Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Wire Gauge for electric set-up

Old 01-19-2014, 04:46 AM
sportflier62

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wire Gauge for electric set-up

Have a twin engine plane with 2 40size motors. Have 2 4S 5000mah 50C batteries that I want to hook up in parallel using a "y" connector and EC5 plugs. What gauge wire is needed for this? I have plenty of 14ga silicone wire. Motors will probably only pull 25C or less. I'm new to electrics so would appreciate any information.
Old 01-19-2014, 05:55 AM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Without knowing the make and model of the motors I would say they are capable of drawing 40 to 50 amps. Typically you would use a 50 or 60 amp electronic speed control (ESC) for each motor. Depending how you prop the motors will determine what amp draw you will realize using that battery set-up.
As far as the wire gauge , I use this as a guide:

50-65 amps, use 12 gauge
35-50 amps use 13 gauge
20-35 amps, use 14 gauge
15-20 amps, use 16 gauge

Usually I use 13 gauge wire for 46 size motors as the ESC's typically have 13 gauge wire on them from the factory. Check the gauge on the ESC wiring and don't go below that. Going larger is OK but you won't gain any advantage if the ESC wiring is a smaller gauge.
Also keep the wiring as short as possible and of equal lengths.
An arming switch is always a good idea to install on 40size and larger motors. It is a plug that is installed in a connector mounted on or in the plane.right before you are ready to fly and it arms the set-up (turns everything on) for safety.
Get yourself a watt meter or at least an amp meter so you can properly test the set-up.

Last edited by flyinwalenda; 01-19-2014 at 06:04 AM.
Old 01-19-2014, 09:02 AM
chuckk2

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts