ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

RC Guys 33% Pitts S1 ARF

Reply

Old 03-08-2017, 05:09 AM
  #276  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hey Capt, I bought mine from Dan at last year's Toledo Show. I am also using a DLE-55RA..

I used the stock standoffs that came with the motor and added about 3/16 of Plywood at the firewall.

Make sure that you double the original firewall by adding a doubler on the inside.

I split my elevator using two servos mounter at the rear. My Rudder is a pull - pull system with the servo mounted a normal.
apipertoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 06:10 PM
  #277  
CaptRKO
My Feedback: (3)
 
CaptRKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: KEMAH TEXAS
Posts: 423
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

[QUOTE=apipertoo;12313756]Hey Capt, I bought mine from Dan at last year's Toledo Show. I am also using a DLE-55RA..

I used the stock standoffs that came with the motor and added about 3/16 of Plywood at the firewall.

Make sure that you double the original firewall by adding a doubler on the inside.

Many thanks Piper!

Thanks for the heads up! I am planning the same as far as elevator servos in the rear and the rudder pull/pull in the normal spot. Did you add the 3/16 ply behind the firewall? The Stock standoffs look like the will work. Planning on adding triangle stock and some more plywood on the Firewall. How did you plane fly with the DLE-55RA?
CaptRKO is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 08:41 AM
  #278  
CaptRKO
My Feedback: (3)
 
CaptRKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: KEMAH TEXAS
Posts: 423
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just started on the build....

I have 3 bags marked "Wing Struts" and they are all different lengths! The Cabane struts are a real pain in the ***** to install......the lock washers in the plywood formers are junk, several just fell out and are all cross threaded! Gotta love cheap quality ARF"s!

My canopy has a weird cloudy filmy on the "tint"......not really impressed and I am a "Pitts guy". I will have to substitute a lot of my own hardware which is not a problem but don't advertise the kit as "high quality" when it is not. Not sure it is worth the $540 I paid (minus shipping which was another $60)

Also the "ChinaKote" film was reported to be of higher quality now.....well it still has the white backing and I can see white in several seems! I can fix this. I guess I am spoiled by Hangar 9, PILOT, and Aeroworks.....while far from perfect at least there is some quality control and any lack of that customer service is on it ASAP!

No manual included (not a biggie) but if it is online how about an UPDATE? The manual online was made circa 2007-2008? Vague and a lot of info left out.

The real reviews on this kit are not good. I will give RC Guys a chance to make it "right" and will report back!
CaptRKO is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 07:33 PM
  #279  
RonMcCormick
My Feedback: (4)
 
RonMcCormick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 329
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Funny
RonMcCormick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 09:32 PM
  #280  
or170b
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lakeview, OR
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I guess quality is in the eye of the beholder. To me the quality is good. granted you have to do a lot of work to build a nice plane with this arf but where are you going to get a large scale pitts anywhere? No one makes them. If you were to have this built by Hanger 9 the price would be double what this kit costs. this is a great flying aircraft that I have many flights on.
or170b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 10:36 AM
  #281  
CaptRKO
My Feedback: (3)
 
CaptRKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: KEMAH TEXAS
Posts: 423
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by or170b View Post
I guess quality is in the eye of the beholder. To me the quality is good. granted you have to do a lot of work to build a nice plane with this arf but where are you going to get a large scale pitts anywhere? No one makes them. If you were to have this built by Hanger 9 the price would be double what this kit costs. this is a great flying aircraft that I have many flights on.

H9 provides some high quality stuff on especially the hardware. They sell the P-3 Biplane for $600ish so your point on costing "double" is not correct.

This model is about $350-$400 worth not what they are asking. I only pass this along to others who may be interested. The kit takes a lot of modification and replacement of hardware. Ive been in this hobby 30+ years, competed at TOPGUN (placed well) so I am not a newbie just spouting off! A search will show you I am not the only one! Many bad reviews.

I will modify and complete the airplane, it will look great and I can set it up to fly well. The "average" modeler will have some issues, and my point is the company could update the kit and instructions not just keep filling orders and taking the money.

Its an OLD arf so maybe in 2002 it was a "great arf" but not in 2017. Also I have yet to hear back from RC Guys! At least with Horizon/Hangar 9 my issues will be taken care of ASAP.

LOVE THE CHINAKOTE COVERING! ..........NOT!!!!!!
CaptRKO is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 08:58 AM
  #282  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Guys, I talked with Dan at the Toledo Show this past Saturday... He said that you do NOT need to put Flying wires on the tail section... all that really would be doing is adding the opportunity for additional Vibrations and or flutter
apipertoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 06:53 PM
  #283  
CaptRKO
My Feedback: (3)
 
CaptRKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: KEMAH TEXAS
Posts: 423
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Flown mine about 25 flights so far with no tail wires and no problems. The kit could have better hardware and maybe "updated" a bit but it is a nice Pitts kit so if you are on the fence "go for it"

Dan did send me some covering and was helpful in a few areas of concern. So I give them a passing grade.
CaptRKO is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 05:58 AM
  #284  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Capt, Thanks for the reply... I bought one last year at the Toledo Show... just finishing it up for this season... I put an electric start on it and I am putting a smoke system in, so I am at the poing of where and how to moung the batteries, smoke pump and the controller for the starter so the balane is correct... I kind of have been draging my feet ...

Thanks again !
apipertoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2017, 07:31 PM
  #285  
CaptRKO
My Feedback: (3)
 
CaptRKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: KEMAH TEXAS
Posts: 423
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Some more recent thoughts about this airplane....

