ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

*Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

Reply
Old 07-15-2011, 10:25 AM
  #276
Brian Smith
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tullahoma, TN
Posts: 875
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

I snitched the motor mount out of my Pulse 125 kit to use mounting a DLE 20 in my Sig 110 rascal. So to answer your question, as far as I'm concerned the stock mount will work fine. Brian
Quote:
ORIGINAL: hold20032003

Hello guys

Can i use the stock engine mount withe the DLE 20cc ?
and what is the correct position for the DLE 20 cc?
Brian Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 11:09 AM
  #277
Brian Smith
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tullahoma, TN
Posts: 875
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

Twist 150 LG?? I just ordered a twist 150 LG for my Pulse. The right color and no sweep. has anyone actually used this gear on the 125 Pulse? Brian
Brian Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 05:54 PM
  #278
Brian Smith
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tullahoma, TN
Posts: 875
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

I would like to buy a couple sets of the motor mounts that come with the Pulse 125 if anyone has some they won't be using? Thanks Brian
Brian Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 09:52 PM
  #279
tailskid
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,108
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

Brian, I do believe I could send you mine....PM me with your address...

Jerry
tailskid is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 03:30 AM
  #280
Brian Smith
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tullahoma, TN
Posts: 875
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

So done .. Thanks bunches Jerry., Brian
Quote:
ORIGINAL: tailskid

Brian, I do believe I could send you mine....PM me with your address...

Jerry
Brian Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 01:19 PM
  #281
tailskid
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,108
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

It will be on its way on Monday!
tailskid is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:23 AM
  #282
gade600sdi
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

Has anyone actually used the Twist 150 landing Gear? Brian, have you gotten yours yet. Is it a bolt in substitute? I have already spent hours installing the dual elevator control horn and pushrods, dont really want much more time invested in changing out gears.

Also, I looked at Horizon and the Pulse 125 gear they list the picture looks like it is NOT swept. Is it possible that they have changed the part number due to all the complaints about the swept gear. Anyone buy one of these yet replacement gears maybe are actually made right?
gade600sdi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:25 AM
  #283
gade600sdi
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

I own a Frenzy 100 and a Pulse 125....as mentioned before, I would advise against the Frenzy 100 gears mentioned a few posts back, they are 2 pc and very light weight, in my opinion too light for the Pulse 125. Yes they would work, but I think they will bend/break off easy.
gade600sdi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 09:53 AM
  #284
Brian Smith
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tullahoma, TN
Posts: 875
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

I did get mine. It will work fine. The center rear bolt lines up and I'll have to re-drill the front two mounting holes. Not a big deal. It also is about an inch taller and a tad narrower. I think it is the way to go. I have not had time to assemble mine yet and I'm waiting for a DLE 20 mount from a friend. Oh too, on the web site the Twist LG looks orange, but is red. Brian
Quote:
ORIGINAL: gade600sdi

Has anyone actually used the Twist 150 landing Gear? Brian, have you gotten yours yet. Is it a bolt in substitute? I have already spent hours installing the dual elevator control horn and pushrods, dont really want much more time invested in changing out gears.

Also, I looked at Horizon and the Pulse 125 gear they list the picture looks like it is NOT swept. Is it possible that they have changed the part number due to all the complaints about the swept gear. Anyone buy one of these yet replacement gears maybe are actually made right?
Brian Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 08:42 PM
  #285
scooterinvegas
 
scooterinvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

Why not turn the stock landing gear around? I have the stock swept back gear on my 125 but haven't had a nose over, yet.
scooterinvegas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 05:09 AM
  #286
gade600sdi
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

You cant turn it around it is raked way back and I mean way back. If you turned it around the wheels would be right under your prop. Dont know what they were thinking on this one. If you are more tail heavy you may get away with it or flying off asphalt, mine is pretty much in the middle of cg range and she noses over all the time, and we have a pretty smooth field!
gade600sdi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 11:39 AM
  #287
Brian Smith
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tullahoma, TN
Posts: 875
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

Got the mounts Jerry. Your one cool dude!! Sent you a PM for info. Thanks Buddy. Brian Smith
Quote:
ORIGINAL: tailskid

Brian, I do believe I could send you mine....PM me with your address...

Jerry
Brian Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:08 PM
  #288
scooterinvegas
 
scooterinvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

Quote:
ORIGINAL: gade600sdi

You cant turn it around it is raked way back and I mean way back. If you turned it around the wheels would be right under your prop. Dont know what they were thinking on this one.
It's a mod that has been many times. You have to drill three new holes to mount it and you have to re-clock the wheel pants by drilling two new holes. I guess ignorance is bliss.

When I get home after work, I guess I will google it ya and post a picture or video.
scooterinvegas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 03:25 PM
  #289
gade600sdi
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

ok, I would love to see it.....thanks.
gade600sdi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 06:05 PM
  #290
scooterinvegas
 
scooterinvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

Just my luck. I researched the Pulse 125 A LOT before buying one. I found a couple of threads talking about the mod and found one video of a guy doing to start to finish. I just looked up at mine (above my head on wall) and it has 5 bolts holding on the gear. I guess it was the wheel pants he was drilling holes for. After the gear was flipped around, the wheel pants stuck up a LOT, and had to have new holes drilled. He also said the toe had to be adj to make it track straight on the ground.

Maybe this weekend when I have more time I will look for that video. It really didnt look that bad with the gear turned around (with pants fixed). The wheel centers were maybe 2" in front of the leading edge. Not even close to the prop or even the cowl for that matter. I dont fly on grass and most of my planes are draggers, so planting the tail is 2nd nature to me. The stock gear works for me.

