Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Lipo vs. Nicad?

I am relatively new to this hobby. I was at a fly-in last month and was told by one of the pilots that if I converted over to lithium polymer batteries I could literally fly for 3 or 4 months, depending on the amount of flying I do each week of course, without recharging.

Question # 1: Is this true?
    Question # 2: If it is true, why wouldn't everyone be using lipos instead of nicads??

Please understand that I have very little knowledge of the battery side of this hobby. I simply charge my nicads for 10-15 hours the night before I go fly the next day. I just bought a 3D plane and the receiver battery for this thing will only last for about 4 good flights if I am lucky. This is what got me interested in finding out about lithium polymer batteries.

Please help!

Allen

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Lipo vs. Nicad?

Definately NOT true.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Hi Allen!

Li-Poly does a great job as a power source for electric pilots in 'park flyer' type aircraft, and the limitis of serviceability are expanding all the time. In the near future that battery technology may dominate electric flite.