ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Seagull Yak?

Reply
Old 11-10-2012, 05:27 PM
  #1526
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,889
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Sourkraut

Sorry for your loss.....mine is still flying great. I am into my second season with her and the Saito 180 is a puuuurrrrffffect match for this airframe.
Did you beef up your airframe or use different hinges? Thanks Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:53 PM
  #1527
Sourkraut
 
Sourkraut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Redneckville, CANADA
Posts: 356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: captinjohn


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Sourkraut

Sorry for your loss.....mine is still flying great. I am into my second season with her and the Saito 180 is a puuuurrrrffffect match for this airframe.
Did you beef up your airframe or use different hinges? Thanks Capt,n

Yes the 150 will be fine....mine has gobs of power with the 180
Sourkraut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:57 PM
  #1528
Sourkraut
 
Sourkraut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Redneckville, CANADA
Posts: 356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: captinjohn


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Sourkraut

Sorry for your loss.....mine is still flying great. I am into my second season with her and the Saito 180 is a puuuurrrrffffect match for this airframe.
Did you beef up your airframe or use different hinges? Thanks Capt,n

Yes, I beefed up the landing gear plate and the firewall with tristock/epoxy wherever I thought it needed it.
Still using the stock CA hinges and still holding in there BUT if I was putting another together I would probably go with Robarts or Dubro pinned hinges just because some others have been having trouble with the stock CA hinges.
Sourkraut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:23 AM
  #1529
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,889
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

SourKruat...thanks for the good advice. Capt,n
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:11 AM
  #1530
badazzgti03
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 361
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

Hey everyone. I picked up one of these on a trade with a Zenoah G20...It doesn't have a spinner on it does anyone have the recommended spinner size for this? let me know.
badazzgti03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 02:58 PM
  #1531
Jerry-RCU
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Siler City, NC
Posts: 150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: badazzgti03

Hey everyone. I picked up one of these on a trade with a Zenoah G20...It doesn't have a spinner on it does anyone have the recommended spinner size for this? let me know.

spinner size is 2.75
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mj24782.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	120.0 KB
ID:	1820333   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp42115.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	103.6 KB
ID:	1820334   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu61331.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	134.9 KB
ID:	1820335  
Jerry-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:18 AM
  #1532
badazzgti03
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 361
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

Awesome!!! thanks so much Jerry!
badazzgti03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 12:42 PM
  #1533
OliverJacob
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Reedsburg, WI
Posts: 691
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

Does anybody here sell a spare set of tail feathers for the black/yellow version?
OliverJacob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 11:55 AM
  #1534
lopflyers
 
lopflyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,520
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

This thread is being inactive fir 3+ months, I have 7 acrobatics planes and this is my preferred by far. I have the yellow/black version with a TT 120
lopflyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 01:40 PM
  #1535
OliverJacob
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Reedsburg, WI
Posts: 691
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

I had mine sitting around and just about finished.
Hope we can start flying soon here, we had enough snow for the year..

Where do you have your CG? I know there were some issues and going by the manual will turn out to be tail heavy.

I have a 20cc gasser on mine, hope that's enough power
OliverJacob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 01:56 PM
  #1536
lopflyers
 
lopflyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,520
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

Its very tail heavy, the manual doesn't help a lot. Ill have to measure mine and get back to you.
When I was flying her w the Saito 100 I had to add a lot of weight to the cowling,
Yes a 20cc is plenty. I have a friend flying her on a 20cc and she is fast
lopflyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 04:38 PM
  #1537
OliverJacob
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Reedsburg, WI
Posts: 691
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

I have my CG close to the wing tube.
And I have another Yak and a 1.20 Magnum FS sitting around.
Not sure if i should build it or keep it for spares...
OliverJacob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 05:47 PM
  #1538
Sourkraut
 
Sourkraut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Redneckville, CANADA
Posts: 356
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: OliverJacob

>Where do you have your CG?

My YAK balances spot on at 5 1/4 inches back of the leading edge at the wing root .... the manual is/was wrong.
Sourkraut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 06:15 PM
  #1539
lopflyers
 
lopflyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,520
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

I just checked mine, 5 inches from the leading edge at the root.
lopflyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 06:31 PM
  #1540
rebranger
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: huntsville, AL
Posts: 155
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

Check with Horizon for parts.
My balances dead on the wing tube with a ST 90 & battery (a123, 3000mh) up front under the cowl.
rebranger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 06:43 PM
  #1541
OliverJacob
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Reedsburg, WI
Posts: 691
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

Thanks,

the suggested CG just didn't look right, it should be close to the wing tube.
I have ignition and receiver batteries right behind the wing tube, but the gas engine is a little heavier and the ignition box is right behind the firewall
OliverJacob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 05:57 PM
  #1542
Slow and Steady
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 912
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

