Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

Old 12-25-2001, 09:56 PM
  #1  
T28pilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colfax, IL
Posts: 723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

Does anyone know of a larger tank that will fit right in the lanier edge 540 with out much fabrication?

the tank it has i don't seem to get much run time on with my OS 1.60

Any Ideas?
T28pilot is offline  
Old 12-26-2001, 01:59 AM
  #2  
T28pilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colfax, IL
Posts: 723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default ANYONE?

ANYONE?
T28pilot is offline  
Old 12-26-2001, 09:04 PM
  #3  
T28pilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colfax, IL
Posts: 723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default SOMEONE?

SOMEONE?
T28pilot is offline  
Old 12-26-2001, 09:34 PM
  #4  
wgeffon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 6,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

Buehler......
Buehler.......




Buehler...........



Sorry Mike I dont know anything about the Lanier Edge.
wgeffon is offline  
Old 12-26-2001, 09:41 PM
  #5  
T28pilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colfax, IL
Posts: 723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default LOL

Me either except it is gorgeous and will fly great from what i've seen with the saito 1.80 on the other one .........

but this OS 1.60 is a fuel guzzler......would like a longer fly time
T28pilot is offline  
Old 12-26-2001, 10:36 PM
  #6  
wgeffon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 6,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

Hey Mike,

What size tank is in it to begin with?
I used to run a Moki 1.80 on a 20oz tank and could easily fly for 12-15 mins with a little throttle control.
wgeffon is offline  
Old 12-26-2001, 11:17 PM
  #7  
JBH
Banned
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 666
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

Hi T28!

Can you post some pics of the inside of the fuse? The Edge is going to be different with its shoulder wing and all... but we should be able to come up with something. :-)

We just did some hack'n on F1 and F2 to get the weight down and use a larger tank on the Kangke Cap:
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	5162_26.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	42.1 KB
ID:	1061  
JBH is offline  
Old 12-26-2001, 11:22 PM
  #8  
T28pilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colfax, IL
Posts: 723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Pics

Yes i will get the digital camera from work tomarrow and get some i should of thought of that
T28pilot is offline  
Old 12-27-2001, 12:59 AM
  #9  
wgeffon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 6,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

Originally posted by JBH
Hi T28!

We just did some hack'n on F1 and F2 to get the weight down and use a larger tank on the Kangke Cap:

[

Isnt it amazing how much wood isnt needed...
wgeffon is offline  
Old 12-27-2001, 01:13 AM
  #10  
T28pilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colfax, IL
Posts: 723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Good Point

Do they do that for for our protection so they will take a little more abuse?

cause some of these arfs could use some lightening up.......and usually get it from the finicky assemblers....remember they are assembled not built.........
T28pilot is offline  
Old 12-27-2001, 01:18 AM
  #11  
JBH
Banned
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 666
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

Hi Wayne!

>>Isnt it amazing how much wood isnt needed...<<

Totally... there are areas that you can remove in alot of ARFs that will not change the strength of the plane (especially whilst flying)... and are only messing up your wing loading.
JBH is offline  
Old 12-27-2001, 01:26 AM
  #12  
JBH
Banned
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 666
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

Hi T28!

>>Do they do that for for our protection so they will take a little more abuse?<<

I think so... the Kangke Cap was built well for that purpose. It is light everywhere... except for the fuse... especially around the landing gear. That was probably planned out. :-)
JBH is offline  
Old 12-27-2001, 04:23 AM
  #13  
wgeffon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 6,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

I'd rather fly a plane that was designed to fly not designed to crash and survive.
Low wing loading is the key to the new generation 3D maneuvers and you cant do that with extra weight or higher wing loading.
wgeffon is offline  
Old 12-27-2001, 08:11 AM
  #14  
JBH
Banned
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 666
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

Hi Wayne!

>>I'd rather fly a plane that was designed to fly not designed to crash and survive. Low wing loading is the key to the new generation 3D maneuvers and you cant do that with extra weight or higher wing loading.<<

Ditto that, brother! :-)
JBH is offline  
Old 12-27-2001, 04:30 PM
  #15  
T28pilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colfax, IL
Posts: 723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default ok here is the picture

ok here is the picture
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	392_480.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	71.9 KB
ID:	1062  
T28pilot is offline  
Old 12-27-2001, 04:31 PM
  #16  
T28pilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colfax, IL
Posts: 723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default after i looked

After i Looked i believe i can use the trusty dremel and hog it out...

or is there a longer tank that would fit?..............

looks like i got 3 or 4 inches in length i could still use......before i get to the wing tube
T28pilot is offline  
Old 12-27-2001, 10:19 PM
  #17  
heartbeat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: arlington, TX
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

I think you answered your own question. I have a 540 and I "hogged" out the original tank mount and installed a 24 oz Du-Bro tank. This should give plenty of flying time on my Moki 1.35

O.M
heartbeat is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 08:32 AM
  #18  
JBH
Banned
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 666
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

Hi T28!

Looks like a few serious candidates for pilots down there in the corner of the room. :-)

Yes... you have room to shroom. You can grind away or even just move the tank back closer to the CG.
JBH is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 09:39 PM
  #19  
3DRC
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
3DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spanish Fort, AL
Posts: 310
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 540

We just redid one in the club. We pulled the tank out and mounted a new larger tank to the floor with industrial Velcro. Sand the tank down just a bit to get a good gluing. Put the back edge of the tank on the tube. That will also centralize the CG a bit as the fuel runs down. Granted, we did this with a Brison 2.4 gasser for power but the plane is very nicely matched.
3DRC is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 10:40 PM
  #20  
T28pilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colfax, IL
Posts: 723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Moving tank

that brison has a pump in the carb right?
like a diaphram?
so if i used a pump that would probably work the the Glow engine?
i like that idea.....any pictures of it?
T28pilot is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 10:59 PM
  #21  
3DRC
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
3DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spanish Fort, AL
Posts: 310
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default edge

No pics at this point but I will see him in the morning I would gather. I will try to get some. I think you would be pretty close to keeping the cap in the right location if you pay attention when you pick it out. Even for a glow. A large glow pulls pretty hard. You are only looking at a couple on inches.
3DRC is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 11:32 PM
  #22  
T28pilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colfax, IL
Posts: 723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default AWESOME

Pics would be much apperciated......

aren't you on GSAL too?

i think i reconise some simularities
T28pilot is offline  
Old 12-29-2001, 07:19 PM
  #23  
3DRC
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
3DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spanish Fort, AL
Posts: 310
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default tank

Yes I am on GSAL as well as the boards, and several other lists.

I took a pic this morning of the tank. He has added rubber bands to strap it down. If you mount it on Industrial Velcro on band would be all you would need.

Bean
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	416_656.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	49.3 KB
ID:	1063  
3DRC is offline  
Old 12-29-2001, 07:26 PM
  #24  
T28pilot
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colfax, IL
Posts: 723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default THANK YOU

Thank you sir........


i like that setup.......that is what i will do......

Really apperciate the help
T28pilot is offline  
Old 12-30-2001, 03:43 PM
  #25  
RC Extreme power
Senior Member
My Feedback: (24)
 
RC Extreme power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: AUBURN, GA
Posts: 1,323
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Larger Fuel Tank for Lanier 540

I put my fuel tank under the wing tub on the CG with a YS 120 it has a pressure system so it works well. You can do the same it you use a Cline's regulator or Perry pump.
Milton
RC Extreme power is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.