Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Batteries & Chargers
Reload this Page >

Recommended AMP for 3 s Lipo Charging? Please Help.

Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Recommended AMP for 3 s Lipo Charging? Please Help.

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2015, 08:49 PM
kashif314

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recommended AMP for 3 s Lipo Charging? Please Help.

Hi Guys,

Trust you ll be fine. I have a Traxxas Rustler VXL and I installed a 3 s 4000Mah Lipo Battery. Since I am new to this hobby and don't know much about Lipos so I bought a cheap non digital charger. There are 3 Switches on the Charger 1A, 2A, 3A and the Hobby shop sales man told me to charge the battery on 3 A because its 4000mah and otherwise will take a lot of time but I am still in doubt, so I am asking you guys to please tell me that if its ok to charge on 3 A or shall I go for a low setting like 2A or 1A and please tell what is the difference among all and what is best and safe for 3 s 4000mah lipo.

Please Reply,
Thanks a lot.
Old 06-22-2015, 10:36 PM
collector1231
My Feedback: (1)

3 amps is good. To find the recommended/safe charging amperage on any battery, divide the MAH by 1000, and subtract .5. That is the suggested amperage you should charge that particular battery at. Any thing under that is okay, but go with the number closest to the one you just did all the math for.
Old 06-23-2015, 07:48 PM
kashif314

Originally Posted by collector1231
3 amps is good. To find the recommended/safe charging amperage on any battery, divide the MAH by 1000, and subtract .5. That is the suggested amperage you should charge that particular battery at. Any thing under that is okay, but go with the number closest to the one you just did all the math for.
Thanks a lot bro for the detailed explanation. This formula you told me is of great help. Once again big big thanks bro
Old 07-16-2015, 12:03 PM