ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

Reply

Old 12-22-2004, 10:44 PM
  #1  
ifixairplanes
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

Does anyone have this plane yet? I am really likeing the looks of the CAP 580. Great planes says its 3d capable. I think I will get one after christmas, with christmas money.

Sean

[link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/product_guide/kitexpertreview.cfm?editorial_id=320&kit_id=3182]READ MY REVIEW[/link]
ifixairplanes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 11:00 PM
  #2  
Ken Bryant
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
Ken Bryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 1,385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

Tower doesn't have it in stock yet so I am guesssing it's not out yet. I am thinking of getting this bird and putting an OS70 in it. Should be a fun!
Ken Bryant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2004, 06:55 AM
  #3  
ifixairplanes
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

Yes it should. I have an OS70 that I want to put in it too. With the dual aileron servo setup it should be a pretty capable flyer. Plus it looks real purdy...

sean
ifixairplanes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2004, 08:00 AM
  #4  
Jerry Sigur
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Houma, LA
Posts: 375
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

Gotta wonder about the weight and wing loading of this model.
Tower is showing a weight of 6.75 to 7.5 lbs with only 562 sq in
of wing area. Usually when the manufacturer gives this kinda
weight range the model comes in on the high end of the scale.
Just seems too heavy to me. The 70 might not be enuff engine
for 3D stuff.
Jerry Sigur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2004, 11:32 AM
  #5  
captainpitts-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: fairmont, WV
Posts: 153
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

I never noticed the weight till you posted it man that seems heavy for that size plane. I hade a 60 size edge that only weight 7.25 lbs w/ a .91 fx. For good 3-d you would need an engine like the .91 to get the thrust. but that would make an already high wing loading(+-28) even higher. I think I'll wait for a few people to test this plane first. But it sure is pretty
captainpitts-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2004, 01:44 PM
  #6  
IowaSilvia
Senior Member
My Feedback: (97)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billings, MO
Posts: 921
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

seems way too heavy and the sticker price is also heavy )
IowaSilvia is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2004, 04:32 PM
  #7  
FlyerBry
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
FlyerBry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Washington, IL
Posts: 449
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

I had the Phoenix Models Giles 202 .46 that came in at just under 7 pounds and it was disappointing with a Saito .82 on the nose. That was without even attempting 3D since that plane doesn't have the control surfaces for it. Unfortunately, I have to agree the new Cap sounds a bit on the portly side. Caps also have a reputation for being snappy if you don't keep the speed up so I don't see much hope of getting any 3D performance out of this plane.

The Giles did fly like it was on rails and was OK for non-3D maneuvers. Just a bit too heavy for my tastes. I'm guessing this new Cap will be very similar. Too bad since it is such a sharp looking plane!
FlyerBry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 07:18 PM
  #8  
Cabane
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Weatherford, OK
Posts: 252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

I was just checking this unit out in the latest T-Talk. Man, I've got the hots for it. I don't think it was intended to be a 3D machine. You'd be hard pressed to find a 40 size 3D'r outside of the profile ranks anyway. That said, I'd like to see one side by side with the Kyosho Cap.
Cabane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 06:02 PM
  #9  
P-40LUVR
Senior Member
 
P-40LUVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: WINDY, KS
Posts: 649
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

WAAAYYYY to much money for this plane...up near 300.00...NO WAY![&o]
There is plenty of 60 size planes in the 540's and 232 Caps for under 200.00.
P-40LUVR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 10:50 PM
  #10  
ifixairplanes
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

$300? I saw it on tower for 199.99 here is the link: [link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXHEH1&P=ML]Matt Chapman on tower[/link]

sean
ifixairplanes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 10:23 AM
  #11  
P-40LUVR
Senior Member
 
P-40LUVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: WINDY, KS
Posts: 649
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

I guess 199.00 isn't that bad,before it came out, I seen it on a website and they said it was going to be around 275.00..thats where I got the 300.00..my mistake.
Nice looking airplane I think.
P-40LUVR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 02:10 PM
  #12  
BlenderBender
Senior Member
 
BlenderBender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: West Central, FL
Posts: 359
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

Not bad at all.... and Tower has them in stock! with the discount coupon $20.00 off you can't beat it! I am thinking a Saito 100 would be a nice fit for a 71/2 lb plane.

John
BlenderBender is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 05:49 PM
  #13  
bhole74
Senior Member
 
bhole74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Anderson, MO
Posts: 1,084
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

The specs make it sound more like a warbird. I have a GP .40 size which is a larger bird and only weighs 5.25 lbs. and it can be a pain on landings if you bleed off too much speed, it will stall and fall like a dead duck, can't imagine what this one would be like. My 40 size has a 70 surpass and although it has enough verticle, it is not a 3D machine, too snappy and too small of surfaces (mainly the little strip ailerons). It is a great pattern flier however. I think I'll pass on this one.
bhole74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 12:01 AM
  #14  
Stick Jammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Crete, IL
Posts: 2,251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

I gotta agree with the others. That's an awful high loading for a 55" wing. Can't see a .70 4S doing much for this plane. Definitely doesn't look promising for 3D.
Stick Jammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 08:38 AM
  #15  
BlenderBender
Senior Member
 
BlenderBender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: West Central, FL
Posts: 359
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

I will post how it does with the Saito 100

John
BlenderBender is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 09:13 AM
  #16  
scottrc
 
scottrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: A TREE, KS
Posts: 2,736
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

I too have been wanting to see this plane, but also I am disapointed in the specifications. This thing is too heavy for the 3D machine.

