Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Lipo "C" ratings

Old 03-28-2012, 08:45 AM
yakfish

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Lipo "C" ratings

I think I unerstand what "C" ratings are and how they work but I haven't really ever compared batteries with different "C" ratings to know how much of a difference they really make. I am just a basher and don't race. I know in racing you want that little bit of an extra edge so I higher "c" rating can give you a bit more punch. But for bashing will I really see a noticable difference? I have a Losi 8ight 2.0 buggy with a Mamba Monster 1515 2200 system and a 8ight-T 2.0 with a Mamba Monster 1520 1800 system. I run both 4s and 6s and all my batts are 40c. Will I see a noticable difference in power if I was to drop down to a 20c or 25c battery? I am relatively new to the electric side of things and I have heard people say to look at batteries as the fuel tank and the "C" rating as the fuel line. With larger fuel line (in this case "C" rating) for more punch. If this analogy is correct then wouldn't I see longer run times with a lower "C"rating? Or is there no advantage at all to run a lower "C" battery?
Old 03-28-2012, 10:34 AM
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo

Lower C rating batteries will run hotter and cost a little less and weigh a little less.

I can't speak much for car applications specifially.
Old 03-28-2012, 11:27 AM
rccrazer

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

okay spo heres my laymens terms definition for lipo terminology,
we will relate everything to water

MaH: this is the abreviated form of "millionth ampres hours" basicly the more you have the longer you run, this is your resivour of water

volts: this is the amout of force behind your water in the pipe,