Scoot
scooterinvegas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 06:06 PM
  #291
SportsFans
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 1,187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

Hey guy's, ok I'm a little strange for many reasons [sm=bananahead.gif] and one of the ways is I love the stock landing gear in it's original position. The Pulse has beautiful lines and with swept back main gear and its stance make it looks just outstanding to me. I've been flying the 60 this season on a grass field and ya their is a definetly concern, but only nosed over once. Giving full elevator while taxing, after land, and also at the beginning of your take off, as you all know will in most cases prevent these nose overs. This is definetly challenging my piloting skills, and I love a challenge. It seems to be all apart of the Pulse package for something that looks and flies so beautifully must require some masterful handling somewhere and this seems to on the ground like the real P51. Almost finished my 125 and can't wait that challenge!! My 2 cents! Nice thread!

Sports
SportsFans is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 07:58 PM
  #292
bw5493
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Meridian, ID
Posts: 94
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

I finished my Pulse with the DLE20, and all I can say is WOW..that thing is a hoot. I am running stock gear, factory version2 tail wire, bolt on tail and no issues at all. I can wring the thing inside and out in IMAC fashion, and have yet get so much as a wimper from the airframe at all. Were talking 3-400 foot full power pull outs from loops, Spins, Lamcevaks outside flat circes. This thing just plain flies well. I am turning a Master Airscrew 16x8 K series on a 10 ounce tank. The only "issue" I have is that you have to be gentle on landing so as not to hit the prop. Other than that..stock gear works fine just like the 60 size does. Mine is balanced dead nuts at 3.5 inches with 12 ounces of lead on the nose, and if anything I can move it back a scoche.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge95464.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	266.5 KB
ID:	1641420   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kf14746.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	153.8 KB
ID:	1641421  
bw5493 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 10:32 PM
  #293
The1User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

Hey guys

Does anyone have video of a Pulse with the DLE20?

Any idea how fast it flies with the DLE20?

I have yet to maiden my Pulse 125, its hanging on my bedroom ceiling (till it drops below 90 degrees outside)

Check out my Terminator Pilot and my Braided Exhaust Hose (it runs under the fuse right at the landing gear mount)

Maybe someone will notice my red "Vortex" in the very corner OR my Pulse 40

Later

Joe




The1User is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 04:38 AM
  #294
flyalot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dixfield, ME
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

HI I initially installed a "Frenzy" landing gear in my pulse 125 with DLE 20. Looks like it is on stilts. The gear is very flexible. I am useing a 16X8 topflite maple.
Performance is great. On my third landing , a bad landing, ripped out one side of thg LG and light ply mount. Have made repairs and put stock mount (with pants) back on, but moved it foward.
as suggested in a precious blog. Very little ground clearence with a 16" prop, about 3/4 ", but, with care do-able. Flew in that configuration yesterday very sucessful!
A very enjoyable airplane, light on the controls.
Joe
flyalot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 04:31 AM
  #295
Brian Smith
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tullahoma, TN
Posts: 875
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

I flew the Pulse 125 last eve with the DLE 20. I agree with the other posters. What a blast. One of the most fun combos I have ever owned/flown. My CG came out about an inch behind the factory marks, and I decided to try it there and it was perfect. I will never add any nose weight. I dragged it in a couple time and touched the tail wheel first just looking for any kind of a stall and found none. I think the factory CG suggestion is the "safe" place to start but not need that far forward. I decided to "try" the stock LG and it worked fine. I bought the twist LG as well but it is not needed. You can nose it over if you try, but I had 3 flights and 10 touch and go with not one problem. Maybe the rear ward CG helps in that dept. I have a 10 ounce tank and fly for 15 minutes and have near a 1/2 tank left. To say I'm very pleased would be an accurate statement. Thanks for the mount Jerry, and thank for all the other posters and suggestions in this thread. Gotta quit writing and run back out to the model field to show my new flyer to my buddies. Brian Smith
Brian Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 05:27 AM
  #296
RACJ
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Morehead City, NC
Posts: 399
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

How are the knife edge and flat spins on this plane. Looking for alround funfly plane but it's gotta do these two well. THANKS,RACJ
RACJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 07:56 AM
  #297
Brian Smith
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tullahoma, TN
Posts: 875
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

I did some wild full power snaps that look really wild for an old guy like me. It has a big rudder and stab, and if I "could" knife edge I imagine it would do them well. Brian
Quote:
ORIGINAL: RACJ

How are the knife edge and flat spins on this plane. Looking for alround funfly plane but it's gotta do these two well. THANKS,RACJ
Brian Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 07:03 AM
  #298
Brian Smith
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tullahoma, TN
Posts: 875
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

Wing bolts..
Anyone but me have a problem with the plastic metric wing bolts? One actually got stuck in a trial fit and untill I greased them up and ran them back and forth could I even use them.. My question is where can I get some replacements quick and cheap. 6MMX40MM....Other wise I'll drive out the blind /T-nuts and replace them with standard 1/4 inch. Brian
Brian Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 09:13 AM
  #299
tailskid
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,108
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

Drill them, after all if you break one at the flying field, who has extra metric bolts to share?
tailskid is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 11:52 AM
  #300
gade600sdi
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *Hangar 9 New Pulse 125*

It will knifedge well I have a 40 a 60 and a 125 they are all top notch super flyers. Will do any trick in the book except extreme 3D type manuevers. Very aerobatic and yet gentle that you would recommend for a first low wing plane. Hard to leave a pulse at home on Sunday when I have 14 others to choose from.
gade600sdi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:10 PM.