Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Lipo noob questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2016, 02:47 PM
wha-tah-hey

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Lipo noob questions

I'm new to Lipos and have an IMax B6 charger, with less-than-crystal-clear-to-me instructions.
In my application I'm using 1100mah 1S cells, I think 20C.
When charging @ C/1 and 1100mah max capacity, it times out @ 120mins (not settable, best I can tell) without reaching full charge.
I'd assumed that the Waste Time setting (default @ 5 mins) would auto-restart charging until full charge was reached, but Noooo - it just sets there blinking at me.
If I manually restart, the Charge Capacity reading resets to 0 and when it reaches full charge may read only 800-ish or whatever.
And, 'though late-state CV (or is it VC?) charging indicates 4.2v, full-charge VOM reading is only ~3.9V.
A 2-step charge (3rd for the cell) read 4.05v immediately after, 3.95v after ~20 mins rest.
Another 2-step charge on a different cell (4th for it) reached capacity limit and read 3.9v.
Any thoughts on what I'm doing (or thinking) wrong?

Thanks.

Terry

Last edited by wha-tah-hey; 03-12-2016 at 09:22 PM. Reason: Addl info
Old 03-12-2016, 10:15 PM
chuckk2

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

What should be happening with a "good" Lipo.
The 1C charge rate should be 1.1A It will eventually taper due to a charge mode change from CC to CV.
The time to charge should be less than an hour, since a good Lipo would have a residual charge at the start of 20% or more.
The 3.9v result makes me think that the charger may be malfunctioning, or not setup correctly.
Some chargers have to be set differently to charge 1S batteries, or those without balance taps, such as a 1S.
I'd expect to see about an 800-900mah charge reading from a 1100mah Lipo when things went as they should.