Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 56

  1. #1
    mentat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    jeffersonville, IN
    Posts
    407
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    Just picked up this charger at Nitro Planes. Gotta say for the price this charger is exceptional. Only trouble i am having is getting the USB working. the drivers do not want to work in VISTA no surprise there. I find this to be one of the best chargers i have ever owned. I was using a MRC Super Brian 969 Pro. This charger is better i think. For the price you just can beat it. does anyone know how to resolve the issue with the USB drivers?








    8ight 1.0 & 2.0 | 8ight-T 1.0 & 2.0 | E-Revo BL Edition | T-Maxx | Slash | Raze-ST | XXX-NT Drake | 3PKS | DX3S Telemetry

  2. #2
    jrock0012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    grand rapids, MI
    Posts
    181
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    I've actually got the Thunder Ac 6 on the way and im pretty sure they are the same charger, other then the AC cord. But back to your question, I've read that other people are having the same problem, and I think people were resolving it by changing the output from Temp sensor to USB. The USB port is also used for the optional Temp sensor and is set for it from the factory. Again I still have not tried it myself, but this is what I hear fixes the problem , hope this helps

  3. #3
    mentat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    jeffersonville, IN
    Posts
    407
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    Ah, ill need to try that! thanks for the info!
    8ight 1.0 & 2.0 | 8ight-T 1.0 & 2.0 | E-Revo BL Edition | T-Maxx | Slash | Raze-ST | XXX-NT Drake | 3PKS | DX3S Telemetry

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    254
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    Mine arrived today. I'm a noob to RC flying and this is my first charger other than the stock charger that came with the plane.
    I'm still using NiMh batteries with the default Tamiya connectors on my 3 packs. I'm ordering a couple more and sticking with the Tamiyas for now.

    Now to the question - the Thunder comes with several adapters but none for the Tamiya. The plane came with an extra wired female connector. Can I just remove the connector from one of the adapters that came with it and replace it with the Tamiya? Is that the best solution? I figured using the alligator clips on the extra connector would be a bad idea as the leads could touch if I wasn't careful.
    And if replacing one of the connectors is ok which one should I scrap? I don't know which of the included adapters I'll want to save for the day I move on to lipos.

    Thx for any help.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    99
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    I think the thunder only supports deans connectors. Thats just by the pictures so i can't tell you for sure

  6. #6
    mentat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    jeffersonville, IN
    Posts
    407
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    use any connector you want, there are a lot of converters u can get to out there, or just do some soldering.
    8ight 1.0 & 2.0 | 8ight-T 1.0 & 2.0 | E-Revo BL Edition | T-Maxx | Slash | Raze-ST | XXX-NT Drake | 3PKS | DX3S Telemetry

  7. #7
    jrock0012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    grand rapids, MI
    Posts
    181
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    +1 ^ I also have the Ac 6 and am still using Nimh, I just converted everything to deans with a little soldering, and they are also much better then the Tamiya connections. If you don't want to convert just use a Tamiya to Deans addaptor

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Alpha, IL
    Posts
    32
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    sorry to barge in on your guys chat ,just have a quick question. I see your talking about the ac6 charger it looks like a good one to me. i'm just getting into rtr boats and wondering is this charger capable of larger lipo batts like 5200mah 2s1or2p 7.4v 25c or maybe even larger ,just curious? thanx for your time.

    RICK

  9. #9
    jrock0012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    grand rapids, MI
    Posts
    181
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread


    ORIGINAL: sims5hd

    sorry to barge in on your guys chat ,just have a quick question. I see your talking about the ac6 charger it looks like a good one to me. i'm just getting into rtr boats and wondering is this charger capable of larger lipo batts like 5200mah 2s1or2p 7.4v 25c or maybe even larger ,just curious? thanx for your time.

    RICK

    I think for the price it's a great charger. I'm charging 4600 Nimh batteries right now at 4.6amps and it takes about an hour to put about 3500mah back in. I soon will be getting some Zippy 2s 20c 5000mah lipos and im sure that this charger will handle them no problem. The max charge rate is 5amps which I think is plenty, and even if it would charge at a higher rate I probably wouldn't exceed 5amps. It can also handle up to 6s. The only complaint that I have is that there is no internal fan so the unit gets a little hot, but other then that it's a great charger.


  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    254
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    Ok, I get it now.  The connectors are deans (read about them but never seen one) and it comes with several adapters but not deans to tamiya.  I'll go pick one up today.  Thanks all.

  11. #11
    mentat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    jeffersonville, IN
    Posts
    407
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    there is an internal fan in the T6
    8ight 1.0 & 2.0 | 8ight-T 1.0 & 2.0 | E-Revo BL Edition | T-Maxx | Slash | Raze-ST | XXX-NT Drake | 3PKS | DX3S Telemetry

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    254
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    Ok, I got the parts and made myself an adapter. One day I'll get proficient at soldering....but that day is not today.

    So on to charging. From reading the Chinglish manual it seems that I just select my charge rate and go. But something confused me when I tried. I put in my stock Supercub battery, a 7 cell 8.4V 100uAh Nimh and chose 1A to be conservative. But when Istarted the charge the display reads ~9.6V in the "battery voltage" area. Shouldn't this read 8.4A, or am Iconfused?

