Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > AutoGyros
Reload this Page >

new to autogyros help needed!!!!

Community
Search
Notices
AutoGyros All about autorotational flight, sport and scale autogyros! User friendly!

new to autogyros help needed!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2007, 08:21 PM
panzertank

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to autogyros help needed!!!!

i am brand new to the auto gyro hobby and have a few questions. I have considured a autogyro as a model that will satisfy both my airplane and helicopter needs and also bring something else to the table. here are my questions:
1- can you buy a rtf, arf or, kit autogyro from a respectable website or are the all home bulit creations?
2-what is it like to fly an autogyro, how hard is it (i have extensive helicopter/airplane flying skills on simulator and a decent amount in real life.)
3- how much wind can they handle without getting out of control
4-how much does it cost to buy an auto gyro.
5- what special equipment/parts does an autogyto need that a heli/airplane doesen have( if there are any)
6- how are they powered (single engine powers a rotor and engine or two separate ones) and does the rotor have control ( collective, eccpm,ccpm,ect...)
7- can they hoverand if so how do they do it.
8- do they require a gyroscope?
9- what keeps them from spinning around the main axis (the main rotor) uncontrollably. I know that on a helicopter the tail rotor compensates for this what stops this on a auto?
10- do you need a special radio to control them?( i have a airtronics rd8000 8 channel with all the features of a computer radio will this work here is the address http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXCZC2**&P=7
11-what makes this a good hobby to get into?
12- what makes this a bad hobby to get into?
13- in your opinon what is the best auto gyro you have ever had, where did you get it, and what makes it the best?