Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > AutoGyros
Reload this Page >

Contemplating twin gyro

Community
Search
Notices
AutoGyros All about autorotational flight, sport and scale autogyros! User friendly!

Contemplating twin gyro

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2005, 10:12 AM
Gaffspan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Contemplating twin gyro

Inspired by a rock steady free flighter i saw a couple of months back, i thought i'd build a lightweight rc twin gyro (possibly GWS ips150 motor) as a small park/indoor flier. I have no autogyro experience, but plenty of fixed wing and some helicopter building/flying time.

I also thought it would be pretty neat to style it as a V-22 Osprey (albeit with a stupid looking tractor prop ).

I've read the info on autogyro.com and understand that it is still quite an undertaking. However, i recon building a twin will be easier than a 'pure' auto due to some wing area and zero torque effects from counter rotation. I also understand that flat blades can be used, which will save much effort...

Anyway, i was wondering whether anyone could recommend any good (free ) plans to get me started. I've spent a while searching the interweb for them, but have found none which suit me.

Its nice to see so many people modelling autogyros!

Cheers, help is hugely appreciated!
Old 02-17-2005, 12:00 PM
mnowell129

Default RE: Contemplating twin gyro

Check out the spin doctor from Flying models magazine.
mickey
Old 02-17-2005, 10:08 PM
boberos

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

'Gyrace' & 'Tango' work well & lots of them have been built & flown. But they are larger, & require a 40 gow engine.
Good idea to start out with a 'proven design' then experiment from there.

M.A.N. had a 40 sized Osprey const. article around 1999. Saw a couple built but never saw 1 fly. Perhaps that tells us something.

Bob
Old 02-18-2005, 05:43 AM
rcflyerfl
My Feedback: (1)