Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Seagull Decathlon

Community
Search
Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Seagull Decathlon

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2008, 06:01 PM
c130j

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Seagull Decathlon

The seagull is a pilots plane, no gyro here. I have been flying mine for two years now and it does the best knife edge. The plane was a hand full in till i put some right thrust on the engine mount.
Old 09-24-2008, 07:47 PM
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)

C130J: I am building this plane right now and am converting it to e power with an AXI 4130/20 running on 6S. How much right thrust did you put into the plane? I was checking the firewall the other night and found that is has zero right thrust built in to the model. This is probably why so many guys are having trouble with the hard left turn issue, not saying that rudder dumb thumb syndrome isn't playing a big part also. I was planning on putting 2 degrees of right thrust in. Also, are you running any aileron differential and flaperons programmed into your radio? I have had great luck with my cub set up this way. It takes off in 15 feet and flys great! If I get this one sorted out nicely, I'll buy another one and put it on floats.
Old 09-25-2008, 07:39 AM
c130j

Two degrees is a good starting point. It greatly improved take offs. Just very little right rudder on take off now and i just mix 20% rudder to the ailerons.
Old 09-25-2008, 12:33 PM
Mojavegold

Thanks for the info. I'll give it a shot.
Old 10-08-2008, 10:02 PM
pylonrace