Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Re-glue all ARFs to be safe

Community
Search
Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Re-glue all ARFs to be safe

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2010, 02:20 AM
RV8ER1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re-glue all ARFs to be safe

Hey guys. I've been flying R/C for 40 years and always said I would never fly an ARF. They used to to be heavy lead sleds made of foam core wings plastic coated and the fuselages were some kind of blow molded plastic. However I've now been flying modern ARFs for 4 years, all electric powered. The last 2 years or so things have really improved and the performance of these new models is fantastic due to design improvements and their very light weight construction. However there is one major flaw in ALL the ARFs I've seen and that is the lack of proper glue joints. The laser cut parts fit incredibly well but the problem is they only use thin CA on all joints. Most of the important parts in the front of the fuselage are plywood and THIN CA is a poor choice of glue. If we were building these from kits we would use med. or thick CA on heavy load bearing areas like firewalls, landing gear blocks, wing/fuselage through tubes etc. I've seen ARFs have major structural failures and have had motor cages and firewalls of my own planes pull apart during high G loads.