Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 10 of 17 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast
Results 226 to 250 of 406

  1. #226

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    winnipeg, MB, CANADA
    Posts
    1
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    I am in need of a ps that can put out more that 20 amps. Does any one know what I need to make my own?

  2. #227

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Grand Forks, ND
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    Ok, so I think I got all the connections right on my power supply. I hooked it up and the fans work, and my power resistors get warm. So I took it out to the garage to test it, plugged it in, all worked, then I hooked my ICE up to it (obviously off, no battery connected), and the supply completely shuts down. It then needs to sit for a few minutes with no power to it to reset.

    Any ideas as to what I did wrong? I didn't make any smoke or sparks.

    rash

  3. #228

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Murray, KY
    Posts
    3,102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    See post #173 in this thread.

    andrew
    the "other" andrew
    I'm not older than dirt, but I can remember when it was patent pending

  4. #229

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Grand Forks, ND
    Posts
    11
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    Well, I got it going now. I moved one of the fans to the outside of the power supply case to give me more room for my power resistors and power harnesses. But I have ran into one problem. My supply will not activate unless I disconnect a five wire connector from the little board that says it is for the fan control. I do not know if this harness is important. I still get heat from my power resistors without it (2 10 ohm in parallel), and about 12.15v off the 12 volt rails. Am I gonna cook something without it? It just does not seem to get past the self test with it connected.

    Thanx for any input!

    Matt

  5. #230

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Murray, KY
    Posts
    3,102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use


    ORIGINAL: rash_powder

    .......My supply will not activate unless I disconnect a five wire connector from the little board that says it is for the fan control. I do not know if this harness is important. I still get heat from my power resistors without it (2 10 ohm in parallel), and about 12.15v off the 12 volt rails. Am I gonna cook something without it? It just does not seem to get past the self test with it connected.
    Most of the newer power supplies have a thermally controlled PWM circuit to manage fan speed in order to reduce fan noise. If your supply will only latch without the controller, then leave it unplugged. Unfortunately, I can't provide an explanation for why yours is failing the POST with it connected. The fan may be tied directly to any of the 12v rails or one of the 5v rails for that matter. Running the fan at 5v won't hurt it; it simply slows it down.

    The specs on 80mm fans usually list ratings in the 25 to 30 CFM range at full RPM (which I generally don't believe, BTW). Consequently, a fan rated at 25CFM will evacuate the PSU case about 450 times a minute. But, keep in mind that PSU fans are also used to provide case cooling in addition to PSU cooling, hence the excess capacity. Running the fan slower on 5v will still provide more than enough air flow for the PSU alone and it will be quieter.

    andrew
    the "other" andrew
    I'm not older than dirt, but I can remember when it was patent pending

  6. #231

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    shenzhenguangdong, CHINA
    Posts
    10
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use




    Dear Friend,



    This is Christy from EC Energy Electronic Co.,Ltd.
    We are a company in shenzhen huaqiangbei,mainly doing RC battery,RC airplane and other RC accessories(Include RC battery,7.4V,11.1V,14.8V,18.5v,22.2v,1200mah,2200m ah,2500mah,3800mah,5000mah,RC Motor,helicopter etc).
    If there is any interests,Welcome visit our office to know more,or can contact us with follow info:





    Contact Person: Miss Christy
    TEL: 86-755-82797252
    Email: christy AT hobbyrcworld DUT com
    MSN: newspecial AT live.cn
    WEB: www-hobbyrcworld-com
    ADD: 710 room,7/F,jing-ji building,Huaqiangbei street,FuTian,ShenZhen,china


  7. #232

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Not TELLING!!
    Posts
    2
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    Guys

    Ireally need some help with my PSU

    I checked it before taking it apart, and it worked, but now it wont even start up, and all ive done is cut the wires, and got the black and green wires twisted (still not soldered) together.

    I tried putting a load on it (on 5v a 12v lightbulb) but it still doesnt budge...

