Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

CG Tuning

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

CG Tuning

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2012, 10:52 PM
Handiman
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CG Tuning

I have learned a little about how changing the CG feels.
I had flown a ParkZone Spitfire for the first couple of flights with the nose a little low when setting the balance. (Nose a little heavy)
I added some things but when I checked the CG it was perfectly level. So I thought "great this is going to fly so beautifully"
Was I ever so wrong. It was flyable but took constant adjustments. Every 25ft I was having to do something. But it was a little more windy than I had flown in before so I thought it was just the wind.
Now keep in mind I am self taught to fly and Ihave only flown about2-3 times a year for the last couple of years. So I just didn't have experience at this.
But I did realize that I did screwup the CG balance.
So this weekend I set it up so the nose was heavy like the first flight and it flew like a dream.
But I am not one to leave it alone. I want to know more. So I am asking. Before I make the same type of mistake by making the plane evenly balanced.
What is too much nose weight? If I want to try more weight how much should I ry at a time? 1 ounce? 1/2 ounce? Should I leave it alone?
The plane weights 42oz at its flying weight. It is running a 15 size brushless and a 2100mah battery. It is currently balanced with equipment placement.
I haven't added any weight, so there isn't any to remove. But should I add 1/4 ounce at a time to get a feel? Or will I be able to notice that little of weight?
And what am I looking for when it gets to much nose weight?
I apperciate any help as I do not want to repair it from a crash and I am trying to get out of my I will do it my self habit and ask for help from experienced flyers.
So I look forward to hearing your suggestions.