Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Top Flite B-25 ARF (Tecnical, tips, suggestions)

ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Top Flite B-25 ARF (Tecnical, tips, suggestions)

Reply

Old 03-26-2015, 10:13 AM
  #3201  
Mustang Fever
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Mustang Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 3,225
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Try contacting TopFlite directly. They might be able to help you.
Mustang Fever is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 10:47 AM
  #3202  
rafeeki
My Feedback: (11)
 
rafeeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St John, IN
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Tried, useless.
I emailed Model Master who is also Testors who is also Rustolium..... (same co). Havent heard from them yet.
Model master have good color charts. I bot 2 greens so far neither is correct.
rafeeki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 11:32 AM
  #3203  
europatc74
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: summit, NJ
Posts: 215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Good luck with that one. The only way would be to contact TF directly.....even then it may be a struggle. Should try attending local RC swap meets. Better yet, put a wanted post on RC Groups. Good luck..
europatc74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 12:02 PM
  #3204  
Mustang Fever
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Mustang Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cadillac, MI
Posts: 3,225
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I once covered a fiberglass cowl. It was not particularly difficult, and looked pretty good.
Mustang Fever is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015, 01:09 PM
  #3205  
chris923
My Feedback: (53)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: milwaukee, WI
Posts: 941
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Top flite won't be able to help. You have 2 ways to go. 1st. Send a piece of monokote to Klas-coat. They will mix you a 2 part epoxy paint. Then you will have to spray it with a spray gun ( I have done this, it is not cheap but the paint is great). 2nd, take the monokote to a paint store that will put paint in cans. A couple of months ago I did that with the olive drape monkote. It cost me 24.00 for the qt of paint, and 8.00 to have one can filled. The qt will fill 12 cans. By me it was a Benjamin Moore home decorating center. The canned paint took longer to dry, but will not be as durable as epoxy paint.
chris923 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 07:16 PM
  #3206  
rafeeki
My Feedback: (11)
 
rafeeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St John, IN
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Nose piece decals for Executive Suite anyone??
rafeeki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 01:54 PM
  #3207  
c550
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tomball, TX
Posts: 575
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I might have them. I am away from home now, but I will check next week.

Regards,

Dave
c550 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 07:37 PM
  #3208  
rafeeki
My Feedback: (11)
 
rafeeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St John, IN
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Oh boy)
rafeeki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 06:37 AM
  #3209  
c550
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tomball, TX
Posts: 575
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

rafeki,

I have the decals send me a pm so we can work out the shipping.

Regards,

Dave
c550 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 02:23 PM
  #3210  
rafeeki
My Feedback: (11)
 
rafeeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St John, IN
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the decals Dave. Just what I was looking for.
Rafeek

Last edited by rafeeki; 04-26-2015 at 03:23 PM. Reason: spelling
rafeeki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 03:28 PM
  #3211  
rafeeki
My Feedback: (11)
 
rafeeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St John, IN
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

As I just bot my first DX9 Spectrum radio am having problems deciding which stick or toggle should I assign to :
1.Landing gear
2. Flaps
3. Rates (i would use one toggle to control all rates with one flick)
4.etc..
Your input would help me decide.

Thanks
This is as confusing as for someone using a computer the first time. Too many ways to do the same thing.
rafeeki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2015, 09:22 PM
  #3212  
Quigleywins
 
Quigleywins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kyneton victoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 819
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

[TABLE]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD="class: vi-VR-brumblnkLst vi-VR-brumb-hasNoPrdlnks"]
[TABLE="width: 100%"]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]





| |














[TABLE="class: img img500"]
[TR]
[TD]
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]

X [TABLE="class: vi_img_crsl_tbl"]
[TR]
[TD]
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]










Last edited by Quigleywins; 08-06-2015 at 09:59 PM.
Quigleywins is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 03:06 PM
  #3213  
mujenpwr
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mickleton, NJ
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just installed Robart air brakes and wheels with stock mechanical gear doors.

Has as anyone done the same?

And if if so how did you run your airlines for brakes without hitting gear door belcranks??

thx

JM
mujenpwr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 03:58 PM
  #3214  
ronbell
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Snellville, GA
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not the best pictures but hopefully you can see how I did it...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Retract Install 1.JPG
Views:	113
Size:	597.5 KB
ID:	2113069   Click image for larger version

Name:	Retract Install 3.JPG
Views:	98
Size:	660.6 KB
ID:	2113070  
ronbell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 04:54 PM
  #3215  
mujenpwr
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mickleton, NJ
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by ronbell View Post
Not the best pictures but hopefully you can see how I did it...
thanks Ron. Any other close up pics?

where did you get the alum bell cranks? Love them!!!

