ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

Reply
Old 08-06-2011, 08:17 AM
  #676
albsurfer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 344
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

Use the stock arms first. After you get used to the plane and decide whether or not it's performing like you want, change the arms out to longer arms if you feel you need them for more control throw.
albsurfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 06:53 PM
  #677
frivera12
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mayaguez, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 94
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

MyExtra is under repairs right now, nothing serious. It was flying fine until engine decided to stop. It was very windy and a fence got in the way of the Extra......
frivera12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 09:20 PM
  #678
albsurfer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 344
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

Our field & grounds are surrounded by brush that gets 6-7 foot tall & doesn't get cut down by either LA City Parks & Rec or the ARMY Corps of Engineers (true owners). One side of our runway has this brush beginning at about 12 inches parallel. Both ends have it up to the end of the paved runway. I've clipped brush landing several times & had to do LG Block repairs, even though I've toughened it. We all have had to do various others because of brush.

So... Just a "thing to live with", along with our 10 mph+ winds. Which aren't too bad compared to other places guys have written about in their posts.
The Extra is pretty good in 10 mph winds, but gets a little hairy to land when it's kept light-weight & the wind starts to increase in gusts.
albsurfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 06:47 AM
  #679
frivera12
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Mayaguez, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 94
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

The Extra is flying again this weekend............
frivera12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 02:19 PM
  #680
BjornBaal
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Farmington, NM
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP



Does anyone have a BNIB extra. I planted mine into the ground earlier today and would like a replacement. If not can someone point me in the direction to whom has this ARF for the cheapest price..
Thanks

BjornBaal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 10:17 AM
  #681
Felar Furlong
 
Felar Furlong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Novosibirsk, RUSSIA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

does someone found where to get a replacement carbon fiber wing tube for this extra? stock tube is way too heavy. maybe some tube from other great planes aircraft will fit?
Felar Furlong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 06:09 PM
  #682
obriendigital
 
obriendigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waverly, NE
Posts: 69
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

I have a set of wings and carbon fiber landing gear I would sell cheap. PM me for details.

obriendigital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 07:35 AM
  #683
AreoFanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Richland Hills, TX
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP



seriously considering this extra since i crashed my AeroWorks Edge 540t. Would a .55AX be enough for good 3D flight though because thats what id have to put in it

AreoFanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:38 AM
  #684
kiosk
 
kiosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: , FL
Posts: 363
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP


Quote:
ORIGINAL: AreoFanatic



seriously considering this extra since i crashed my AeroWorks Edge 540t. Would a .55AX be enough for good 3D flight though because thats what id have to put in it

i went electric with mine....love it, tons of power on 5-cell setup.....
kiosk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:41 AM
  #685
kiosk
 
kiosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: , FL
Posts: 363
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Felar Furlong

does someone found where to get a replacement carbon fiber wing tube for this extra? stock tube is way too heavy. maybe some tube from other great planes aircraft will fit?
i found one from here but dont remmember what size it was....if you measure yours u should be able to find it with the right diameter just cut to lenght

http://www.mcmaster.com/

kiosk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:09 AM
  #686
albsurfer
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Reseda, CA
Posts: 344
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP


Quote:
ORIGINAL: kiosk


Quote:
ORIGINAL: AreoFanatic



seriously considering this extra since i crashed my AeroWorks Edge 540t. Would a .55AX be enough for good 3D flight though because thats what id have to put in it

i went electric with mine....love it, tons of power on 5-cell setup.....
kiosk,
what was your setup on this plane?
I had a GW 57" MX2 and used a Hacker A40-14s, 14x8.5 prop, ICE 75A, and a 5s5000mah lipo. Lively, but in verticals it was a bit heavy. I did 3d/IMAC/Freestyle with this setup.
When I had the GP Extra 300S I had a .55AX in it. I've been considering going back to it.
albsurfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 05:04 PM
  #687
mach2
 
mach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

Where can I get new wing bolts?  I bought one of these from a club friend and the nylon bolts are stripped out. they work but not well.

Thanks,
Jeremy
mach2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 03:51 PM
  #688
iflircaircraft
 
iflircaircraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phillipsburg, NJ
Posts: 756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

You can use any screw type 1/4-20 nylon wing bolt 1 1/2" long.


Tom
iflircaircraft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 06:49 PM
  #689
mach2
 
mach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

Thanks, I went and got a pair at the local bolt shop that work perfect. Used some rubber bushing too.