    Here are some pics of this PSU...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Hf97754.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	68.8 KB 
ID:	1473271   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	To45294.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	58.2 KB 
ID:	1473272   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vb73989.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	65.2 KB 
ID:	1473273   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sm28403.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	69.2 KB 
ID:	1473274   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wh59003.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	65.1 KB 
ID:	1473275  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Du20939.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	66.4 KB 
ID:	1473276  

  8. #233

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Buna, TX
    Posts
    46
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    This may be in here somewhere but I have to ask. Compac power supply green wire is 5va. Can anyone tell me what wire to use to power on?

  9. #234

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Mandeville, JAMAICA
    Posts
    5,913
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    Hi Andrew,

    I recently converted a 235 watt PSU to power my Accucell 6 charger, but unfortunately it only delivers 10.63 volts on the 12 volt leg. Is there anyting that can be done to bring it up to 12 volts or should I just get a larger wattage unit to start with.

    Karol
    When inverted always remember that down is up and visa versa

  10. #235

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    La CorunaLa Coruρa, SPAIN
    Posts
    19
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    Put a load on the 5v line and this will bring up the 12v line, its explained further back in the thread

  11. #236

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Murray, KY
    Posts
    3,102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use


    ORIGINAL: keredg

    Put a load on the 5v line and this will bring up the 12v line, its explained further back in the thread
    This may well be the problem. How much load do you have on the 5v (red) rail? Generally, I start with 10 ohms, then drop to 5, then to 2 ohms. If your voltage on the 12v rail is not sufficient with a 2 ohm load, there will be no real gain in reducing resistance and you may have to look elsewhere.

    The watt rating of the supply determines how much current you will be able to pull during charging - increasing it will not bring the voltage up. These supplies respond to regulation on the 5v rail which is why modifying the load can increase the output voltage on the 12v rail.

    andrew
    the "other" andrew
    I'm not older than dirt, but I can remember when it was patent pending

  12. #237

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Jawa Timur, INDONESIA
    Posts
    3
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use


    ORIGINAL: 4nn4
    Btw,I may explain why I interest to build, this is may different from other who may use for RC/Lab purpose. I am thinking to use it as power source 12VDC of my portable air inflator (which isusually use for emergency air inflator for car's tyre using cigars lighter or directly car's battery 12v power source).
    However I may use this air inflator a lot around my home so a 220VAC-12VDC converter is needed. But the current needed to run this inflator around rated 20-30A and as you know it's quite expensive to buy real converter AC-DC who can supply much current.
    So if is possible to draw out allthe current from 500W ATX power supply for 12VDC only, if I eliminate all other voltage ?. I just need DCV +12V
    The PS label state +12V 10A and I count there is 6 yellow 12V cable avalaible to use
    Thank you for your kind advice
    Regards,
    Just for updating, Ihave manage to build this PSU, using 400watt and adding a H4 55/60W (car's halogen bulb headlamp) as a load, it gives a steady 12.2 volt. And my inflator is working fine, surprisingly the PSU can handle the load. The bulb lamp turn on not to bright, so good as an indicator too. And since now, I have use this PSU to supply electronic/car's hardware like horn etc whenever I dismantle it on bench and required 12VDC on demand.

    Thanks for this great site !

  13. #238
    2680's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    West Chester, OH
    Posts
    51
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    i just purchased a new atx supply and it has two sensor wires... an orange one marked +S and a brown one marked -S. any idea where they need to go? i cannot get the supply to turn on. it comes on for .5 seconds and then shuts off.....
    Associated RC18MT : Associated RC10TC3
    Team Losi Aftershock : Duratrax Evader Bx Pro

  14. #239

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Murray, KY
    Posts
    3,102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    Look at the 2x10 or 2x12 motherboard plug - which pins (colors) do the sense wires connect to? Generally, reconnecting the sense wires to the same rails that were on the MoBo connector will solve the problem.

