Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Lipo questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2016, 10:12 AM
RC_Noobi3

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Lipo questions

So i have used lipos for quite some time without any problmes, but then i got a mamba monster 2 to my Summit and i have the 2650kv motor. I am currently using 2x3s lipos in a series to but the 3s lipos started puffing after about 50 runs. I have cut off on, but with castle link i can change the cut off voltage so what would be i deal for 2x2s 7800mAh in series and what would be ideal for 2x3s 5000mAh in series? Also would running on 2x3s 5000mAh in series give more run time than the previously mentioned 2s lipos. Also what batterys are great that fit the E REVO/SUMMIT?

2s lipos i am talking about
https://traxxas.com/products/parts/b...mah-74v-2S-25C
3s lipos i am talking about
https://traxxas.com/products/parts/2831X
Old 11-10-2016, 12:20 PM
Mechanicaloverlord

First the 2650kv is meant for 4s max. Some guys run 6s for speed runs in much lighter 1/8 buggies but I wouldn't recommend unless you're experienced and not in a 1/8 monster truck. In fact the 2650kv is a smaller motor that doesn't develop as much torque and is more at home in a lighter vehicle like a 1/8 buggy.

Second, pick a voltage and stick to it. Unless you're going to change the motor to something with a lower kv I recommend 4s. In fact even if you're going to change the motor go 4s to help the drivetrain survive. The Erevo doesn't have the toughest drivetrain and the Summit with its diff locking mechanisms is a bit weaker.

As for the lipo cutoff I run 3.2v per cell. Some run up to 3.6v per cell but I think that's overkill and you're just losing runtime.
Old 11-10-2016, 09:33 PM
RC_Noobi3