned that up front too. I ended up using a Futaba reverser on one elevator servo 'cause the Futaba servos I had would be very tough (maybe impossible) to rewire. Lots of guys use Hitech servos and say they're simple to open up and rewire/reverse. I saw a couple pictures online of guys who reworked the servo tray and pushrod tubes so they could just mount two servos running in parallel turning the same direction. I wanted to do that but my big old hands were too tight of a fit in the fuselage to do it and make it look nice so I opted for the reverser. Seems like it would have been a simple matter to design the plane that way in the first place. In the end I love the plane and don't really think about it's shortcomings at all any more...
APLANEGUY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2017, 04:46 PM
  #2007
althepal88
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: riverside, CA
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I might use a splitter on the flaps and ailerons to use a six channel radio, but I would never get into a servo and rewire it. I will never run a reverser again, they are subject to failure and that would cost you an airplane (don't ask). You must be using an old transmitter if you don't have servo reversing capability. How about upgrading your radio to a newer 7 or 8 channel Tx so you can reverse your servos from the transmitter? Best thing to do is each servo has it's own channel.
althepal88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2017, 03:42 PM
  #2008
Jeepindog
 
Jeepindog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 445
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I didn't use a splitter on my elevator servos. I'll have to see how I hooked up the linkage.
Jeepindog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 08:45 AM
  #2009
dynoman024
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CO
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Guys! Sorry Barracuda, the pm didn't get to me till after I had posted... This gem is gonna be my favorite of the 7 Super/Carbon Cubs I have. Much more scale than the old H9 1/4 scale SC i have of theirs from 10+ years ago. I had read somewhere that a guy was having issues with his ignition when running it from the same power source as his nav light board... Anyone else have that issue? The "scale disease" is causing this build to take longer than expected for sure!
dynoman024 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 08:50 AM
  #2010
dynoman024
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CO
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


A few of my build photos so far... And the green machine hitting the mountain west for EMS support!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4650.JPG
Views:	309
Size:	95.8 KB
ID:	2209008   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4651.JPG
Views:	302
Size:	102.1 KB
ID:	2209009   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4654.JPG
Views:	308
Size:	75.0 KB
ID:	2209010   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4661.JPG
Views:	303
Size:	72.0 KB
ID:	2209011   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4676.JPG
Views:	311
Size:	106.2 KB
ID:	2209012   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4677.JPG
Views:	305
Size:	53.8 KB
ID:	2209013   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4640.JPG
Views:	302
Size:	70.3 KB
ID:	2209014  
dynoman024 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 05:07 PM
  #2011
cubcrasher
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Locust, NC
Posts: 476
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hey guys.
Got one of these bad boys for sale. Check out my add in the scale section.
Come and get it.
cubcrasher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2017, 07:30 AM
  #2012
RC_AVIGATOR
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sulphur, LA
Posts: 88
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 1/4 scale PR custom shock covers

Any ideas on attaching the original covers over the 1/4 scale PR custom shocks?
RC_AVIGATOR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2017, 04:51 PM
  #2013
althepal88
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: riverside, CA
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I painted my struts to match; left the cylinders aluminum right now. I've heard some silicone the aero covers in place. I don't know if they would stay, maybe. You could make a "sock" to cover like the old J-3.
althepal88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 03:06 AM
  #2014
dkurtzid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey View Post
I baffled the heads with foam board (black so it mixes in) from Michael's Craft store, but other than that, no problem
any photos of the baffles?

​​​​​​​Don
dkurtzid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 11:24 PM
  #2015
conte.vlad
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: M.Pietrasanta (LU) - La Thuile (AO) ITALY
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi. I built the Super Cub 1/4 by Hangar9, (engine 33cc Evo) with some accessory: PRBush Tyre, detailed interior, light system by Braincube, Pilot which move arms and head, and I arrive at a weight before balancing for the CG at Lbs 20,15.
What is the weight of your model?
The CG is correct (with the PrBush wheels) at 102/121 mm ? or with the major size of the tyre it must be a little rear?
Thankyou

Last edited by conte.vlad; 10-18-2017 at 11:28 PM.
conte.vlad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 04:31 AM
  #2016
hairy46
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sinclair, WY
Posts: 2,201
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Green machine

I have seen the green machine in my airport many times in Rawlins or at least same company , next time you come over we will talk RC airplanes, i'm a addict 168 so far.

