ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Reply
Old 06-15-2009, 01:53 PM
  #351
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Jim,
Thanks for the info!
Ron
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 10:14 AM
  #352
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Finally got around to some motor break-in, starting to get nervous Video of my friend testing his smoke setup and my coupe.
link to another site hope it is OK? RCG
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 02:35 PM
  #353
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe



rcar4 - Nothing to be nervous about. The plane is a piece of cake to fly. Enjoy!

GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 10:15 PM
  #354
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Thanks GaGeeBees, I will keep that in mind.
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 03:33 PM
  #355
RHarding
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hope Mills NC
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

For those who are using a Saito 170 radial in the PAC clip wing Monocoupe. I'm putting mine together now and am undecided which engine to use. I'm considering the 170 3 cylinder radial but am wondering about how it would work with the dummy engine. Does it work out so the three cutouts for the Saito is in line with the cylinders on the dummy engine? Is it necessary to use the dummy engine if the radial is being used? I would like to use it because it does look good. Does anyone have a good picture showing the radial with the dummy engine? Any suggestions and comments would be appreciated. My other engine consideration is a G-38. I have a new G-26 in the box but I'm wondering if the 38 would be better.

Peace, love, and happiness

Richard
RHarding is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 06:09 PM
  #356
GBR2
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 678
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

G26 fits perfectly.
GBR2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 08:19 PM
  #357
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RHarding

For those who are using a Saito 170 radial in the PAC clip wing Monocoupe. I'm putting mine together now and am undecided which engine to use. I'm considering the 170 3 cylinder radial but am wondering about how it would work with the dummy engine. Does it work out so the three cutouts for the Saito is in line with the cylinders on the dummy engine? Is it necessary to use the dummy engine if the radial is being used? I would like to use it because it does look good. Does anyone have a good picture showing the radial with the dummy engine? Any suggestions and comments would be appreciated. My other engine consideration is a G-38. I have a new G-26 in the box but I'm wondering if the 38 would be better.

Peace, love, and happiness

Richard
Doesn't work out perfectly with the three cutouts, but it doesn't look terrible. I don't think the dummy engine is absolutely necessary but I wanted it to serve as a baffle to direct cooling air over the cylinders. Hope this helps. Let me know if you have any other questions.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh16726.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	88.9 KB
ID:	1224115   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sn42308.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	1224116  
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 10:49 AM
  #358
RHarding
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hope Mills NC
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Thanks for the reply. I agree, it doesn't look real bad. Definitely won't know it in the air. How does the 170 pull the airplane. How about balance. Having any trouble keeping the bottom left cylinder firing (looking from the front)?

Again, thanks

Richard
RHarding is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 05:42 PM
  #359
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: RHarding

Thanks for the reply. I agree, it doesn't look real bad. Definitely won't know it in the air. How does the 170 pull the airplane. How about balance. Having any trouble keeping the bottom left cylinder firing (looking from the front)?

Again, thanks

Richard
Pulls the airplane very, very well. It's a great match. Balanced dead on the recommended CG with the servos mounted in the tail. I moved the batteries around a bit to fine tune things but didn't have to use any ballast. No trouble keeping the cylinder lit but I use a McDaniel/SonicTronics onboard glow driver set to come on at 1/4 throttle. It uses a 4-cell, 1900mAh NiCd pack which is good for a full day of flying. See previous posts on this thread for video of it taking off and landing. Can't beat that radial sound.
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 03:11 PM
  #360
SteveD-RCU
 
SteveD-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sault Ste Marieont, CANADA
Posts: 927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Finally maidened mine today after all this time.The Saito 170 is more than enough power,although it is still new with only a tank fuel through it.I'm only using a 1500 mah ni-cad on my McDaniel however and it only lasted two flights.Mine is set to come on just under half throttle right now because its new and needs some breaking in and final tuneing.The plane flew really suprisingly well with little trim change needed.Approaches were predictable ,all I needed was a click or two of power before bringing her down to land.Nice.
GaGeeBees could you tell me about your break in procedure on your 170? You also spoke about the need to set the low end correctly,did you half to lean it some? or...Right now my main is about 31/4 -31/2 turns out and I haven't touched the low end needle.I'm going to get another higher mah battery like a 2000+ soon but for now i'll use the 1500.I'm running a 18x6 MA prop on 15%.
SteveD-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 06:17 PM
  #361
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Hi Steve. Congratulations on your maiden flight! Your 1.70 will gain some power as it breaks in. I broke mine in on the bench and went through two tanks with the needle at five turns open and kept the rpms's below 4,000. I gradually leaned the high speed needle on subsequent tanks until it had about an hour of run time and then mounted it in the aircraft. I didn't adjust the low speed needle until the end of my first flying season. It had to be leaned about 1/2 turn. I believe my battery pack is a 1,900 mAh sub-C. I found 18x6 to be a little too much prop. 16x8 works better for me.
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 08:17 PM
  #362
SteveD-RCU
 