The manual CG is off as I believe the correction notice on the Horizon web site. I think in the beginning of this thread there is a photo of someone who crashed on their maiden, likely due to their CG. Haven't flown this plane in years, but it was one of my favorites, although mine really pulled to the gear in knife edge.
Slow and Steady is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 11:05 AM
  #1543
proteus_X3
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elizabeth, NJ
Posts: 156
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

I have just started my Seagull Yak-54 and I have a question for those who have in stalled the zenoah G-20 .Since this model comes out tail heavy  most of the time and from posts I have read that the G20 is mount directly to the firewal with no stand-offs l,why hasn't anyone used stand off's and move the engine forward? The manual states engine mount distance of  140mm or 5.5"  from  Firewall to prop hub.The   G20 length   is 4.70 for the correct position of a G20 you should have a stand-off of .800"

The reason I' m asking is because I have a J-Tec pitts style  muffler for the G20 and I would like to use it,if I use Hangar 9 Taylorcraft  G20cc
stand-off 's  which are 1.080" long this plus the engine length comes out to 5.82" .320" further forward  of manual recommendation I don't see  a problem doing this,did I miss something I welcome you input and advice. Thanks and Cheers: Rich
proteus_X3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 12:49 PM
  #1544
OliverJacob
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Reedsburg, WI
Posts: 691
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

I have an Aerovate 20cc, made my own stand offs. The engine is right where the manual wants it to be, but there's no problem
changing the stand off length.
Mine came out almost perfect. I use 2 light batteries (LiFe) and just moving them would be enough to get the CG right.
I think your Zenoah might be a little heavier then mine, you shouldn't have to move it forward.


OliverJacob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:52 PM
  #1545
proteus_X3
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elizabeth, NJ
Posts: 156
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

OliverJacob,

Thanks for your reply, I need the extra length on the stand-offs for the J-tec muffle. If I made .800" stand-offs it would be to tight and the muffle would rub against  the firewall, the 1.080 stand-off  are just about perfect and I paid  $8.59 for them at the LHS.thanks for your input. Cheers: Rich
proteus_X3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 03:42 PM
  #1546
OliverJacob
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Reedsburg, WI
Posts: 691
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

I had the same problem, I changed the stock muffler to a pitts style and since everything else was perfect I decided to
modify the firewall instead using different stand offs. Then I strengthened the box from the inside, came out very nice.
OliverJacob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 04:01 PM
  #1547
RCVFR
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 2,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: proteus_X3

I have just started my Seagull Yak-54 and I have a question for those who have in stalled the zenoah G-20 .Since this model comes out tail heavy most of the time and from posts I have read that the G20 is mount directly to the firewal with no stand-offs l,why hasn't anyone used stand off's and move the engine forward? The manual states engine mount distance of 140mm or 5.5" from Firewall to prop hub.The G20length is 4.70 for the correct position of a G20 you should have a stand-off of .800"
The reason I' m asking is because I have a J-Tec pitts style muffler for the G20 and I would like to use it,if I useHangar 9 Taylorcraft G20cc
stand-off 's which are 1.080" long this plus the enginelength comes out to 5.82" .320"furtherforwardof manual recommendation Idon'tsee a problem doing this,did I miss something I welcome you input and advice. Thanks and Cheers: Rich
I flew the G20 on mine. I used short standoffs to position the prop where it is called for. No balance issues; mine flew best balanced just behind te wing tube.

RCVFR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 05:00 PM
  #1548
proteus_X3
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elizabeth, NJ
Posts: 156
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RCVFR


I flew the G20 on mine. I used short standoffs to position the prop where it is called for. No balance issues; mine flew best balanced just behind te wing tube.

RCVFR,
Thanks, so your CG is 5.5" from leading edge of the wing? BTW I like your name,you a pilot? RCVFR Radio controled visual flight rulesCheers: Rich[/i]
proteus_X3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 05:04 PM
  #1549
orthobird
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: shreveport, LA
Posts: 728
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?

i had this plane, it was a beauty, i put an os 35 cc nitro engine, and it destroyed the airframe in 5 flights time, she fell apart during flight, fell from the sky like a raggady ann doll.  i replaced it with a GP Yak 54 and using the 35 cc nitro engine, she has had about 20 flights, but the seagull Yak black and yellow was a much nicer looking plane.  enjoy the plane guys, do not put anything bigger than 20 cc.  reason i am telling you all this is so that no one else makes the mistake i made.
orthobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 05:12 PM
  #1550
proteus_X3
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elizabeth, NJ
Posts: 156
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Seagull Yak?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: OliverJacob

I had the same problem, I changed the stock muffler to a pitts style and since everything else was perfect I decided to
modify the firewall instead using different stand offs. Then I strengthened the box from the inside, came out very nice.
Jacob,
Iconsider that option....But the older I get the lazer I get,patch least resistance and all that ,moving the engine fwd on a know tail heavy plane seems logical with little on the down side. I'm only using a single 6.6v 3000mah Life battery with a UBEC for the ignition modual.The ignition modul has been replaced with RCexl modual so I can run it unregulated if I want.


proteus_X3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:22 PM.