Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Reply
Old 06-14-2010, 02:45 AM
  #226
lastgoodshyguy
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: winnipeg, MB, CANADA
Posts: 1
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

I am in need of a ps that can put out more that 20 amps. Does any one know what I need to make my own?
lastgoodshyguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 05:16 PM
  #227
rash_powder
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Ok, so I think I got all the connections right on my power supply. I hooked it up and the fans work, and my power resistors get warm. So I took it out to the garage to test it, plugged it in, all worked, then I hooked my ICE up to it (obviously off, no battery connected), and the supply completely shuts down. It then needs to sit for a few minutes with no power to it to reset.

Any ideas as to what I did wrong? I didn't make any smoke or sparks.

rash
rash_powder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 05:27 PM
  #228
Andrew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Murray, KY
Posts: 3,187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

See post #173 in this thread.

andrew
Andrew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 09:10 PM
  #229
rash_powder
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Well, I got it going now. I moved one of the fans to the outside of the power supply case to give me more room for my power resistors and power harnesses. But I have ran into one problem. My supply will not activate unless I disconnect a five wire connector from the little board that says it is for the fan control. I do not know if this harness is important. I still get heat from my power resistors without it (2 10 ohm in parallel), and about 12.15v off the 12 volt rails. Am I gonna cook something without it? It just does not seem to get past the self test with it connected.

Thanx for any input!

Matt
rash_powder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 11:35 AM
  #230
Andrew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Murray, KY
Posts: 3,187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use


Quote:
ORIGINAL: rash_powder

.......My supply will not activate unless I disconnect a five wire connector from the little board that says it is for the fan control. I do not know if this harness is important. I still get heat from my power resistors without it (2 10 ohm in parallel), and about 12.15v off the 12 volt rails. Am I gonna cook something without it? It just does not seem to get past the self test with it connected.
Most of the newer power supplies have a thermally controlled PWM circuit to manage fan speed in order to reduce fan noise. If your supply will only latch without the controller, then leave it unplugged. Unfortunately, I can't provide an explanation for why yours is failing the POST with it connected. The fan may be tied directly to any of the 12v rails or one of the 5v rails for that matter. Running the fan at 5v won't hurt it; it simply slows it down.

The specs on 80mm fans usually list ratings in the 25 to 30 CFM range at full RPM (which I generally don't believe, BTW). Consequently, a fan rated at 25CFM will evacuate the PSU case about 450 times a minute. But, keep in mind that PSU fans are also used to provide case cooling in addition to PSU cooling, hence the excess capacity. Running the fan slower on 5v will still provide more than enough air flow for the PSU alone and it will be quieter.

andrew
Andrew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 04:34 AM
  #231
christyhobbyrc
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: shenzhenguangdong, CHINA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use




Dear Friend,



This is Christy from EC Energy Electronic Co.,Ltd.
We are a company in shenzhen huaqiangbei,mainly doing RC battery,RC airplane and other RC accessories(Include RC battery,7.4V,11.1V,14.8V,18.5v,22.2v,1200mah,2200m ah,2500mah,3800mah,5000mah,RC Motor,helicopter etc).
If there is any interests,Welcome visit our office to know more,or can contact us with follow info:





Contact Person: Miss Christy
TEL: 86-755-82797252
Email: christy AT hobbyrcworld DUT com
MSN: newspecial AT live.cn
WEB: www-hobbyrcworld-com
ADD: 710 room,7/F,jing-ji building,Huaqiangbei street,FuTian,ShenZhen,china

christyhobbyrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 03:17 PM
  #232
RCbasher01
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Not TELLING!!
Posts: 2
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Guys

Ireally need some help with my PSU

I checked it before taking it apart, and it worked, but now it wont even start up, and all ive done is cut the wires, and got the black and green wires twisted (still not soldered) together.

I tried putting a load on it (on 5v a 12v lightbulb) but it still doesnt budge...

Here are some pics of this PSU...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf97754.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	68.8 KB
ID:	1473271   Click image for larger version

Name:	To45294.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	58.2 KB
ID:	1473272   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vb73989.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	65.2 KB
ID:	1473273   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sm28403.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	69.2 KB
ID:	1473274   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wh59003.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	65.1 KB
ID:	1473275  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Du20939.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	1473276  
RCbasher01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 06:08 AM
  #233
PT19
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Buna, TX
Posts: 90
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

This may be in here somewhere but I have to ask. Compac power supply green wire is 5va. Can anyone tell me what wire to use to power on?
PT19 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 10:00 AM
  #234
karolh
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Hi Andrew,

I recently converted a 235 watt PSU to power my Accucell 6 charger, but unfortunately it only delivers 10.63 volts on the 12 volt leg. Is there anyting that can be done to bring it up to 12 volts or should I just get a larger wattage unit to start with.

Karol
karolh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 11:17 AM
  #235
keredg
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: La CorunaLa Coruña, SPAIN
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Put a load on the 5v line and this will bring up the 12v line, its explained further back in the thread
keredg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 12:29 PM
  #236
Andrew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Murray, KY
Posts: 3,187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use


Quote:
ORIGINAL: keredg

Put a load on the 5v line and this will bring up the 12v line, its explained further back in the thread
This may well be the problem. How much load do you have on the 5v (red) rail? Generally, I start with 10 ohms, then drop to 5, then to 2 ohms. If your voltage on the 12v rail is not sufficient with a 2 ohm load, there will be no real gain in reducing resistance and you may have to look elsewhere.

