Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Wiring

Reply
Old 10-17-2012, 07:16 AM
  #1
daves
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Greenfield, MA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wiring

Does anyone know what the difference is between the stiff wire you buy in Radio Shack and the soft pliable wire that is used in battery connections? I am using a 4c battery and have to make extensions so the battery wires reach the ESC. They are both 10ga. twisted copper wire.
daves is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 07:49 AM
  #2
raptureboy
 
raptureboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kempton PA
Posts: 2,595
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

The wire used on batteries and esc's is silicone coated making it very flexible. You can order it from many of the electric partssuppliers. Try Maxx products. http://www.maxxprod.com/mpi/mpi-5.htmlbottom of the page
raptureboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 10:38 AM
  #3
trax de max
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: newcastle, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 654
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

the silicone wire is more flexable, so when the parts it's soldered too jiggles around a little, it takes up the stress as apposed to the stiffer copper wire which will snap the solder joint when jiggled a bit.
trax de max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 12:38 PM
  #4
daves
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Greenfield, MA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

Thanks for the input. I checked with Maxx Products and they do have it so I ordered some. Thanks again.\
Dave
daves is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:02 AM
  #5
trax de max
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: newcastle, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 654
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring


Quote:
ORIGINAL: trax de max

the silicone wire is more flexable, so when the parts it's soldered too jiggles around a little, it takes up the stress as apposed to the stiffer copper wire which will snap the solder joint when jiggled a bit.
i just read my post and makes no sense, so i'll try again.

The silicone wire is more flexible than the stiff copper wire, When the Batterey jiggles about a little or the cables move with vibration the stress is on the wire, The silicone wire happily absorbs this but the stiff copper wire transfers all the energy to its weakest place, the solder joint. Solder joints are strong but don't like any movement and breaks off easily.
trax de max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 03:00 AM
  #6
Goldenduff
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Aberdeen, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,003
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

I encountered some wire coming from an expensive multiplex funjet upgrade motor. It would not accept solder at all- needed to add to their length. Couldn't tin it at all....any tips?
Goldenduff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:15 AM
  #7
trax de max
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: newcastle, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 654
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

do you have pics or is it just a case of adding extra wire to the existing.
trax de max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:37 AM
  #8
Goldenduff
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Aberdeen, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,003
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

Just wanted to lengthen existing (for a mini North Star aka Polaris by Steve schumate). Quality motor by multiplex but after removing bullet connectors the wire will not take solder, it just runs/slips off. The wire looks coppery. Cheers
Goldenduff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:00 AM
  #9
trax de max
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: newcastle, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 654
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

use a domestic brillo pad to clean, rub some flux on the wires and using a hot iron with broad tip and decent size solder it should take
trax de max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:28 PM
  #10
Goldenduff
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Aberdeen, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,003
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

Okay.....thanks (if it works or not!!)
Goldenduff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 02:25 PM
  #11
Goldenduff
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Aberdeen, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,003
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

Sorry to hijack this thread but seeing as you're here...what wattage is sensible for a soldering iron on 12gauge to deans etc? Thanks
Goldenduff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 03:06 PM
  #12
trax de max
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: newcastle, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 654
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

i use a 60 watt and i would say that would be minimum what to use, but the tip is quite important and also keeping it good.Broad tips make such a difference.
For making battery packs your looking at much higher and thicker solder.
For small gauge i don't use flux but for larger 10-8 gauge i do.
trax de max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 05:17 AM
  #13
TheWoodCrafter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Westminster, CA
Posts: 177
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

I see no one here has mentioned to you that extending your battery wires to the ESC is NOT recommended at all.
Sometimes can lead to frying your ESC.

It is better the extend the wires going to the motor if you have to.


TheWoodCrafter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 05:42 AM
  #14
Goldenduff
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Aberdeen, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,003
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

Hello- I did not think it was as cut and dry as that....Is there an argument that lengthening the wires from ESC to the motor can intefere with the back EMF that the motor sends to the ESC. The ESC uses this information for timing. Similar arguement to why you cannot run two brushless motors off one ESC (although dont tell my ESC that as it happily runs two brushless motors!).

Bascially, as in life, there is a compromise. I would be interested in replies to this, if not a little off topic. If you need to have the motor a long way away from the ESC would increase motor or battery leads and why...........

Cheers
Goldenduff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:39 AM
  #15
trax de max
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: newcastle, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 654
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

there is some set ups that don't like the esc to motor wires shortened, not all but some.
From what i remember if the wires come from the motor and solder to esc you can't shorten,
If you solder to motor then these can be shortened. Whether this is true i don't know 100%
trax de max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:11 PM
  #16
TheWoodCrafter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Westminster, CA
Posts: 177
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

I was quoting from an artical I found in Model Aviation written by the former owner of AstroFlight.

You can find the complete artical on page 94 and 95.

https://library.modelaviation.com/ma/2012/2

It seems the length of the wire to the motor doesn't matter at all but the wire to the ESC should be under 1 foot.

TheWoodCrafter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:46 AM
  #17
Lone Star Charles
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 338
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

Somehow, I just don't understand how the length of the wires can make any perceptable difference to the electronics. Obviously, wire size and length should be made adequate for the amount on current that the wire is carrying; but, as far as it having any signigicant influence on the commutation timing in the ESC, I just don't see it. Hope someone here can explain.
Lone Star Charles is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:07 AM
  #18
trax de max
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: newcastle, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 654
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wiring

ah right i thought it was other way around.
trax de max is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:08 AM.