Last edited by hairy46; 10-19-2017 at 04:34 AM.
hairy46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 06:24 AM
  #2017
althepal88
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: riverside, CA
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The tyre size has no relationship to the cg. The large tyres will contribute to ground looping if you drop your tail wheel while carrying to much airspeed. Same with take off, get the tail up and use the rudder. Have fun!
althepal88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 11:14 AM
  #2018
conte.vlad
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: M.Pietrasanta (LU) - La Thuile (AO) ITALY
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I had this doubt because I had read that with the floats it was better to set the CG slightly backward.
conte.vlad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 11:19 AM
  #2019
conte.vlad
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: M.Pietrasanta (LU) - La Thuile (AO) ITALY
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The biggest doubt I have is that with PRBush's wheels and shock absorbers, plus the larger cabin finishes, the moving rider and the aluminum body led I have exceeded the weight they indicate in the instructions that should be 18.5 Lbs, I arrive at 20.15
conte.vlad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 06:34 PM
  #2020
tigermeet
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Libby, MT
Posts: 89
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by conte.vlad View Post
The biggest doubt I have is that with PRBush's wheels and shock absorbers, plus the larger cabin finishes, the moving rider and the aluminum body led I have exceeded the weight they indicate in the instructions that should be 18.5 Lbs, I arrive at 20.15
I have the PR Bushwheels and my AUW is 20.25# and my CG is at 4.25" (110 mm) and she flies and handles beautifully.

You might want to consider reinforcing the landing gear mounts. I and a few others have had the landing gear come apart with just a few normal landings. All it consists of is two pieces (one in the front, one rear) of 3/8 x 3/4 ply that the gear mounts to. These pieces are sandwiched between two pieces of 1/8 lite ply and it only covers the thickness of the mount (3/8") nothing ties these parts to the floor. They do tie into the sidewall, which is 1/8 ply, using a slot and tab system. When mine broke, none of the wood broke, everything came apart at the joints. They used either hot glue or cheap epoxy for the glue as none of the glue soaked into the wood.
tigermeet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2017, 12:16 AM
  #2021
conte.vlad
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: M.Pietrasanta (LU) - La Thuile (AO) ITALY
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thank you so much!
Your words are of great comfort !!!
I will follow your suggestion to reinforce the landing gear attacks.
conte.vlad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 10:00 AM
  #2022
Jeepindog
 
Jeepindog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 445
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default ASP FT160AR carb

I just swapped out the stock ASP carbeurater from my 1.60 four stroke twin glow engine with a brand new one from an OS 1.60 twin. I had to do a little redesign/manufacturing to get the pieces to work, but it runs. I have to work on the throttle now so that runs better, but at least it runs. I hope I can get it to meter the fuel/air mixture properly so that I can fly this airplane again. It hasnít flown in 15 months! Wish me luck, or send me a free VVRC 40cc twin. (Both options will require enormous amounts of luck!)
Jeepindog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 04:54 AM
  #2023
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,292
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepindog View Post
I just swapped out the stock ASP carbeurater from my 1.60 four stroke twin glow engine with a brand new one from an OS 1.60 twin. I had to do a little redesign/manufacturing to get the pieces to work, but it runs. I have to work on the throttle now so that runs better, but at least it runs. I hope I can get it to meter the fuel/air mixture properly so that I can fly this airplane again. It hasnít flown in 15 months! Wish me luck, or send me a free VVRC 40cc twin. (Both options will require enormous amounts of luck!)
When I had problems with the carb on mine, I just swapped out the spray bar and needle valve, using parts from the OS 1.60 twin. Solved my issues.
TomCrump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:01 PM.