ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Reply
Old 08-10-2006, 12:02 PM
  #26
dshemelrick
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lecompton, KS
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Ive got an OS 40 on mine using a 10x6 prop and shes almost a good low wing trainer its lite enough that any 40 size motor will work[img][/img]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Us53887.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	57.3 KB
ID:	505191  
dshemelrick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 09:22 PM
  #27
proptop
 
proptop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rome, NY
Posts: 6,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40


Quote:
ORIGINAL: thunderbolts

Did you guys use the supplied clevis hardware or swap for metal???
I used all the supplied hardware...didn't feel the need to replace anything.
proptop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 03:05 AM
  #28
thunderbolts
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northwich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 49
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Nice one. Thanks for that! I'll do the same. The supplied hardware does seem OK on closer inspection.

Gonna go with a OS46AX up front. Any perfered options on prob size??
thunderbolts is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 05:53 AM
  #29
HughBrown
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Magnolia TX, TX
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

I would go with a 12.25 x 3.75 that prop is unbelievable on a 46 APC of course

Hugh
HughBrown is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 06:48 AM
  #30
zoott
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: new ipswich, NH
Posts: 164
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

I have a small hang up. The dowels that go in the leading edge of the wing were not installed. There were 2 dowels with the hardware however they are much larger than the holes in the wing. The dowels are roughly 1/4 inch and the matching holes in the wing are slightly smaller than 3/16. The hole in the fuselage is bigger than the dowel .
I can drill the wing and ca the dowels in however there will be a little slop since the fuselage holes are bigger.
Did anyone else run into this and what do you think?
zoott is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 10:43 AM
  #31
weeber24
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Hmm, for me the dowels were a tight fit, but I think after a little sanding on them they fit right in there. I think that sanding them down a little bit would be a better option than drilling out the holes. Are they that much larger that sanding would be too time consuming?
weeber24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 10:48 AM
  #32
wylieruneyjr
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: McClellanville, SC
Posts: 80
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Drill the wing and install then slid some brass tubing over the exposed dowels to increase the outer Dia.
wylieruneyjr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 11:39 AM
  #33
Allen Key
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: AngleseyNorth Wales, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Built (if you can call it that!) my Pulse XT with an Super Custom 46 2 stroke and a Brolly 10 x 6.5 prop up front.
It goes very nice, and will climb vertical to out of site if not careful.

No problems with kit quality, infact its the best ARTF I'v had so far.

Only thing is I never get to fly her, as the guys at the club always nick my transmitter when I'm fly'in it!
Allen Key is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 03:41 AM
  #34
MachTwo
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 146
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Has anyone put a Saito 91 or an OS 91 in a Pulse XT???

If so, how was the install, could you use the stock motor mount?
MachTwo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 06:04 AM
  #35
Kostas1
 
Kostas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AthensAthens, GREECE
Posts: 3,549
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Here is a Pulse XT 40 ARF flying quickly!
Enjoy,
Kostas


[link=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TAXRyLF58e0]Pulse[/link]
Kostas1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 02:00 PM
  #36
wjcarman
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: California City, CA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

That was a great video. That really hauls! What size engine do you have in that plane?

Does anyone know if a saito 91 is too big for the pulse?
wjcarman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 11:56 PM
  #37
wjcarman
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: California City, CA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Pulse video. My roomate and I now own a pulse and here is my roomate flying it. Check out the last landing in the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gp5ZQnxXsms
wjcarman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 12:22 AM
  #38
Kostas1
 
Kostas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AthensAthens, GREECE
Posts: 3,549
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Do you have any pics to show us?
Kostas1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 06:25 AM
  #39
zoott
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: new ipswich, NH
Posts: 164
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

I was going to put a saito 82 in mine .... I determined it was to much of a hassle and a bit overkill.
People have done it though. I'm saving my saito for a mojo or u-cando.
zoott is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 02:20 PM
  #40
Ken Cz
 
Ken Cz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 314
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

I am assembling my Pulse XT now and wonder what control surface throws you experienced Pulse flyers are using for low and high rates?

Same as the assembly guide or ??