SteveD-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sault Ste Marieont, CANADA
Posts: 927
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Got four flights on mine now,I leaned it some more and she really hauled the Monocoupe around the patch this evening I mean it got FAST!It sounds like a Ferrari at top end .What a machine.I really like it when you can hear the engine echoing off the trees a 1/4 mile away,Pretty cool.It also does a really nice snap roll.I'll try and get some pics later.
Thanks for the info GaGeeBees ,mine seems to like the 18x6MA so I'll keep that on for now and I'll just leave my low end for now cause its running real good ,I'll just need a higher mah battery sometime.
SteveD-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 08:45 PM
  #363
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Glad you're enjoying It's a great model. I agree with you about the snap rolls, they're pretty spectacular.
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 11:28 PM
  #364
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Question,
Is the Screw that holds the wing to the fuselage enough? Anyone adding a second one aft of the stock one?
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 05:07 AM
  #365
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

More than enough. A second screw would be overkill.
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:11 AM
  #366
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Thanks, I know you have been flying the heck out of yours. That is good enough for me!
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 12:25 PM
  #367
RHarding
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hope Mills NC
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Anyone having any problems with landing gear? I took mine out of the plastic sleeve today and the aluminum feels a little flimsy.

Richard
RHarding is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 06:47 PM
  #368
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Quote:
ORIGINAL: RHarding

Anyone having any problems with landing gear? I took mine out of the plastic sleeve today and the aluminum feels a little flimsy.

Richard
If you bounce it hard enough, it'll bend but I would not call it flimsy. Mine's got lots and lots of cycles on it and hasn't had a problem yet. The fairings at the fuse are in fine shape with no cracks. The wheel pants are the most trouble-free I've owned; they stay tight and stay put. The plane is incredibly easy to land.
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 07:40 PM
  #369
TooLow
 
TooLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Iv flown the pants off mine,really. I had a problem with the wheel pants comming off, looked like a warbird dropping saddle tanks. Then I remembered to give the bolts a dose of loctite and problem solved.
TooLow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 08:42 PM
  #370
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe


Quote:
ORIGINAL: TooLow

Iv flown the pants off mine,really. I had a problem with the wheel pants comming off, looked like a warbird dropping saddle tanks. Then I remembered to give the bolts a dose of loctite and problem solved.
LOL yup, a little blue Loc-Tite does the trick. A little on the strut bolts is a good idea too.
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:21 AM
  #371
OldFart1
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance , CA
Posts: 790
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Well, assuming my G26 comes out of the repair shop with a clean bill of health, I'll be installing it in a Monocoupe. I was actually all set to get the Monocoupe almost a year ago - but couldn't resist a H9 Supercub in excellent condition for $50.

Note to self - don't run a low torque nylon geared elevator servo on 1/4 scale....ever again!



Anyone running the G26 want to offer any exhaust/muffler suggestions? - somehow I don't think I'll be running mine

OldFart1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:20 PM
  #372
GaGeeBees
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Looks like you got your $50 worth out of it! Sorry about the loss. The H9 Supercubs are good planes.
GaGeeBees is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:23 PM
  #373
OldFart1
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance , CA
Posts: 790
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

It _was_ a great plane - and I got my moneys worth. Great "first plane of the day"

Got a call at lunch - G26 can be fixed, so looks like a Monocoupe will be in my (near) future. Anyone running the G26 want to offer an opinion/advice on what exhaust they liked (or disliked)?
OldFart1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 12:06 AM
  #374
rcar4
 
rcar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: champaign, IL
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

I am getting close to a maiden, with one problem. I bought a reversing Y for the elevator, and it is twitching like crazy. Got to checking things out and saw 5 out of 6 of them seem to fail. We had a guy at the club that had one fry on him within the last two weeks, when I heard that I had to ... oh yes he lost his plane and damaged his motor. So I bit the $ bullet and bought a Matchbox. Hope to get it st up this weekend. I won't be able to maiden till after the holiday, please don't use reversing Y's
rcar4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 12:27 AM
  #375
TooLow
 
TooLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hemet, CA
Posts: 307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Pacific Aeromodel Clip Wing Monocoupe

Jeff, I just use the stock can that came with the G26. It fits inside the cowl with just the exhaust pipes sticking out. Just right for weight since no weiight was added to balance. (Please no comments bout my tidy workbench!)Made a dash panel to make it look right
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx69960.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	97.2 KB
ID:	1228418   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk31179.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	73.2 KB
ID:	1228419   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hm22610.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	40.8 KB
ID:	1228420  
TooLow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:27 PM.