Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 27 of 28 FirstFirst ... 1725262728 LastLast
Results 651 to 675 of 688

  1. #651
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    did everyone use 4 aileron servos or just 2, I was planning on using 4, I'm almost done except for the electronics and motor. I used black pin striping along the border of the red and silver, It really made it look nice. Another thing that puzeled me was they said don't remove and covering form the fin or stabilizer when epoxying them. Thats the first arf I'veput together that said that. I wonder why?

  2. #652
    apalsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,299
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


    ORIGINAL: rstekeur



    I want to replace the aluminum tubes with brass or copper lines so I can solder the small barbs on the ends to keep the fuel lines from coming off, I didn't have any luck trying to solder the aluminum lines. I'm new with gas, but I've read the fuel lines expand with age and can come off the lines. Has anyone tried a 3 blade prop for clearance?

    Mate, just flare the ends of these fuel tubes slightly with needlenose pliers or similar. No soldering needed

  3. #653

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Westhampton Beach, NY
    Posts
    656
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    You cannot solder aluminum, so brass is a must.

    For my YS engines, after I bend the tubes to shape, remove it from the stopper so it does not get damaged. I solder two wraps of thin #24 gauge wire about 1/16" back from the edge with very small torch using standard electrical solder and paste flux, NOT the acid flux that comes with silver solder!

    A little WD40 helps get the brass tubes though the stopper and after the lines are connected, I wrap the same wire around the fuel line twice then give it a few twists to hold the fuel line on.

    Never had one blow off with the YS engines.

    A large 100 watt soldering gun would probably work too.

    Bill S.
    Carl Goldberg Ultimate Brotherhood #56
    Goldberg Tiger Club #17
    SIG Brotherhood #69

    Ultra Sport Brotherhood #135
    http://radiocontrolhobbies.freeservers.com

  4. #654
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


    ORIGINAL: apalsson


    ORIGINAL: rstekeur



    I want to replace the aluminum tubes with brass or copper lines so I can solder the small barbs on the ends to keep the fuel lines from coming off, I didn't have any luck trying to solder the aluminum lines. I'm new with gas, but I've read the fuel lines expand with age and can come off the lines. Has anyone tried a 3 blade prop for clearance?

    Mate, just flare the ends of these fuel tubes slightly with needlenose pliers or similar. No soldering needed
    Hey, thats a good idea. Thanks

  5. #655
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    What has everyone done that has used 8 servos done as far as plugging them into the RX? Is 8 to much for the rx or do you need a power bus for the current draw?

  6. #656
    apalsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,299
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


    ORIGINAL: rstekeur

    What has everyone done that has used 8 servos done as far as plugging them into the RX? Is 8 to much for the rx or do you need a power bus for the current draw?
    Not for this plane. It's not that big and heavy that it justifies power distribution

  7. #657
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


    ORIGINAL: apalsson


    ORIGINAL: rstekeur

    What has everyone done that has used 8 servos done as far as plugging them into the RX? Is 8 to much for the rx or do you need a power bus for the current draw?
    Not for this plane. It's not that big and heavy that it justifies power distribution
    Thanks apalsson, I'm tring to keep it as simple as I can. I've been looking at DLE 35ra's for the motor, and there on backorder everywhere. TowerHobby has a sale and the OS gt33 is close to the price. DO you think the os 33 is enough motor?

  8. #658
    apalsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,299
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    I'm extremely happy with the MVVS 40cc in mine. Evolution are the same brand in the US, if you can get those. Another option might be ZDZ 40

  9. #659
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane



    I'ved looked for a zdz40 and haven't been able to find one listed


  10. #660
    apalsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,299
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    What about Evolution 35cc or 40cc?

  11. #661
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    the weight of the ZDZ40 is almost the same as the DLE55, HP is 5.5 for the dle and 4.8 for the zdz. Would a DLE55 be too much?

    ZDZ40

    Wt - 3.25 Lbs
    Disp - 40 CC
    Power - 4.8 hp
    Prop - 20X8, 20X10
    Static thrust - 22 lbs

    DLE55
    -
    5.5 HP at 7,500 RPM
     Weight: Engine, 2.9lbs (1310g)
                      Muffler, 3.5oz (100g)
                      Ignition, 3.9oz (110g)

  12. #662
    apalsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,299
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    Yes, a 55cc would be an overkill for this plane
    From memory, the prototype plane was flown on the ZDZ40 and the manual states it was at the top end of the power range

  13. #663

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Westhampton Beach, NY
    Posts
    656
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    Maybe the best choice is to simply wait till the engine you want gets in stock somewhere?

