ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Reply
Old 04-11-2009, 11:41 PM
  #276
Ed
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bemis, NM
Posts: 2,889
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

" As you may know, true scale models of the Clipwing Monocoupe have a reputation of being twitchy and hard to fly. "

Is this model hard to fly, and how much aileron throw are you using ?
Ed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 05:45 AM
  #277
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Ed

" As you may know, true scale models of the Clipwing Monocoupe have a reputation of being twitchy and hard to fly. "

Is this model hard to fly, and how much aileron throw are you using ?
Nope. Amazingly easy to fly. My aileron throws are set per the manual and they're just right.
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 07:14 AM
  #278
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Quote:
luscombe8E
Thanks, I will look forward to the pics! Since I got mine, the honey do list got very long. Is it because spring is here, or am I paying for the plane all over again :-) I am not in a hurry, want to get it right so it will become my favorite plane too.
Thanks again,
Rcar4
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 07:59 AM
  #279
luscombe8E
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: bates city, MO
Posts: 8
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

I think its extremely easy to fly. It is completely stable at all speeds too. I have a feeling that no matter what i will always own one of these. ha
luscombe8E is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 10:19 AM
  #280
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Do you use flapperons for landing, or is it needed?
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 11:14 AM
  #281
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Started ironing mine out, pretty wrinkled. The ends of the black pin stripe like to curl up, do they needed glued in some way? I was a little disappointed to see the top fuselage windows are nothing but covering. Maybe a little nit picky of me, all in all I love what I see.
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 11:48 AM
  #282
jrf
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,821
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Quote:
Do you use flapperons for landing, or is it needed?
They are not "needed" for landing, but they work so well that I always used them. If they are set up according to the manual, they slow the airplane down a little, but the main thing is that they seem to lock it into the perfect 3 point attitude on approach. The pilot just needs to use the throttle to control the glide slope. They also eliminate some of the wing rocking that can happen at really slow speeds or in rough air.

Jim
jrf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 11:56 AM
  #283
luscombe8E
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: bates city, MO
Posts: 8
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

I made a plexiglass window for the top of my monocoupe.. It looks pretty cool i think. I didnt program mine for flapperons. Mine will just hang there on landing so i never even thought about using them. I personally dont think flapperons are needed. My coupe lands so slow if ya work it. I always slip mine on landing so if you dont like doing that then flapperons might be for you. It sure does look cool in the air. i think its worth every penny you sink in it!
luscombe8E is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 12:47 PM
  #284
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

I've never felt like I needed flaperons. I do have them programmed in and will use them once in a while but it lands just as well without them. I prefer to land on the mains and let it roll out until the tail drops versus trying to three-point it. The plane will do either one very well.
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 10:29 AM
  #285
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: luscombe8E

I made a plexiglass window for the top of my monocoupe.. It looks pretty cool i think. I didnt program mine for flapperons. Mine will just hang there on landing so i never even thought about using them. I personally dont think flapperons are needed. My coupe lands so slow if ya work it. I always slip mine on landing so if you dont like doing that then flapperons might be for you. It sure does look cool in the air. i think its worth every penny you sink in it!
Can you share some pics of your plexi window.
Thanks
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 11:54 PM
  #286
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Quote:
GaGeeBees
Thanks, I will program it in, but I think I will not be using it much either.
Thanks,
Ron
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 11:54 PM
  #287
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

I was getting ready to trace around the rudder and trim the covering to 1/16 of the line and look what I found
[img]001.jpg[/img] OK, I don't know if the image will show. There is not enough covering on the horizontal stab and there is balsa showing all the way around the vertical stab. I am a little disappointed as I have already epoxied the horizontal stab in place. Emailed pacific areomodle and have not heard back. Oh, and no the horizontal stab is not upside down, actually I did trace around the underside and trim the covering.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay73780.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	115.3 KB
ID:	1181766   Click image for larger version

Name:	Om32752.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	115.3 KB
ID:	1181767  
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 05:17 AM
  #288
Lifer
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 3,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

rcar4,

Had the same issue with mine needing covering to patch the area in front of the rudder. The guy at PAC acted as though it was the first he had heard of it. Reluctantly, he sent me some scrap covering to patch the area. Took about a month. I am not impressed with this level of customer service, particularly on a premium-priced ARF. The plane also had damage to the bottom of the fuselage that I discovered when I took it out of the box. I requested a replacement but was refused.

Nice plane, but I cannot reccomend dealing with them.
Lifer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 06:56 AM
  #289
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Lifer,
Thanks for the info, I will let you know how it works out for me. I am not going to stop the build to wait on covering. I will take the rudder to the LHS and see if they can help me match the color with something off the shelf.
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 02:54 PM
  #290
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Lifer

rcar4,

Had the same issue with mine needing covering to patch the area in front of the rudder. The guy at PAC acted as though it was the first he had heard of it. Reluctantly, he sent me some scrap covering to patch the area. Took about a month. I am not impressed with this level of customer service, particularly on a premium-priced ARF. The plane also had damage to the bottom of the fuselage that I discovered when I took it out of the box. I requested a replacement but was refused.

