Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Older Equipment

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Older Equipment

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2011, 07:56 AM
TOMMY-O

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Older Equipment

I'm a beginner who has gone through three RTF planes. That means I have three cheap controllers and assorted parts. I was offered a 1994 Futaba Skysport 6A transmitter free, but would need a receiver. I looking to save money here. What are the pros and cons about using older equipment.
Old 10-01-2011, 07:59 AM
goirish

Default RE: Older Equipment

I have all older equipment including me
Old 10-01-2011, 08:15 AM
DeferredDefect

Hello!

I have been using a 1997 Skysport for flying my sailplanes for a while now, and it is quite a reliable radio. When using an older radio, there are a few things you should check into. First off - if the radio is using rechargeable batteries, commonly NiCd's, there is the chance that they could be too old for reliable use. Even if they are called "brand new", I would replace them immediately. It's better to do so than loose a model!  As it is post 1991, the radio should be on the correct band and be compatable for a club environment. 
re"> Before flying, do a full range check of about 90 feet with the antenna collapsed. You should still have full control, provided you are using a full range receiver. Also check that all the functions are working, i.e the channel reverse switches, rate switch, and all 4 basic control surfaces without jitter or unwanted movement.