Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Beginner Needs Help Choosing a Radio

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Beginner Needs Help Choosing a Radio

Old 01-11-2011, 08:28 PM
Rockabilly Basher

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner Needs Help Choosing a Radio

This is my first year flying, so bear with me if I don't know what I'm talking about. I have the Switch and the Flyzone Cessna 182 Skylane - both are RTFbrushless foamies. I've re-built the Skylane 3 times now, but I'm happy to report the Switch has flown twice and doesn't have a scratch on it!!

My issue is that one is a 2.4 ghz and the other is FM. I know that sooner or later I will have one radio and matched receivers in my different planes. i need to replace the receiver and esc in the FM based Skylane, but don't want to waste my $$$ if I'm just going to go to spread spectrum anyways. So, what is a decent mid level radio that Ican use comfortibly, is reliable, and I can grow into? And do I really need to replace the servos from the ones that come with the kit? Are ball bearing servos really that awesome? What's the difference?

I would like to be able to just get the ARF kits and add to it, but Ihave no idea what's good and what's not.

Right now I'm leaning towards the Futaba 6EX 6 channel 2.4GHz and it comes with the R617FS receiver and 4 S3004 ball bearing servos. From there Iwould simply get more of the same servos and receivers as Iget more planes. Does this sound correct, or am Ioff my rocker?

Any assistance will help this newb save a bunch I'm sure, so thanks in advance.
Old 01-11-2011, 08:38 PM
kiwibob72

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Beginner Needs Help Choosing a Radio

ORIGINAL: Rockabilly Basher