ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

New H9 Cub??

Reply
Old 09-16-2008, 05:02 AM
  #301
gluemaster
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: deltona, FL
Posts: 126
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New H9 Cub??

Well I took mine out this past Sunday with two other planes. I haven't flown mine in several months so I thought it would be a nice change from what I usually take and besides, my wife still has not seen it fly. So I got to the place where I fly, unloaded it and fueled it up. After several minutes of flipping the prop it finally started. I warmed it up and taxied into position. I went to accelerate and the engine quit. After several episodes of this it finally stayed running. I held it vertical and at wot and all seemed well. I went to take off and I nosed it over. I restarted it and taxied into position and tried it again, this time success. As the plane was climbing out, I started my right turn and at about 100 feet the engine quit. I made it back safely for a beautiful landing. No damage. I was shaking like crazy because I didn't think I was going to make it back. I took a break and then tried again after some carburetor adjustments. As I started to lift off she veered sharp left, I set it back down, nailed the throttle and tried again now all I can say is I have performed my first ground loop. I should have quit while I was ahead. Now I have some repair work to do. I feel very lucky as it could have been worse. Very minor damage and should be in the air again real soon.
gluemaster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 10:13 PM
  #302
LMProd
 
LMProd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Woodland Hills , CA
Posts: 288
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New H9 Cub??

Has anyone put a Saito 90T twin on this plane. Would it need a lot of tail weight /

Thanks
Gary
LMProd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 06:58 AM
  #303
airbusdrvr
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Posts: 2,568
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New H9 Cub??


Quote:
ORIGINAL: LMProd

Has anyone put a Saito 90T twin on this plane. Would it need a lot of tail weight /

Thanks
Gary
Gary, My plane, referenced earlier in this thread, has an OS 70 Surpass II. The four-cell battery was placed just on the aft edge of the servo tray and balance well. There is plenty of room aft of the servo tray. So you could put the battery a good bit more aft, if necessary, to balance. Check the weight of the OS 70 vs your Saito to compare if the battery might have to go a bit farther back.
airbusdrvr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:57 PM
  #304
ghostrider168
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Walnut, CA
Posts: 158
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New H9 Cub??

OS 91?
ghostrider168 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:58 PM
  #305
ghostrider168
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Walnut, CA
Posts: 158
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New H9 Cub??

I have an OS 91 just sitting around.  I am very tempted to put it in the Cub.  Will this be too much power for her?
ghostrider168 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 04:42 PM
  #306
damon
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: houston, TX
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New H9 Cub??


Quote:
ORIGINAL: BillPTC

Got my Robart gear mounted. Put a sheet of plywood between the rails inside. Moved the gear forward a 1/4 inch and missed the strut strap inside with 4-40 bolt and lock nuts. Works great. Picture attached
Bill PTC
Bill,

I just got a set of Robart cub gear like yours. Can you give me some pointers on covering the gear with the ultracote. I don't have experience in doing it. Any suggestions? Did you wrap the film directly over the steel or did you use any wood support?

thanks.
damon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 08:30 PM
  #307
5blue
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: naperville, IL
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New H9 Cub??

the 90 would be alot for this plane - i have a 62 four stroke and in flys every scale - its my favorite plane
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11971.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	83.5 KB
ID:	1273273  
5blue is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 08:44 PM
  #308
damon
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: houston, TX
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New H9 Cub??

Is that Robart gear In your picture? If so, how do you like them?
damon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 10:04 PM
  #309
5blue
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: naperville, IL
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New H9 Cub??

The gear are Wallace gear - (I'm not sure that he's making them any more) and I love them - I did them up to look rather trackor like as I enjoy the enclosed picture - Bob flying school
5blue is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 10:07 PM
  #310
5blue
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: naperville, IL
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New H9 Cub??

Oops here it is
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr49362.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	137.0 KB
ID:	1273329   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay75735.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	137.0 KB
ID:	1273330   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr54567.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	74.3 KB
ID:	1273331  
5blue is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 04:35 PM
  #311
damon
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: houston, TX
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New H9 Cub??

Can anybody help me with some covering tips for the main gear. I have Hangar-9 ultra cote. Can I apply it directly over the steel frame of the gear?
damon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 05:05 PM
  #312
mobyal
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lexington, VA
Posts: 1,556
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New H9 Cub??

You can, but I've found it easier to cut some balsa sheet to the size needed to fit in the triangle framework for the gea legs, and thewn apply the covering. Very minimal weight gain, much easier to cover and looks better too. At least it does for me.
Al
mobyal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:04 AM.