Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Batteries & Chargers
Reload this Page >

Thunder AC680 - CONNECTION BREAK?

Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Thunder AC680 - CONNECTION BREAK?

Old 05-21-2012, 07:22 PM
jstrach

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thunder AC680 - CONNECTION BREAK?

I just got in the mail my new Thunder AC680 LiPo charger, and I was totally excited and stoked and happy and...

Then I plugged in a 3S LiPo and it's reporting "Connection Break" when I attempt to charge. I unplugged my adaptor, the battery, replugged all the plugs back in...checked for loose wires, everything looks and feels just perfect. But I can't get it not to report "Connection Break".

So i threw on another 3S battery, same thing...

Are there any reports of this new charger model having issues like this? Or does someone have an idea or suggestion? I'm just learning the menu'ing system, but I can't imagine there is something I'm missing. But maybe. I hope. I don't want to have to send it back....

HELP??
Old 05-21-2012, 07:38 PM
jstrach

Default RE: Thunder AC680 - CONNECTION BREAK?

I found on another forum the diagnosis for the issue:

Try it with the balance tap properly hooked up as well as main power lead.
Even in basic charge mode, this charger wants both cables connected.

My Triton2 does not require the main power leads to be attached, but the Thunder apparently requires that.  You cannot just rely upon the balance charger connections.

Maybe this will help someone else, so I thought I'd mention the solution.
Old 05-22-2012, 02:34 AM
trax de max

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

yep my team orions the same. needs all wires connected.
Old 01-30-2013, 04:12 AM
j1911h