  13. #13
    jrock0012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    grand rapids, MI
    Posts
    181
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    As the battery is charging the voltage will fluctuate. When I charge one of my dead 7.2v 4600mah the voltage of the battery starts off around 7.8v, and when fullly charged it will read as much as 9.2v. But once the battery is taken off the charger that voltage will decrease to anywhere from 8.1v to 8.6v, hopes this helps.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    254
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    Thanks, I ran them and they seemed to have charged just fine.

    One last question - the manual says not to charge a battery that's "full or slightly discharged".  Does that mean that if I charge them and don't fly that I shouldn't top them off the next day after they lose ~10% overnight?

  15. #15
    jrock0012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    grand rapids, MI
    Posts
    181
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    I don't know if they are talking about lipo's, I don't have any experience with them yet , but I top off my Nimh cells all the time, I'm pretty sure they don't have a memory so you should be able to charge them whenever.

  16. #16
    mentat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    jeffersonville, IN
    Posts
    407
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    So anyone had any issues with this charger as of yet? Its been charging my Chinese 2s1p 25c 3000mAh lipos like a champ @ 3 AMPS since i got it ZERO issues.
    8ight 1.0 & 2.0 | 8ight-T 1.0 & 2.0 | E-Revo BL Edition | T-Maxx | Slash | Raze-ST | XXX-NT Drake | 3PKS | DX3S Telemetry

  17. #17
    jrock0012's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    grand rapids, MI
    Posts
    181
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread


    ORIGINAL: mentat

    So anyone had any issues with this charger as of yet? Its been charging my Chinese 2s1p 25c 3000mAh lipos like a champ @ 3 AMPS since i got it ZERO issues.
    No problems as of yet. Other then the fact that it gets a little hot, I temped it at 140f on the outside shell of the charger. I'm charging 2 Chinese 2s 5000mah 20c batteries one right after eachother. These batteries are actually really great for $80 bucks shipped of ebay, I'm actually putting 5500mah back into them which I thought was pretty good. They are E-fly batteries and they are sold by JNS.INC, if anybody is interested


  18. #18
    5lagd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    guelph, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    1,331
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    Hey all
    I have a Thunder T6 and just bought a Thunderpower lipo. The balancing tab on the battery doesnt fit in the external balancing circuit board of the charger. Its only a 2cell lipo. Do iI need to balance it or buy an adapter, if so which one?
    thx
    P4d4, Sl4sh & Vaterra Kemora

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    , UT
    Posts
    1
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread



    mentat

    I just bought the AC6 Thunder and had two problems.

    1. Upon powering it up for the first time I noticed that on the top line of words, the bottom row of pixels did not work. The bottom pixel of each letter was missing. After a few minutes the row of pixels started to work but would then would come and go.

    2. Where you plug the 120 volt AC cord into the side of the unit there are three pins. Hot, neutral and ground. When I unplugged the cord from the charger, for the first time, the grounding pin came out with the cord. Now the charger cannot be properly grounded.

    Luckily the supplier went against their own policy on returns (impressed) and will take it back for a full refund.




    My first 5 minutes with this unit did not leave me impressed with the quality of the unit but I still like all the features.


  20. #20
    mentat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    jeffersonville, IN
    Posts
    407
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    Zijji, i am sorry that you have had some problems with the charger. I have had mine for about 3 months and use it daily. No problems. I did notice when charging Lipo packs that the AMPS move up and down, but im told this is normal for any good charger.
    8ight 1.0 & 2.0 | 8ight-T 1.0 & 2.0 | E-Revo BL Edition | T-Maxx | Slash | Raze-ST | XXX-NT Drake | 3PKS | DX3S Telemetry

  21. #21
    5lagd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    guelph, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    1,331
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread


    ORIGINAL: DonnyNitro

    Hey all
    I have a Thunder T6 and just bought a Thunderpower lipo. The balancing tab on the battery doesnt fit in the external balancing circuit board of the charger. Its only a 2cell lipo. Do iI need to balance it or buy an adapter, if so which one?
    thx
    Found an adapter so no more problems.
    P4d4, Sl4sh & Vaterra Kemora

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    , NJ
    Posts
    104
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    hey guys.. I have the ac6 i use for lipos for my airplanes but I m trying to use it for nimh too how should i set it up??
    its a 1400mah 8.4v how do I change the max temp and max time and max mah setting?

  23. #23

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    , NJ
    Posts
    104
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    hey.. me again... I lost my cd... can anyone upload the software for me or jst give me a link where I can get it.... thanks...

  24. #24
    mentat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    jeffersonville, IN
    Posts
    407
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    i will look around for the software, i too lost mine. To change the settings u wanted, its under the user options. Lipos, should not be getting warm while chargine, unless u are talking about nihm
    8ight 1.0 & 2.0 | 8ight-T 1.0 & 2.0 | E-Revo BL Edition | T-Maxx | Slash | Raze-ST | XXX-NT Drake | 3PKS | DX3S Telemetry

  25. #25

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Milford, CT
    Posts
    524
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: !! Official !! Thunder T6 / AC6 Lipo Charger/Balancer Thread

    Can someone please tell me how to change the auto/manual feature on charging nimh and nicad, i am getting confused with the manual as it doesnt show how to set it to AUTO.


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:18 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.