Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > AutoGyros
Reload this Page >

twin electric motor auto, need suggestions/tips

Notices
AutoGyros All about autorotational flight, sport and scale autogyros! User friendly!

twin electric motor auto, need suggestions/tips

Old 07-09-2007, 06:16 AM
elnato aka the_nuts

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default twin electric motor auto, need suggestions/tips

Hi all, I am an aircraft engineer apprentice in New Zealand and am new to the modeling scene.
This is my query: recently i picked up an XPV, which is a gimmiky rc aircraft with a li-po battery and twin electric motors. It is 2 chanel and basically it climbs/descends by varying the thrust of both motors and turns/banks by varying the thrust of either motor. I couldnt resist it because it was 5 dollars from the neigbors garage sale.
I want to use the components to make a twin engine autogyro, using the same method of control as the original aircraft. What i want to know is if it will be controlable or even fly with a fixed empanage and rotor hub or if i will need to resort to more chanels to make the idea fesable. Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pm35083.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	718850  
Old 07-10-2007, 05:39 AM
rcflyerfl
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: twin electric motor auto, need suggestions/tips

Sounds like a good assignment for an appentice aircraft engineer.. I would not do it but play with it a little.. But first get a Autogyro flying so you know it will fly then try your twin motors. Good Luck.

Jim
Old 07-10-2007, 10:54 PM
elnato aka the_nuts