I really like the fact I can carry it in my truck assembled. After about 30-35 flights on her now I have her dialed in more or less....she is not very stable like a 35%-40% IMAC bird and has a lot of pitch coupling but once you learn how to fly this Pitts I find it is a great exercise and workout for when I go fly my IMAC bird.

Had a chance to fly with a Byron Pitts yesterday and they are very close in size.....the RC GUYS Pitts flies better then the Byron and is much faster (I am flying mine with a DLE-55RA) so if you like Pitts Specials and can work around the ARF kit shortcomings I say GO FOR IT!
CaptRKO is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2017, 07:42 PM
  #286  
Moneypitts
Junior Member
 
Moneypitts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Anyone have pictures of how they mounted the servos in the rear of the plane under the elevators. I am going to start on mine in the next month or so (I have a Waco to repair I wrecked last week) and then I will start on this. I am on the fence with engines. I am looking at the Valach 60cc single or the Saito FG 61TS (twin), both heavy engines, but I am rather stuck on 4 Stroke Power. I will build in a smoke system and will use two batteries for the electronics, so I have plenty of weight to put aft. Just hoping this thread is not totally dead as this is only my second airplane I have built from an ARF. Thanks....
Moneypitts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 07:05 AM
  #287  
apipertoo
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dundee, NY
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Money Pitts.... you really shouldn't need pictures ?? IF you put a bright Flashlight in the fuse down near the tail section, you can see cut-outs in the framework showing where to mount the servos....
apipertoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 03:57 PM
  #288  
Moneypitts
Junior Member
 
Moneypitts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

OK...Thanks. I am not home now, But when I initially looked at the fuse, it appeared there would need to be some kind of reinforcement built to make that area strong enough for the servos. The directions call for it to be mounted in the tray. Darn, just looked again at the manual and it actually does state if going with larger than a 35cc to mount the servos in the rear of the fuse, make the cutouts for the pushrod exits large enough to mount the servo. It also states to glue a piece of 1/8 inch plywood behind this area for reinforcement. I missed that paragraph the first time reading through. I think I can handle that. This is only my second ARF. The GP Waco really went together with virtually 0 problems and as per the manual. There is quite a bit of build info on this Pitts out there, and it seems there are some issues, but everyone said they would definitely build it again. I had to do some research regarding wing incidence, how to measure and so forth. My Waco flies great, in my opinion, but I have no experience with gas planes. Certainly is a lot to learn! I am going to definitely check the wing incidences on the Waco when I get home. I know how I can adjust them if needed.

Thanks,
Keith
Moneypitts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 08:55 PM
  #289  
CaptRKO
My Feedback: (3)
 
CaptRKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: KEMAH TEXAS
Posts: 423
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I will say to BEEF up the center section wing spar! Mine exploded in flight......I thought maybe somebody shot me ....the airframe EXPLODED in the top wing area causing the left TOP wing to separate and take the lower right wing with it! I fly IMAC style aerobatics, lots of snaps etc....no 3D flying with a DLE-55 RA. I was thinking about ordering another one....if I did I would probably just put a DLE-35 in it and fly it like a Sunday School teacher as it is not build very strong. :{

Once I could see inside the wings you can see the light and cheap balsa was used.....real bummer!

I had a lot of fun with my little red S-1S Biplane, reminded me on the old Byron 1.3 scale .....I wish RC Guys would upgrade the kit and bring it to the modern ARF standard like Hangar 9.

Sigh....
CaptRKO is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 06:17 AM
  #290  
Moneypitts
Junior Member
 
Moneypitts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Pitts

Well...that blows. I have totalled my Waco and am putting the pitts on the back burner till I learn to fly gas better. I am going to do that with the hangar 9 ultra stick. I am going to remember this thread. That is really something. From all the research I did on this plane I thought I had all its shortcomings and build issues. Thus one seems more serious. I would think any pitts wpuld be built to handle aggressive flying.....thanks for the info.
Moneypitts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 06:39 AM
  #291  
Jim Branaum
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fair Oaks Ranch, TX
Posts: 2,615
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by CaptRKO View Post
I will say to BEEF up the center section wing spar! Mine exploded in flight......I thought maybe somebody shot me ....the airframe EXPLODED in the top wing area causing the left TOP wing to separate and take the lower right wing with it! I fly IMAC style aerobatics, lots of snaps etc....no 3D flying with a DLE-55 RA. I was thinking about ordering another one....if I did I would probably just put a DLE-35 in it and fly it like a Sunday School teacher as it is not build very strong. :{

Once I could see inside the wings you can see the light and cheap balsa was used.....real bummer!

I had a lot of fun with my little red S-1S Biplane, reminded me on the old Byron 1.3 scale .....I wish RC Guys would upgrade the kit and bring it to the modern ARF standard like Hangar 9.

Sigh....
Want a barely started Byron Pitts? The fuse is primed and the engine mount is on the nose. Everything else is still boxed or bagged.

It may not be as fast, but my other one is over 15 years old and except for the Econocote peeling due to UV damage and a bit of melt from a gas leak, it is just fine.

Last edited by Jim Branaum; 01-06-2018 at 06:41 AM.
Jim Branaum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 06:52 PM
  #292  
CaptRKO
My Feedback: (3)
 
CaptRKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: KEMAH TEXAS
Posts: 423
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Jim Branaum View Post
Want a barely started Byron Pitts? The fuse is primed and the engine mount is on the nose. Everything else is still boxed or bagged.

It may not be as fast, but my other one is over 15 years old and except for the Econocote peeling due to UV damage and a bit of melt from a gas leak, it is just fine.

Darn....good timing sir!

Sent you a PM.....like to see some pics!
CaptRKO is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service