ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Top Flite Staggerwing

Reply
Old 08-03-2012, 01:37 AM
  #1776
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing


Quote:
ORIGINAL: badazzgti03

what about a Saito 170R??? i know the 200R is an upgrade from it but what really is the differences??
I flew mine for two years with the 170R3. Once in the air, it's a good combination. Takeoff power is marginal, especially if you have a grass runway. I upgraded to an Enya VT-240 and have been very happy with the extra horsepower.
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 04:56 AM
  #1777
badazzgti03
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 360
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

yeah saw that video. thanks for the info man then the 200R it is!!!
badazzgti03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 12:24 PM
  #1778
Paul Grubich
 
Paul Grubich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cedar Rapids , IA,
Posts: 424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

Does anyone have a wing set they would sell?
Paul Grubich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 06:36 AM
  #1779
badazzgti03
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 360
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

good luck trying to find a wing set...let me know if you do?
wish their was a company that would make aftermarket spare parts for planes like these
badazzgti03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 10:50 AM
  #1780
rowdog_14
 
rowdog_14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austell, GA
Posts: 723
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

Well I sold my staggerwing the other week. I sold it to a guy at the staggerwing museum in Tullahoma, TN
rowdog_14 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:40 AM
  #1781
handyman 220
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Hartford, CT
Posts: 444
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Paul Grubich

Does anyone have a wing set they would sell?
I have a NIB plane I might be selling any interest?
handyman 220 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:11 AM
  #1782
badazzgti03
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 360
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

quick question ....would a Saito 300 Twin work with this model??
http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...z-SAIE300TL#t2
badazzgti03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 03:50 PM
  #1783
Staggerflyer
 
Staggerflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tama, IA
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing


Quote:
ORIGINAL: badazzgti03

quick question ....would a Saito 300 Twin work with this model??
http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...z-SAIE300TL#t2

The Saito 300 Twin would actually be way to much for this plane. It is physically a large engine. We have a Saito 240 Twin, and it was checked for fit. Way to big. It is also way to heavy, besides being just to much engine. The required prop will not clear the ground, and even a small throttle change would twist it over on it's back. The 300 is designed for much bigger aircraft. It would work great in a Byron Staggerwing, if you could find one, as well as a Ziroli one. This is not to say someone won't insist on trying it. Good luck!!
Staggerflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 01:36 AM
  #1784
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Staggerflyer


Quote:
ORIGINAL: badazzgti03

quick question ....would a Saito 300 Twin work with this model??
http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...z-SAIE300TL#t2

The Saito 300 Twin would actually be way to much for this plane. It is physically a large engine. We have a Saito 240 Twin, and it was checked for fit. Way to big. It is also way to heavy, besides being just to much engine. The required prop will not clear the ground, and even a small throttle change would twist it over on it's back. The 300 is designed for much bigger aircraft. It would work great in a Byron Staggerwing, if you could find one, as well as a Ziroli one. This is not to say someone won't insist on trying it. Good luck!!
The 300 is more motor than necessary, but it would not be grossly overpowered. It would also not be too heavy. This plane needs the nose weight. Prop clearance is also not a problem. While the 300 does have substantial torque, the suggestion that even a small throttle change would be enough to cause this plane to flip onto its back is absurd. However, I do agree that it's a much better match for the Byron Staggerwing. I've got two of those and they're outstanding planes.

Also, Saito didn't make a 240 twin, they made a 270.
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 06:12 AM
  #1785
badazzgti03
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 360
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

thanks for the info guys!!!
badazzgti03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:13 AM
  #1786
Paul Grubich
 
Paul Grubich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cedar Rapids , IA,
Posts: 424
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

Has anyone painted the fiberglass fuse on this plane? Just wondering what to use to paint over it.
Paul Grubich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:37 AM
  #1787
affas
 
affas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lier, NORWAY
Posts: 471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing


Quote:
ORIGINAL: GaGeeBees


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Staggerflyer


Quote:
ORIGINAL: badazzgti03

quick question ....would a Saito 300 Twin work with this model??
http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...z-SAIE300TL#t2

The Saito 300 Twin would actually be way to much for this plane. It is physically a large engine. We have a Saito 240 Twin, and it was checked for fit. Way to big. It is also way to heavy, besides being just to much engine. The required prop will not clear the ground, and even a small throttle change would twist it over on it's back. The 300 is designed for much bigger aircraft. It would work great in a Byron Staggerwing, if you could find one, as well as a Ziroli one. This is not to say someone won't insist on trying it. Good luck!!
The 300 is more motor than necessary, but it would not be grossly overpowered. It would also not be too heavy. This plane needs the nose weight. Prop clearance is also not a problem. While the 300 does have substantial torque, the suggestion that even a small throttle change would be enough to cause this plane to flip onto its back is absurd. However, I do agree that it's a much better match for the Byron Staggerwing. I've got two of those and they're outstanding planes.

Also, Saito didn't make a 240 twin, they made a 270.
I have now sold an other plane and swapped the ASP in Staggerwing with the OS FT 160 twin. This is not a strong engine but the Staggerwing flies like a beatuy.

I think most videos shows that it has to heavy wingloading and a larger engine does not make it better it just helps balance. Not many good successfull videos out there. Wonder why??