Nice plane, but I cannot reccomend dealing with them.
Wow! That's not been my experience with Pacific Aeromodel at all. They've been very responsive and quick to help anytime I've needed anything. I've got their 82" Gee Bee Y and the Monocoupe and would highly recommend them. My dealings with them have been outstanding in every way.
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 05:55 PM
  #291
Lifer
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 3,866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

GaGa,

I'm glad you had a good experience. In fact, that was what I was anticipating. The facts revealed themselves. I like the look of the planes the company offers, but I felt compelled to relay the story.

That's what I really like about RC Universe, it's buyer driven. Everybody can have a bad day, but what I experienced was over a month long so I came away with a lesser opinion of the company. I still like the plane!
Lifer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 08:06 PM
  #292
jrf
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,821
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

According to the Monocoupe instruction manual, page 16 "The stab has a long bare strip on the bottom and a short bare strip on the top."

Was yours different? It not, it sure sounds like you put it on upside down.

Of course that doesn't excuse the delay in getting it taken care of. But if you spoke to the Chinese fellow, I can imagine he would have some difficulty figuring out what your problem was.

The believe the covering is Sig Aerokote.

Jim
jrf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 07:37 AM
  #293
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Jrf,
The bottom of the horizontal stab Is unmistakable, large area of uncovered area to sit on the saddle in the shape of a triangle. The top is a narrow strip to accommodate the rudder. Still no contact from Pacific Areomodel, left voice mail early yesterday A.M. and email. If I could get a part number for the covering I would just go buy a roll!
Thanks for all your guys input!
Have a GREAT weekend,
Ron
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 08:39 AM
  #294
Jim T
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Warrenton, OR
Posts: 153
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: rcar4

Jrf,
The bottom of the horizontal stab Is unmistakable, large area of uncovered area to sit on the saddle in the shape of a triangle. The top is a narrow strip to accommodate the rudder. Still no contact from Pacific Areomodel, left voice mail early yesterday A.M. and email. If I could get a part number for the covering I would just go buy a roll!
Thanks for all your guys input!
Have a GREAT weekend,
Ron
That points out one of the things I like about Aeroworks kits..........they include a nice piece of each color of covering used. There's got to be loads of scraps they could include. These aren't cheap kits, they should be more responsive. I was going to get one of these when I get my Carden done, but am having second thoughts. Please keep us posted on how things go for you.

Jim
Jim T is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 09:15 AM
  #295
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

I still think the quality is very good, just a small issue. This is why customer service is so important, bad reputation can cost you customers. Everyone that has one seems to love them, I am sure I will be one too. A guy at our club told me to contact a fellow named Jim at pacific, he is going to get me his personal phone number. He said he had trouble getting a hold of the Asian fellow and now he deals strictly with Jim, that solved his issues. I am going to give him a call when I get his number, will let you know.
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 06:27 AM
  #296
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Sorry been busy and not able to give you an update. Finally got a few emails from pacific areomodel, they said they were out of the office last week and apologized. The next email I received was to tell me I installed the horizontal stab upside down. I emailed them back with my explanation in post 291, and the followed up with a picture.[img][/img]

The photo seemed to do the trick and I received this reply:
Ron,
You are right, we would send you some covering, but we do not have in stock. We will get some more, but it will take some time (about 3 days).
I will send this picture to the Mfg in China.
Thank you
Pacific Aeromodel
Johnson

I got Jim's number from my friend but have not needed to call him as things seem to be getting corrected. I would never post anyone's phone number here but if someone is having trouble and needs it you can pm me.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn35925.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	321.9 KB
ID:	1186808  
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 11:35 PM
  #297
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Quick update, received my covering today. Very fast responds once the problem was reported, thanks P.A.
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 07:58 PM
  #298
RHarding
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hope Mills NC
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Is anyone out there using a multi cylinder engine on the Pac Aero Clip Wing Monocoupe. I'm thinking maybe the OS 300 twin. I know the gas engine would be cheaper but I'm thinking sound.

Richard
RHarding is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 09:31 PM
  #299
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RHarding

Is anyone out there using a multi cylinder engine on the Pac Aero Clip Wing Monocoupe. I'm thinking maybe the OS 300 twin. I know the gas engine would be cheaper but I'm thinking sound.

Richard
Saito 1.70 radial. http://www.rcuvideos.com/video/Monocoupe-Radial-wmv

OS 3.00 would be a gracious plenty. The 1.60 Gemini would pull it around quite well. But, you can always throttle back
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 05:35 AM
  #300
SteveD-RCU
 
SteveD-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sault Ste Marieont, CANADA
Posts: 926
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: GaGeeBees


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RHarding

Is anyone out there using a multi cylinder engine on the Pac Aero Clip Wing Monocoupe. I'm thinking maybe the OS 300 twin. I know the gas engine would be cheaper but I'm thinking sound.

Richard
Saito 1.70 radial. http://www.rcuvideos.com/video/Monocoupe-Radial-wmv

OS 3.00 would be a gracious plenty. The 1.60 Gemini would pull it around quite well. But, you can always throttle back
Your 1.70 is running well,what fuel/prop are you using?I haven't maidened mine yet,got too busy last summer.
Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr49590.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	1191110  
SteveD-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:17 PM.