Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

bigger and heavier

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

bigger and heavier

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2010, 07:38 PM
chrisp32

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bigger and heavier

so i have been flying some 40 size arfs on and off for about 2 years, however it tends to be very windy here on a regular basis and find that it is usually somewhat difficult to control a plane in 15-20 km/hr winds thus making it not quite as fun to constantly battle the wind. my thoughts are going from a small 4-5 pound plane like an escapade or pulse 40 to like a 10-11 lb 120 size decathlon should i expect it to be more stable and a little easier flying like i am currently thinking? and thus open up my chances to go out and fly and enjoying it more. is this thinking correct or is bigger and heavier going to work against me? any thoughts? Advise?

Chris
Old 10-03-2010, 08:00 PM
Charlie P.

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: bigger and heavier

Yes.  The disadvantages are you need more investment in the model, more expensive servos (usually), a larger starter, a larger airstrip/mowed straightaway and a way to transport a large model.

Bigger does fly better for the reasons you state.

Old 10-03-2010, 08:04 PM
Campgems

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Chris, just my 2 cents worth, a low wing plane would be better that a high wing for runway handliing. One of my major issues when I first started flying was the high wing would tend to flip the trainer over on me when turned cross wind. I went to low wing tail draggers and that issue went away in the wind, although the 4*60 tended to weather vane into the wind when rolling out after landing with a cross wind.I pulled out an old Trainer and was flying it the last couple weeks and it picked up right where my first trainer left off some four years back.