JM
mujenpwr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 06:21 PM
  #3216  
ronbell
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Snellville, GA
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sorry JM, those are the only pictures I have.

As for the bell-cranks, we used to have a club member who was a machinist - he made them for me. We miss him!!
ronbell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 06:43 PM
  #3217  
rafeeki
My Feedback: (11)
 
rafeeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St John, IN
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have the same bellcranks on mine.
Pl let me point out that I have bolted all of the brackets attached to the doors to the doors as well as epoxied them in place.
I will be replacing the wooden arm attache dto the front gear door with a heaftier one as well as slipping over it some fuel tubing to make the impact while closing a bit less of a bang....
I still havent maidened it as one of the engines is intermitent... not good.
rafeeki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 06:13 PM
  #3218  
raaf
 
raaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

HI ALL.
Just an inquiry i'm looking for a front nose glass and top turret for my rebuild after a low impact crash.I've had mine since the kit came out and love it.they are very rare in Australia and the Topflite dealer here is useless .. I've contacted a company called Parkflyer plastics in the US but the tooling is the killer.Theyve repo'd the hanger 9 set but have not sold alot of units hence reluctancy to do the Topflite set...
unfortunately i dont have the skill to repo the plastic parts i need and i cant scrap the airframe.

any help would be fantastic cheers shayne.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	1429338804336.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	46.6 KB
ID:	2154045   Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-10-31 21.53.45.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	1.77 MB
ID:	2154046   Click image for larger version

Name:	1429697706487.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	40.7 KB
ID:	2154047  

Last edited by raaf; 03-24-2016 at 06:23 PM.
raaf is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 06:05 PM
  #3219  
JustPlaneSweet
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

raaf,

I recently purchased a kit from another RCU member and found that the nose glass was severely cracked. Inspired by James Bruton's (XRobots) video on vacuum forming, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maH5Ech0wK8 I taped up the broken canopy and filled it with a 10 to 1 mix of plaster and Durham Rock Hard Water Putty to make a plug. I made the vacuum former from a pair of 1200W quartz heaters and pulled an acceptable (to me) canopy on the second pull. The first pull is on the plug and you can see the wrinkle on the right bottom. I put 1/8inch pinstripe inside the second pull. That is the one on the right. The original is in the background.

I would be happy to try another pull and send it to you. I will have to make a plug if you want the turret. Send me a pm and we can work out the details if you are interested.

Stan
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	B-25 Glass.jpg
Views:	302
Size:	45.7 KB
ID:	2156312  
JustPlaneSweet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 07:08 PM
  #3220  
CCFPILOT
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by JustPlaneSweet View Post
raaf,

I recently purchased a kit from another RCU member and found that the nose glass was severely cracked. Inspired by James Bruton's (XRobots) video on vacuum forming, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maH5Ech0wK8 I taped up the broken canopy and filled it with a 10 to 1 mix of plaster and Durham Rock Hard Water Putty to make a plug. I made the vacuum former from a pair of 1200W quartz heaters and pulled an acceptable (to me) canopy on the second pull. The first pull is on the plug and you can see the wrinkle on the right bottom. I put 1/8inch pinstripe inside the second pull. That is the one on the right. The original is in the background.

I would be happy to try another pull and send it to you. I will have to make a plug if you want the turret. Send me a pm and we can work out the details if you are interested.

Stan
Looks great. I'm sure it's better than the original, that one was very fragile. Even a short drop to the bench would cause cracks.
CCFPILOT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 08:33 AM
  #3221  
JustPlaneSweet
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the compliment ccfpilot. I made the part from 1mm PETG (it thinned to half that in places). raaf's troubles make me think I should probably make plugs for the turret and windshield. It will give me an opportunity for future repairs and also have the window frames match.

Stan
JustPlaneSweet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 07:32 AM
  #3222  
NIGHTBREEDERS
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

hi does any1 think that the new eflite spitfire with safe is a good plane for a beginner
NIGHTBREEDERS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 06:01 AM
  #3223  
raaf
 
raaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

HI JPS.
I've sent you a PM..


cheers shayne.
raaf is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 06:36 AM
  #3224  
NIGHTBREEDERS
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi every1 im very new to all this and need a little help ive just bought my new dx9 and when going through setting up a model i came across the words Aircraft type i was wondering how do i no if my plane is normal wing or rudder or elevator would it say on the box as i dont want to make a mistake
NIGHTBREEDERS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 07:04 AM
  #3225  
Fidelity101
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Clarence, NY
Posts: 111
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Go with Normal. Deltawing, elevon and other mixes are not required for this airplane.
Fidelity101 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service