Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Which 3D is the best pattern flyer?

Community
Search
Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Which 3D is the best pattern flyer?

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2005, 08:49 AM
GMoneyPit
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which 3D is the best pattern flyer?

I recently flew a Tracer (maker?) on G2 and it was so easy to knife edge and tracked so true. I can't find any info on this plane, but I didn't like the fact that it had retracts. Given this, I have a few questions:

1) Does the Javelin II (Cermark) fly anything like the Tracer?
2) Is there a 3D plane that flies anything like a pattern plane. One that comes to mind is the Powerline Edge 540 (.46).
3) Is there a pattern flier that can do 3D?

Bear in mind that I'm a pretty new pilot and just beginning to get into 3D and was practicing on G2 when I ran across the Tracer. It was a blast to fly, I guess because of how true it tracked. I'm just trying to figure out what plane to get next. I currently have an Ultra Stick 40 and Twist 3D. Both are very fun to fly but I want something a little different. Can any of you help me out what some ideas or suggestions?

Thanks,
G
Old 08-27-2005, 10:30 AM
jrf
My Feedback: (551)

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Which 3D is the best pattern flyer?

With enough power and enough control throw, you can fly 3D with anything. But, having said that, I think you would find it hard to learn 3D maneuvers with a pattern plane. They are designed to react slowly and smoothly to control inputs, and 3D of course is just the opposite. The Javelin is primarily a pattern plane, like your Twist is primarily a 3D plane.

The semi-scale Edges and Extras are actually your best choice. They are not too strongly oriented toward pattern or 3D, but, depending on weight and power, can be very good at both.