I picked up this plane from a guy in my club who had done some type of trading and ended up with it. It had an OS 61 in it with bad bearings. He swapped it out with a .46 ax with a pitts. It has afew rough spots on it and its had the landing gear repaired after being pulled out of the fuse. I got it for 160 bucks. Its got 130 worth of Hitec 645s in it, so I couldn't go wrong.

I took the blue plastic spinner off of it and put on a great planes aluminum piece with a Xoar prop. It didnt have any wheel pants so I got those too. Over 30 buck for the wheel pants and they didnt even come with stinkin bolts. What a jip! I had some that fit though.

It looks real nice now with just those little changes. Now Im just waiting on the Rx to arrive so I can get that in, and Im gonna get a new battery because the nihm that was in it had the wires reconnected so I didnt really trust it.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu59955.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	229.0 KB
ID:	1746855   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lg17707.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	254.8 KB
ID:	1746856  
mach2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 08:28 PM
  #690
mach2
 
mach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

Here's some pics after I put the wheel pants on and the new spinner and prop...

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ur52074.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	171.9 KB
ID:	1746869   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt63239.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	306.1 KB
ID:	1746870   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gl20077.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	301.3 KB
ID:	1746871   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lf94417.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	287.8 KB
ID:	1746872  
mach2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 04:24 AM
  #691
mike early
 
mike early's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ashland, KY
Posts: 2,106
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

Now it is rocking.
mike early is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 01:24 PM
  #692
iflircaircraft
 
iflircaircraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phillipsburg, NJ
Posts: 756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

Your gonna like it. It's light and flies light. I did my first knife edge with mine. Even though I'm a circle flyer this plane has let me push my abilities. I'm using a saito 72. I have no complaints.


Tom
iflircaircraft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 06:00 PM
  #693
mach2
 
mach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

does the plane need some down stick to keep it tracking straight in a knife edge?  Iver heard somewhere that some extras actually need to have some up elevator....

Thanks,
Jeremy
mach2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 06:36 PM
  #694
Rooster6
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Inverell, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

I have about 2-3% up elevator mixed in with my rudder input and the result is knife edges as straight as a die.
Rooster6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:00 AM
  #695
mach2
 
mach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

Thanks.

Im gonna go back to a engine and prop question. First off, I bought this plane with a OS 46ax in it and it seemed way underpowered. However, i watched a review video with someone doing a high altitude hover with the 46 (albeit a ton of throttle).

Anyway, I put a 55ax in it. It flies way better. I started off with a apc (not a big fan, but the local store didnt have any xoars in stock) 12x6 and it was okay. I wanted a little more pull so i went to a 12x5, but the design is different between the two. the 12x5 has a narrower blade towards the tip which I would think reduce the amount of thrust. So im going to order some xoar props and hopefully that will be better.

What props are you guys using with this plane and a 55ax?

Now a motor question. Im kinda spoiled by my DLE20, so im thinking of putting something like a OS 95v four stroke in the Extra. Im considering this because GP recommends a .81 size FS, and the 95 is the same weight. And ive got the difference in weight between the 55ax and the 95v in the cowl with lead weights anyway.

Anyone with experience with any of these combos, please chime in.

Thank you,
Jeremy
mach2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 03:38 PM
  #696
nmking09
 
nmking09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Niceville , FL
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

How did you end up with that much lead in the nose? Where are your servos and bat?
nmking09 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 09:55 PM
  #697
mach2
 
mach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

When i purchased the plane it came with hitec 645s! Im gonna take them out sometime when I need them for a big plane and put something like 485s in it. The 645s are way overkill obviously.

Ive got a 600 and a 700mah nicd batt on the engine box. crazy huh?

The plane originally had some brand of a .61 in it. So when I bought it from a club member who put the 46 in it, it was really tail heavy.
mach2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 03:35 PM
  #698
SU-31 flyer
 
SU-31 flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Burwell, NE
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

You better look and see if some lead was put in the tail. Mine balanced find with a YS45 2cycle. Battery in middle of plane.
SU-31 flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 03:27 AM
  #699
iflircaircraft
 
iflircaircraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phillipsburg, NJ
Posts: 756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

I'm using a Saito 72 4S and it balances without any added weight. I use the OS 95V in 10 LB warbirds. I think the 95V would be overkill.

JMHO

Tom
iflircaircraft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 04:06 AM
  #700
mike early
 
mike early's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ashland, KY
Posts: 2,106
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Extra 300 GP/EP

How much vertical performance does that Saito 72 provide?
mike early is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:21 AM.