Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Charging rates?

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2012, 02:07 PM
Dads like rc too

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Charging rates?

ok guys, I'm new to the battery stuff so talk SLOW! I currently have a simple plug and play Traxxas charger for my nihm batteries. I just bought a Hitec X4 and it's on the way. I've been reading online about it and it seems there's a lot I need to know just to charge a battery. Right now I have a 7.2v 3800 mah, 7.2v 3000mah, 8.4v 3000 mah, and a 8.4v 3300 mah. Reading about this charger it seems like I need a quick education about discharge rates, a "c" rate, not sure what that is. How long to charge, what amperage to charge? ???? I know nitro but this battery thing sounded simple until I bought this charger. Also I know lipo's are better but right now the electric's are my kids and I'm trying to keep the speed down. Any keep it simple info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Old 03-23-2012, 02:16 PM
guver
My Feedback: (325)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Charging rates?

You probably don't need to know any of that except what rate to charge the packs. That rate is totally up to you and could be any rate that is within that chargers range. The higher the number the faster it charges.
Old 03-24-2012, 01:10 AM
Goldenduff

If a pack is 2000mah (2amp hour) with a C rating of 2 (2C) then the max charge rate would be 2C x 2amps= 4amps. A 3000mah 3c pack could handle a charge rate of.....9amps. By definition the C rating is how long it will take to charge (assuming 100% efficiency). So 1C takes an hour, 2c half an hour, 4c 15minutes etc.