Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    40
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    What's the cut-off voltage for a 9.9V 3s A123?

    Hi! I have a Mamba Max ESC that has the ability for the user to set the cut-off voltage for lithium batteries. My question is... Since A123's are rated at 6.6V for 2s, and 9.9V for 3s, it fools the MM ESC because the MM ESC's auto lipo cut-off is custom programmed for 7.4V for 2s, and 11.1V for 3s. But I can also choose what cut-off voltage I want with the Castle Link software. Is there a specific voltage I should set the cut-off to for a 2300mAh 9.9V A123? Thanks for any help with this.

    Thanks,
    Joe...
    ~Traxxas XL-5 Stampede~Mamba Max 5700kV BL system~

  2. #2
    bobferguson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Mission, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    452
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What's the cut-off voltage for a 9.9V 3s A123?

    Cut-off voltage for A123 cells is two volts per cell. I set mine about 2.2 volts per cell just to be safe. I try and not fly to lvc but use my timer to time my flight.


    ORIGINAL: hobbygoblin

    Hi! I have a Mamba Max ESC that has the ability for the user to set the cut-off voltage for lithium batteries. My question is... Since A123's are rated at 6.6V for 2s, and 9.9V for 3s, it fools the MM ESC because the MM ESC's auto lipo cut-off is custom programmed for 7.4V for 2s, and 11.1V for 3s. But I can also choose what cut-off voltage I want with the Castle Link software. Is there a specific voltage I should set the cut-off to for a 2300mAh 9.9V A123? Thanks for any help with this.

    Thanks,
    Joe...

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    40
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What's the cut-off voltage for a 9.9V 3s A123?

    Thanks for the quick help Bob. I'm guessing that since I drive an r/c Monster truck that a 6V cut-off would be fine since I would notice it slowing down before it actually goes down to 6V? Since you fly a plane, I'm assuming you'd have to give yourself enough extra time to land, hence the reason for the slightly higher LVC setting?
    ~Traxxas XL-5 Stampede~Mamba Max 5700kV BL system~

  4. #4
    snellemin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Tomball, TX
    Posts
    811
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What's the cut-off voltage for a 9.9V 3s A123?

    I don't use any cutoff voltage. I just stop when I loose power. The drop in power is huge, so you can't miss it. But in the beginning I did set the voltage at 2 volts per cell. But it got annoying after a while since used 2, 3 and 4 cells packs.
    GTP-Pletty Big Maxximum+RX8. GTP-C50-6L Hacker+RX8. CRT.5-C50-Maxx+modded RSpro. TM buggy-1400kv Teknoneu+125B Quark.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    40
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What's the cut-off voltage for a 9.9V 3s A123?

    Ok, good to hear. Thanks snellemin. I'll be using the 3s primarily so I'll try the 6V cut-off. I won't be using my 6-cell IB4200 pack much any more, lol.
    ~Traxxas XL-5 Stampede~Mamba Max 5700kV BL system~

  6. #6
    bobferguson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Mission, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    452
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What's the cut-off voltage for a 9.9V 3s A123?

    Yes the like the extra time to land, but I also don't like pushing the limits, even if they are A123 cells.

    ORIGINAL: hobbygoblin

    Thanks for the quick help Bob. I'm guessing that since I drive an r/c Monster truck that a 6V cut-off would be fine since I would notice it slowing down before it actually goes down to 6V? Since you fly a plane, I'm assuming you'd have to give yourself enough extra time to land, hence the reason for the slightly higher LVC setting?

  7. #7
    SS Pede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Reading, MA
    Posts
    339
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What's the cut-off voltage for a 9.9V 3s A123?

    Do you guys store your A123's at whatever voltage they ended up at after the run, or do you charge them back up part way?

  8. #8
    snellemin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Tomball, TX
    Posts
    811
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: What's the cut-off voltage for a 9.9V 3s A123?

    sometimes I store them depleted. But I usually fully charge them before storing them. Sometimes I use them after a week and it still has all its "power".
    GTP-Pletty Big Maxximum+RX8. GTP-C50-6L Hacker+RX8. CRT.5-C50-Maxx+modded RSpro. TM buggy-1400kv Teknoneu+125B Quark.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.