Scott
scottrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 10:30 AM
  #17  
T. Bob
Senior Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
T. Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Munster, IN
Posts: 1,550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

I saw the plane in the box yesterday and the plane looks great. I'm one of the few who likes the paint scheme. You guys are right though it' mighty small. I have had a few small Caps before, they look great but fly some what less than great.
T. Bob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 01:01 PM
  #18  
cadconversions
Senior Member
My Feedback: (21)
 
cadconversions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Scottsville, KY
Posts: 1,242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

Well, mine is on the way intended for a .61 FX. I'm not looking for 3D just decent pattern stuff with some flat spins, etc.... I'll let you know how it goes. I like the color scheme...it's different and not something everyone else has. Will probably recover my Stevensaero Park Cap in the same scheme.
cadconversions is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 04:02 PM
  #19  
TOFAST4U2C
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
TOFAST4U2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: W BABYLON, NY
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

My Cap 580 is on the way too, along with the OS.61FX. I noticed in the pics from the online manual that GP used S9001 coreless Futaba servos on the rudder and elavator. Any thoughts??
TOFAST4U2C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 09:14 PM
  #20  
baddley
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salem, WV
Posts: 154
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

How are you guys doing.

I also like the way the Cap 580 looks. Do you think the Saito F-82 four stroke would be a good match for this plane. I have one on the way and i hope it will be powerfull enough. If not I may think about a lighter and more 3d capable plane.

Thanks Scott Baddley
baddley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2005, 09:56 PM
  #21  
Ace in the hole
Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ace in the hole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 92
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

Hey BlenderBender, how's your plane coming?-- I just picked my 580 up today and I have a saito 82 ready to go into it, just wondering if it's enough. Looking forward to hearing some flight reports, it may be a while before I can get mine up in the air. This winter weather here in Michigan kind of sucks lately.

Jeff
Ace in the hole is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 12:00 AM
  #22  
JAkridge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: , CA
Posts: 1,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

I've got a Saito 100 looking for a home...........I was hopeing this was the plane.
Verdict is still out I can see. Still this plane is a little on the small side.

I'll wait and hear what the jury brings back.
JAkridge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 02:42 AM
  #23  
CaptainGlo
Senior Member
 
CaptainGlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 539
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

Hello there Jeff. Will your saito 82 fit into the cowl without any cutting? I'm also planning for a saito 82 in my 580 which will only be arriving in Feb. I don't intend to cut any holes in the cowl unless absolutely necessary, except for tuning needles. Planning to use remote glo starter, so that's 1 hole less.

How's the fininshing on the plane?

No winter here in Malaysia. Summer all year round.


ORIGINAL: Ace in the hole

Hey BlenderBender, how's your plane coming?-- I just picked my 580 up today and I have a saito 82 ready to go into it, just wondering if it's enough. Looking forward to hearing some flight reports, it may be a while before I can get mine up in the air. This winter weather here in Michigan kind of sucks lately.

Jeff
CaptainGlo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 07:48 AM
  #24  
Ace in the hole
Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Ace in the hole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 92
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

The finish on the plane is great. Looks really nice.

As for the 82 fitting totally under the cowl, I have not gotten that far yet, but it looks like it might. The cowl on this plane is huge. If it does fit totally under the cowl and you don't cut any more holes (the cowl comes with one hole up front behind the prop already cut in for intake air), don't you think you would have a problem with cooling? It seem like you need some air flow thru there just for that, unless you cut a little larger hole for the exhaust. That might be enough.

Speaking of the exhaust, I was looking at the engine and am thinking that I might want to get a 90° fitting for the exhaust. If you use the strait fitting that comes with the saito, it looks like you would have to make it come out the side of the plane. Or maybe if you get a longer strait threaded piece you can make it come out the bottom and then have the muffler outside the cowl. One way or the another I am thinking I would want it to come out the bottom. Like I said, I am not that far yet.
Ace in the hole is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 09:28 AM
  #25  
BlenderBender
Senior Member
 
BlenderBender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: West Central, FL
Posts: 359
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Matt Chapman cap 580 .40 size

Hey Ace,

Due to the long weekend and how far away I am from tower mine is on the truck for delivery today... I am kinda courious to see how the Saito 100 fits or dosent fit haha.... you say the cowl is big... I hope you are right. anyway I am in the middle of putting the gear back on my funtana but will let you know how it looks tonight when I get home.

John
BlenderBender is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service