Shave the models inside and move all servoes upfront on two wooden sticks. I have the OS 160 upfront with no lead at all!!
Mine came out at 16.5lb, alot less than most other.




This is with the ASP 160 but the power is the same with the OS, just running smoother :-)
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_qmWMGS83Xw[/youtube]
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_38...anchor/tm.htm#
affas is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:40 PM
  #1788
kochj
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

I had thought about placing a saito 5-cyl. in this one, but I have looked at the fitment, and found it to be tight...
The other issue would be the wing loading... and It would seem that if you can keep it light, I have a os 1.60 that would work well...

I don't see how I could get a plane down 4-lbs from what others were getting there planes at..
but who knows... I have not the time to work on mine....

My saito 5-cy will be going in the Topflite Fw-190 .....
IT will not be crazy power but I know that the saito 325 5-cyl engine did very well in aeroworks 50-60cc Stearman biplane and had plenty of power.

I would love to get the new saito 80cc gas radial that will be out in the near future....as it pulls around a H9 Carden yak54 like a 50 or 55cc gas single 2-stroke....

Here is some video of it running...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lwCd7...ure=plpp_video
kochj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 01:26 PM
  #1789
badazzgti03
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 360
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

hey everyone!!!!
does anyone have a spare set of tailgear doors laying around? let me know
badazzgti03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 01:34 PM
  #1790
affas
 
affas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lier, NORWAY
Posts: 471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kochj

I don't see how I could get a plane down 4-lbs from what others were getting there planes at..
but who knows... I have not the time to work on mine....

Just shave off all inside and fly with the 160, then You got a light and good flying plane :-)
affas is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 02:09 PM
  #1791
kochj
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

Something I noticed.....

The TF staggerwing has a LISTED Wing Area of 1525sqinches....THat is OFF....

I recently compared my Lower staggerwing Wing to the wing on my GP Wacco...and it PALES in comparison...
THe GP wacco is listed to have around 1400 sq inches...

I don't thing this plane has the amount of wing area that topflite claimed to to have....
Yes, it has a large fiberglass fuse...but not big wings....

I didn't get a chance to look at the entire plane to plane comparison, but it seems this amount is off or great planes
UNderestimated the Wacco's ws...but I doubt it....
THis wing looks Anemic to other 1.60 size biplanes....

ANY THOUGHTS???????
kochj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 02:18 PM
  #1792
knucklebutt
 
knucklebutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 375
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

I never measured but "Yeah" sitting on the ground, just dosen't look like enough wing area. I probably really dont want to know "Ignorance is Bliss" But saying that, I power mine with the O.S. FS twin 160. PLenty of power, lifts off very quick and landing speed it quite slow for a 22 lb airplane



Denis
knucklebutt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:41 PM
  #1793
kochj
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

I am also going to use the os 1.60 twin in it as well.

kochj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:10 PM
  #1794
JustFlyIt
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 99
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

Hopefully and easy question. My Staggerwing didn't come with a pilot. I was thinking about using the Great Planes sports pilot. Would I want the 1/5 or 1/6 scale?

Thanks
DRS
JustFlyIt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:27 PM
  #1795
Staggerflyer
 
Staggerflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tama, IA
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing


Quote:
ORIGINAL: JustFlyIt

Hopefully and easy question. My Staggerwing didn't come with a pilot. I was thinking about using the Great Planes sports pilot. Would I want the 1/5 or 1/6 scale?

Thanks
DRS
1/5th is slightly small, but 1/4 is slightly large. I used the 1/5th slimline extreme pilots in mine, and they needed a base to get them tall enough. The 1/4 pilot that normally comes in the kit is a little large. 1/6th would be way small.

Don
Staggerflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 07:20 PM
  #1796
JustFlyIt
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 99
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

Thanks StaggerFlyer for the info. I will look at the Simline too and stick to the 1/5th. My planes have to have pilots.

I have followed you electric thread over on the other site. I am doing an electric setup too. i am hoping to build my battery mounts and Velcro straps on the firewall and avoid the cutting and extra required nose weights. Hopefully will be posting pictures soon.

Don S.
Fort Wayne, IN
JustFlyIt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 01:55 AM
  #1797
Staggerflyer
 
Staggerflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tama, IA
Posts: 181
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

Don, will be following your progress with interest. Be sure and post pics!
Staggerflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 06:18 AM
  #1798
badazzgti03
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 360
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

Finally picked up a Saito 200R3 for this...waiting on Keleo exhaust to get here...Should be starting this build soon....ill document the build.
badazzgti03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 06:55 AM
  #1799
F82FAN
 
F82FAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 821
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

Has anyone heard from Paul (GaGeeBees) lately???
Hes been off here since last year.
Didn't know if there was a big change of health or something...
Let me know please!
F82FAN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 07:25 AM
  #1800
affas
 
affas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lier, NORWAY
Posts: 471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite Staggerwing

Quote:
ORIGINAL: badazzgti03
Finally picked up a Saito 200R3 for this...waiting on Keleo exhaust to get here...Should be starting this build soon....ill document the build.

You should try the www.CH-Ignitions.com CDI upgrade. Much more reliable and more power

affas is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:44 AM.