RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   ARF or RTF (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/arf-rtf-75/)
-   -   Hangar 9 40 Size Piper Pawnee!!! (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/arf-rtf-75/6815783-hangar-9-40-size-piper-pawnee.html)

BountyHunter51 07-25-2012 02:53 AM

RE: Hangar 9 40 Size Piper Pawnee!!!

I'm sure it gets alot of attention from the pilots there.
It's cool that you copied the full sized Pawnee that you have access to. :D
Cheers!

littlera 08-19-2012 10:09 AM

I have been flying my Pawnee for at least four years now. I am on the low side of power with the recommended .52 Evo. No powerhouse, but a fine running engine, and scale-like operation.

I have noticed one surprising quirk in the handling of this plane. Flying straight and level at full power (what of it there is) if I apply a moderate amount of rudder, there is a very noticeable tendency for the plane to "tuck under," that is for the nose to drop. A lot of up elevator is required to keep it on line. With all the dihedral this plane has, I am very surprised that it does this. Has anyone else noticed this trait? Do you have an explanation / remedy?

jpanhalt 08-19-2012 10:22 AM

I will have to try it, but I am not surprised it happens. In the days of rudder only, we had lots of dihedral, and full rudder (all we had) made the nose drop. In fact, doing that for a full turn followed by opposite rudder would give you a loop. Maybe I will try that too this week.

My Pawnee has a 4 stroke 70.

John

cgflying 09-01-2012 05:02 PM

Has anyone installed the sullivan tail wheel on the Pawnee 40?  If so does it install the same as the factory one are does it attach to the bottom of the plane?

landeck 09-02-2012 02:23 AM

I installed the DuBro tail wheel and screwed it to the bottom of the fuselage with the springs attached to the rudder. The Sullivan tail wheel would be installed in a similar manner with the single spring attached to the rudder.

Bruce

cgflying 09-02-2012 06:06 AM