Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Balance 2s-4s balance charger to 3s battery

Reply

Old 02-06-2019, 05:58 AM
  #1  
PowerPhoto
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
Default Balance 2s-4s balance charger to 3s battery

Hello everyone,

Recently I bought a Hubsan Zino and to be able to balance the batteries better I want to buy a SkyRC S65 (2-4s). Zino's batteries are 3s. In order to charge the Zino battery, we need to make an adjustment on the connector welding a banana or XT60 connector to pins 1 and 4:

The problem is. Zino battery cable has 4 pins and S65 cherger has 5 pins [4 3 2 1 -].


Can I just ignore the fifth pin of the charger and use only [3 2 1 -] pins? In this case IŽll make a cable with jst-hx 4 pins in one end and jst-hx 5 pins on the other end.


I see people using the SkyRC iMAX B6 mini because it already has output to the various cells. I prefer to choose the S65 because it connects directly to the power outlet without the need of power supply.

Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20190105-115754.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	136.9 KB
ID:	2263379  
PowerPhoto is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 04:35 PM
  #2  
cyclops2
 
cyclops2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Frenchtown, NJ
Posts: 3,009
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not fully understanding how to charge without a power supply. I am good on electronics. But lost on what you want to do.

Why not off of any 12 vdc car or lawn mower battery ?
cyclops2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 07:40 PM
  #3  
RustyUs
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: central PA
Posts: 4,383
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I skip the whole JST-XH balancing board adapter, and just plug into the charger's balancing port. I just grind down the left tab/guide on balancing plug.



3S balance plug (four wires). Left tab on plug is taken off with Dremel tool, or Xacto blade.

Last edited by RustyUs; 02-11-2019 at 07:43 PM.
RustyUs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 08:25 AM
  #4  
cyclops2
 
cyclops2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Frenchtown, NJ
Posts: 3,009
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Bingo
Take another plug like in the picture. Cut it down to be put into those unused pins showing. Will prevent a accidental wrong plug in. A touch of tape or glue would hold it in place.
cyclops2 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service