The watt rating of the supply determines how much current you will be able to pull during charging - increasing it will not bring the voltage up. These supplies respond to regulation on the 5v rail which is why modifying the load can increase the output voltage on the 12v rail.

andrew
Andrew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 09:50 PM
  #237
4nn4
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Jawa Timur, INDONESIA
Posts: 3
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use


Quote:
ORIGINAL: 4nn4
Btw,I may explain why I interest to build, this is may different from other who may use for RC/Lab purpose. I am thinking to use it as power source 12VDC of my portable air inflator (which isusually use for emergency air inflator for car's tyre using cigars lighter or directly car's battery 12v power source).
However I may use this air inflator a lot around my home so a 220VAC-12VDC converter is needed. But the current needed to run this inflator around rated 20-30A and as you know it's quite expensive to buy real converter AC-DC who can supply much current.
So if is possible to draw out allthe current from 500W ATX power supply for 12VDC only, if I eliminate all other voltage ?. I just need DCV +12V
The PS label state +12V 10A and I count there is 6 yellow 12V cable avalaible to use
Thank you for your kind advice
Regards,
Just for updating, Ihave manage to build this PSU, using 400watt and adding a H4 55/60W (car's halogen bulb headlamp) as a load, it gives a steady 12.2 volt. And my inflator is working fine, surprisingly the PSU can handle the load. The bulb lamp turn on not to bright, so good as an indicator too. And since now, I have use this PSU to supply electronic/car's hardware like horn etc whenever I dismantle it on bench and required 12VDC on demand.

Thanks for this great site !
4nn4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 03:43 PM
  #238
2680
 
2680's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: West Chester, OH
Posts: 51
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

i just purchased a new atx supply and it has two sensor wires... an orange one marked +S and a brown one marked -S. any idea where they need to go? i cannot get the supply to turn on. it comes on for .5 seconds and then shuts off.....
2680 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 10:02 PM
  #239
Andrew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Murray, KY
Posts: 3,187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Look at the 2x10 or 2x12 motherboard plug - which pins (colors) do the sense wires connect to? Generally, reconnecting the sense wires to the same rails that were on the MoBo connector will solve the problem.

Have you connected any pre-load?
Andrew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 06:56 AM
  #240
2680
 
2680's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: West Chester, OH
Posts: 51
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

thanks andrew.... i got it figured out. +s went to orange (3.3) and -s went to ground. i had the -s hooked to the -12v, didn't think about the ground having a sensor....

working great now!
2680 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 07:47 AM
  #241
pettit
 
pettit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Try this link:

http://alas.ifrance.com/atlas/atlas2...er-supply.html

It relates to using the PC supply to power an amateur HF transceiver but your battery chargers can be about the same load.

It shows how to add a resistor (10K - 20K ohm) between two pins on the PWM chip to raise output voltage to 14 volts or more, without using the 5 to 10 ohm resistor on the 5 volt line.

Not for the faint of heart or weak at miniature soldering crowd.

It really does work too!
pettit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:31 PM
  #242
OldRookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 1,380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

I am putting together a power supply from an Ultra X-Connect 500W unit. Pt #X-ULT500P.
I can't get it to power up. I have a red ,and black wire hooked together through a 10 watt 10 ohm sandbar, and also tried a 10 watt 1 ohm sandbar.
There is no brown sense wire in this power supply. The sense wire is usually connected at the #11 position in the 20 pin connector. The #11 and #12 wires are Red.
Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
Greg
OldRookie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 12:23 AM
  #243
myrddin
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sellersburg, IN
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

I tried to get this project under way but have a few snags...

The power supply is a 300w Astec Model SA302-3525 looks like 12v 12a output.

I cut all ends and grouped the wires:
yellow-post (currently wires are hanging out of the case)
Black-post (currently wires are hanging out of the case)
green-black
red-black to a 1157 bulb (no resister as of yet)

not using:
red
purple
white
gray
blue
orange

I have no switch just a plug and there is a voltage slider switch.

I plug it in and the fan turns and stops. I can dtach the green/black wire and retach the wires and the fan will start and stop for a second... from my read you did bring up that it could be a short but I do not see how in this case. Could it be due to not having a resister?

Any help? I usually get these things pretty easy... but not sure on this one.

myrddin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 09:23 AM
  #244
OldRookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 1,380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

I have it working now....missing fuse in a hidden spot.

Greg
OldRookie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 10:08 AM
  #245
myrddin
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sellersburg, IN
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

I am still stuck... should I expect the power supply to turn on if I ground the green wire? how can I tell if the PS is still working.
myrddin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 03:47 PM
  #246
huck1199
 
huck1199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Does the bulb light?
huck1199 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 04:14 PM
  #247
myrddin
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sellersburg, IN
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

The bulb will light for a second, about the same amount of time the fan will try to spin, then it stops. If I take the balck and tap the green wire it will continue to flash/spin but if I hold together it does the flas/spin for a second and then stops. I am not sure what do do or test from this point.

myrddin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 04:30 PM
  #248
huck1199
 
huck1199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

Sounds like you don't have the right sense wire selected for the load.  Or, the bulb is not enough load for your particular PS.  You could attach your voltmeter to the outputs and see if the is any voltage during the startup bump. This should indicate that he PS is OK.
huck1199 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 04:36 PM
  #249
huck1199
 
huck1199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

I just opened my PS and I see that I connected a red and black wire to my resister load. I loaded the 5 volt output which makes sense. You want to emulatethe motherboard 5 volt load before the 12 volt supply will activate for the drive motors.
huck1199 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 05:12 PM
  #250
myrddin
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sellersburg, IN
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

I dont have the resister... you think that is why? I am going to run down and get one from radio shack quick... cant hurt. Only sense wire I have is the green power good one... I have the gray one but I do not think I needit unless I hook up an led. I will get the resister and see.
myrddin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:20 AM.