Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Dag Autogyro

Nr.KidderminsterWorcestershire, UNITED KINGDOM
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Dag Autogyro

I have 50+ years experience in rc aircraft,but am new to the autogyro.
    I have completed a DAG, and after a terminal test flight I need help. The question I need to ask first is about control orientation. Is rotor head tipped backwords towards the fin, the same as up-elevator on a conventional aircraft, and rotor head tipped forwards the same as down -elevator. The reason i ask this basic question is ,that ,on hand launching the autogyro into wind(quite strong),it started to climb steeply,and even with full down applied(rotor head tipped forwards) it continued into a vertical climb,then started to loop and go inverted, and the rest is history.!!!! This has made me wonder if the controlls were the reverse of those on a conventional aircraft,although I cant see why they should be. If not, what happened???
    The hang angle was 18 deg. forward tilt 10 deg.,rearward tilt 20 deg.,and side to side movement 15 deg...Sevos 12 kilo pull.
    Can anyone help and advise please ??

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Dag Autogyro

I think you should go to RC Groups/ Autogyros.. There you may find DAve the designer to explain your problem.
    Jim

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Hi wwwiiizzzyyy,

I've never had a DAG, so I can't help you with the figures. But, I did have a similar result when I first started, thank goodness without the 'Exitus Effect'.