Thanks,
Ken
Ken Cz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 05:34 PM
  #41
Doc Austin
 
Doc Austin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 692
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Fastsky

I saw a video of this plane on the web and now can't find it. Any body have the web address??
Here's my first one..............

http://largoflyingclub.com/app06/pulse.wmv

and the second............

http://largoflyingclub.com/video/austinpls.wmv

Quote:
ORIGINAL: wjcarman

That was a great video. That really hauls! What size engine do you have in that plane?
In the first video, that's not even my Pulse. I borrowed it from Captain Ben for our big annual airshow, and I liked it so much I bought one for myself. His is powered by the original Evolution 46. In the second video I'm flying my Pulse powered by an OS46AX. I had previously used the Evloution 46 that came with the plane, but it was off getting serviced. The Evolution is a nice, smooth motor, but it lost a front bearing and while it was out I just happened to have an OS46AX sitting there. Either motor is a good choice.
Doc Austin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 10:50 AM
  #42
wingbeat
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shorewood, WI
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

I'm coming from experience with full house sailplanes, electric and slope. Some of my slopers I use flaperons or crow for landing. The efficiency of the airfoils and the conditions sometimes have us coming in pretty hot on landing. I've flown a few little park flyers, and a eflite 46 powered Tiger Moth scale tail dragger.

All that leads to the question- would you fly flaperons or spoilerons or neither on the Pulse? Wondered if either may help- especially flaperons- for a slower landing approach.

Not sure it's needed, most of my slopers land pretty fast, but thought it may be fun.

thoughts, experience?

Should have my Pulse up in the next week. Finally... a slimer!
wingbeat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 08:21 PM
  #43
Ed_Moorman
 
Ed_Moorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shalimar, FL
Posts: 4,059
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

I set flaperons on all my planes. For sport flying and especially for lots of landings, I set a Flaperon wing type, them mix Throttle->flaps. I set the flaps to move up about an inch, depending on the plane, when the throttle is retarded. At idle, I have full spoilers. They drop down fully by half throttle, so on a touch & go, I add power and I am back to normal ailerons. This works really well on windy days. The plane seems to cut through the wind, making a nice steep approach.

I also use stunt flaps for some tight maneuvers. I have also set these opposite for elevator and flaps both up together. I have used this on 3D planes.
Ed_Moorman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 02:48 AM
  #44
DoubleDD
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Morden, MB, CANADA
Posts: 100
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Have just flown my pulse for the first time and was great. Have a Evo 46 with 10x6 prop. Sounds like a 12.25x 3.75 is a popular choice. I am wondering about stunts that maybe should be avoided or can this plane handle anything you can give it? This is my first stunt type plane. First 2 were a Kadet and the second was an Alpha that had overstressed the wings and had a fatal ending. I am new to the stunts other than what the alpha could handle. Don't want to destroy the Pulse. Any comments greatly accepted.
DoubleDD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 06:07 AM
  #45
gstout
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lusby, MD
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

How does the H9 Pulse XT 40 compare to the Sig 4-star 40? Starting to look for my 2nd plane as I "graduate" from my Tower 40 trainer.

Thanks!
gstout is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 11:13 AM
  #46
Vendetta
 
Vendetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Here's mine, I love it...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qv8tO...elated&search=
Vendetta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 01:08 PM
  #47
rclement
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Quote:
ORIGINAL: gstout

How does the H9 Pulse XT 40 compare to the Sig 4-star 40? Starting to look for my 2nd plane as I "graduate" from my Tower 40 trainer.

Thanks!
I have had both. The 4* is a little bit tougher but it is an older built plane. The newer Pulse has nicer features (engine cowl, pre cut canopy, bolt on tail section, etc.) but since it is built lighter it probably isn't as tough as the 4*. For me, I would rather own and fly a Pulse.
rclement is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 11:20 PM
  #48
DoubleDD
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Morden, MB, CANADA
Posts: 100
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Went for a quick flight tonight. As far as comparing the Pulse to the trainer , I don't think there is one. This was only my second flight and I think the pulse is actually easier than the trainer because it does what you tell it and nothing else. I LOVE THE PULSE.
DoubleDD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 06:01 PM
  #49
Tman
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 211
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

My Pulse is a great second plane and I have used it as a training plane as well. It is about a year old, has lots of flughts on it and is our club favorite in its class. I use an OS 46AX which provides more than ample power. Can't recommend it enough.
Tman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 03:59 PM
  #50
HollywoodHitman
 
HollywoodHitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: AbbotsfordBC, CANADA
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hangar 9 Pulse XT 40

Hi Everyone,

I have my Pulse XT and I have ordered an OS 70 Surpass 2, 4 Stroke for it. Any recommendation on proper prop size for this aircraft with this powerplant?

Cheers,

HH
HollywoodHitman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:41 AM.