    Bill S.
    Carl Goldberg Ultimate Brotherhood #56
    Goldberg Tiger Club #17
    SIG Brotherhood #69

    Ultra Sport Brotherhood #135
    http://radiocontrolhobbies.freeservers.com

  14. #664
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


    ORIGINAL: Twin_Flyer

    Maybe the best choice is to simply wait till the engine you want gets in stock somewhere?

    Bill S.
    That would be the best choice Bill, except I have some free time coming up in the next 2-3 weeks and It looks doubtfull on getting a dle30 or 35 in that time frame, and the choices in the 30-40cc size seem pretty limited. I have an OS gt33 on the way. I hope to get out flying in time. I'm going single battery with a battery eliminator filter from Troybuild so I hope to keep the weight down.

  15. #665

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    13
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    you will have to cut a hole in the firewall so the carburator can fit behind the firewall so you have the proper clearance for the prop and cowl. I dont think you will for the dle 35. troy models handles the zdz engines and parts . A picture somewhere on this forum shows a dle 30 mounted and they did not cut into the firewall The dle35 is a rear exhaust but I done think it is any different as far as spacing the muffler fits under the carb and the standoff holes are wider for the muffler to clear. The ignition is rated for 7.5 volts which is nice can run a lifepo or lithium ion or run the ignition cutoff.

  16. #666
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    Can anyone tell me how to set the incedence without a meter. I want to set it to +1 degree to make it easier to fly to start with.

  17. #667

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Westhampton Beach, NY
    Posts
    656
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    Buy one!

    Its worth it. I have several and use them all when setting up a plane before final gluing.

    http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXET66&P=7


    Bill S.
    Carl Goldberg Ultimate Brotherhood #56
    Goldberg Tiger Club #17
    SIG Brotherhood #69

    Ultra Sport Brotherhood #135
    http://radiocontrolhobbies.freeservers.com

  18. #668
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    Thanks Bill, I guess I can use a level to get the top wing level with the bottom and then raise the front a 1/4"

  19. #669

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Mason, MI
    Posts
    859
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    Set it on a level surface and measure the difference, from the surface, between the leading and trailing edges

  20. #670

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Westhampton Beach, NY
    Posts
    656
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    But does 1/4" equal 1 degree?

    I have used levels in the past as well just to check that things were at zero but I don't think there much good for any more then that.

    belong to a club? if so, someone must have one you can borrow.

    Harbor Freight also has a nice digital gauge one that can be used with RC with a little thought.

    Bill S.
    Carl Goldberg Ultimate Brotherhood #56
    Goldberg Tiger Club #17
    SIG Brotherhood #69

    Ultra Sport Brotherhood #135
    http://radiocontrolhobbies.freeservers.com

  21. #671
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


    ORIGINAL: Twin_Flyer

    But does 1/4" equal 1 degree?
    That’s a good question, I slept through as much of geometry as I could. I know there must be a formula here somewhere. I remember many moons ago we used protractor gauges with rockets to get the altitude. I’ll ask at the field next time and see if anyone has a incedense gauge. I’m still waiting on the motor and servos to arrive from tower. Once I get that in hopefully I can balance it with the rx, regulator and battery placement.

  22. #672
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    All done with the Waco except for setting the Incidense which I'll do tonight so I might fly it sunday. I ended up with a OS gt33 for a motor. Didn't have to cut the firewall and it fit nice. I had to mount the cowl as far forward as I could. Where's a good place to start as far as the incidense. I want it to fly easy to start. Should I set it at 0 or +1

  23. #673
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    What do you use for the datum line in setting the incedence, level the horizontal stab?

  24. #674
    apalsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,299
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


    ORIGINAL: rstekeur

    What do you use for the datum line in setting the incedence, level the horizontal stab?
    Use the bottom wing and set the top wing 0 - +1.5 degree relative to the bottom wing for gentle flight. Be aware though the plane tends to balloon a bit if you set it full 1.5 deg positive.
    I have mine set at 0 degrees and it is quite good

  25. #675
    rstekeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    ft myers, FL
    Posts
    39
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

    It's all ready to go, if I can get a chance to tune the engine it might go flying sunday.



Page 27 of 28 FirstFirst ... 1725262728 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:20 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.