Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Newbie Battery Question

Reply

Old 01-10-2002, 05:23 AM
  #1  
nsherman
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Newbie Battery Question

I am a new RC'er and have a battery question. My current Rec. battery pack is 4 AA dry cell setup (yuk). I am looking at a NiMH 4.8 (Hobbico HydriMax 4.8V 1200mAh Square). What does the 1200mAh mean? I have looked at www. towerhobies.com and see them range from 1200mAh to 2000mAh. Can I use any size I want or can the wrong size cause problems?

Any help would be appreciated.Thanks,
Nick
nsherman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2002, 05:49 AM
  #2  
DK64
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: hanford, CA
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default battery

1200 MAH is the capacity of the battery, the bigger the capacity the longer the run time between charges. for example in a standard .40 size plane you could probably get four safe flights before recharging with a 600 MAH pack on the other hand if it was 1200 MAH you would get 8 flights out of it before charging also these are just approximate flights per charge just to show how it works. also i would go with sanyo nicds instead of nimh pack becasue they are more user friendly (in my opinion).also you can use any size you want the bigger packs are slightly heavier though but electronically will not cause any problems.
DK64 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 05:18 AM
  #3  
nsherman
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Another battery question...

Thanks for the information. I do have one more question on the topic. The current dry cell setup says 6V on it. Does the NiMH also have to be 6V also or can it be 4.8V?

Thanks again for your help.

Nick
nsherman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 06:07 AM
  #4  
slam
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BB , BC,
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default voltage

You said 4V now 6V. If it's currently 6V, you better stick with 6V. None can tell you what would happen with 4.8V, except it wouldn't work! Have fun!
slam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 06:32 AM
  #5  
nsherman
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Voltage

It is a 4 AA (dry) cell pack. Each AA (currently Energizer) battery is 1.5V for a total of 6V. The pack I was looking to buy is a NiMH 4.8V and I thought I better find out if it work before I buy it. (as you can see, I'm new at this) I have been looking around on some web sites but am unable to locate a square 6V pack. I am very limited on space for the battery. It is in a small tunnel hull boat and the flat packs are too long for the compartment. The max size of the battery would measure 2 1/4 in. long X 1 1/4 X 1 1/4.

Nick
nsherman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 06:46 AM
  #6  
slam
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BB , BC,
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 6V battery

My apologies. I have shown my ignorance!

Can you try it with 3 AA (4.5) and see how it goes?? before you commit.
slam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 06:54 AM
  #7  
nsherman
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Voltage

Just tried it and when I take 1 battery out nothing works. But that could be because there is nothing closing the circuit. Not sure.

Nick
nsherman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 07:02 AM
  #8  
slam
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BB , BC,
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Newbie Battery Question

Yes. You will probably have to short across the empty slot.
slam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 03:11 PM
  #9  
nsherman
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Voltage

Ok, I pulled a battery out and and ran a short across the empty slot and it worked. The response time on the servos doesn't seem to be any slower than before. Looks like the 4.8V will be fine.

Thanks for your help,
Nick
nsherman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 10:59 PM
  #10  
Wings-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Wings-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 701
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Newbie Battery Question

Those AA 1.5 volt dry cells is what the battery was charged to. They are actually 1.2 volt cells charged to 1.5 volts. (Check your standard Duracells or Energizer AA and they all state 1.5 volts.)

When the 4 dry cells are just charged the voltage will come to almost 6 volts. That is exactly what your NiMH's will read when it is freshly charged.

Use the NiMH's just as they are....It's a good replacement. Just recharge when they get below 4.7 volts.
Wings-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service