    Have you connected any pre-load?
    the "other" andrew
    I'm not older than dirt, but I can remember when it was patent pending

  15. #240
    2680's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    West Chester, OH
    Posts
    51
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    thanks andrew.... i got it figured out. +s went to orange (3.3) and -s went to ground. i had the -s hooked to the -12v, didn't think about the ground having a sensor....

    working great now!
    Associated RC18MT : Associated RC10TC3
    Team Losi Aftershock : Duratrax Evader Bx Pro

  16. #241
    pettit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    2,759
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    Try this link:

    http://alas.ifrance.com/atlas/atlas2...er-supply.html

    It relates to using the PC supply to power an amateur HF transceiver but your battery chargers can be about the same load.

    It shows how to add a resistor (10K - 20K ohm) between two pins on the PWM chip to raise output voltage to 14 volts or more, without using the 5 to 10 ohm resistor on the 5 volt line.

    Not for the faint of heart or weak at miniature soldering crowd.

    It really does work too!
    Dick Pettit
    WACO Brotherhood #168
    Balsa USA Brotherhood #41

    If You Can Not Stand Behind Our Troops, please Feel Free To Stand In Front Of Them!!!!!

  17. #242

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Prior Lake, MN
    Posts
    1,308
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    I am putting together a power supply from an Ultra X-Connect 500W unit. Pt #X-ULT500P.
    I can't get it to power up. I have a red ,and black wire hooked together through a 10 watt 10 ohm sandbar, and also tried a 10 watt 1 ohm sandbar.
    There is no brown sense wire in this power supply. The sense wire is usually connected at the #11 position in the 20 pin connector. The #11 and #12 wires are Red.
    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance,
    Greg
    You really only own what you can carry at a full out run.

  18. #243

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sellersburg, IN
    Posts
    46
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    I tried to get this project under way but have a few snags...

    The power supply is a 300w Astec Model SA302-3525 looks like 12v 12a output.

    I cut all ends and grouped the wires:
    yellow-post (currently wires are hanging out of the case)
    Black-post (currently wires are hanging out of the case)
    green-black
    red-black to a 1157 bulb (no resister as of yet)

    not using:
    red
    purple
    white
    gray
    blue
    orange

    I have no switch just a plug and there is a voltage slider switch.

    I plug it in and the fan turns and stops. I can dtach the green/black wire and retach the wires and the fan will start and stop for a second... from my read you did bring up that it could be a short but I do not see how in this case. Could it be due to not having a resister?

    Any help? I usually get these things pretty easy... but not sure on this one.


  19. #244

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Prior Lake, MN
    Posts
    1,308
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    I have it working now....missing fuse in a hidden spot.

    Greg
    You really only own what you can carry at a full out run.

  20. #245

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sellersburg, IN
    Posts
    46
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    I am still stuck... should I expect the power supply to turn on if I ground the green wire? how can I tell if the PS is still working.

  21. #246
    huck1199's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, NY
    Posts
    1,550
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    Does the bulb light?

  22. #247

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sellersburg, IN
    Posts
    46
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    The bulb will light for a second, about the same amount of time the fan will try to spin, then it stops. If I take the balck and tap the green wire it will continue to flash/spin but if I hold together it does the flas/spin for a second and then stops. I am not sure what do do or test from this point.


  23. #248
    huck1199's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, NY
    Posts
    1,550
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    Sounds like you don't have the right sense wire selected for the load.  Or, the bulb is not enough load for your particular PS.  You could attach your voltmeter to the outputs and see if the is any voltage during the startup bump. This should indicate that he PS is OK.

  24. #249
    huck1199's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, NY
    Posts
    1,550
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    I just opened my PS and I see that I connected a red and black wire to my resister load. I loaded the 5 volt output which makes sense. You want to emulatethe motherboard 5 volt load before the 12 volt supply will activate for the drive motors.

  25. #250

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sellersburg, IN
    Posts
    46
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: How to convert an ATX power supply to rc use

    I dont have the resister... you think that is why? I am going to run down and get one from radio shack quick... cant hurt. Only sense wire I have is the green power good one... I have the gray one but I do not think I needit unless I hook up an led. I will get the resister and see.


Page 10 of 17 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:44 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.