Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

My friend wants a cool looking starter plane.

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

My friend wants a cool looking starter plane.

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2012, 12:07 PM
Lokihaus
My Feedback: (8)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My friend wants a cool looking starter plane.

I've been flying for over 20 years now and was going to teach my friend to fly. I told him the usual routine to start with a trainer, but this is what he wants.

He would like an electric.
He would like to build a balsa plane from a kit.
He would like to keep it smaller than a .40 size kit, more like a .1-.2.
He would like a plane that doesn't look like a lame trainer.

I showed him around Tower and other sites and he was focused on buying this one:

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGAL0&P=0
or this
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXM389&P=0

P-51 is not in stock at the moment... and of course these are not trainers. Why does he want this? Cause it looks COOL! Who doesn't want to fly a fighter plane. I guess my question to the general audience is, do you know of any fighter looking planes that can be handled by a newbie? Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
Old 02-01-2012, 12:10 PM
Admiral052

Default RE: My friend wants a cool looking starter plane.

I hear the eFlite T34 Mentor is a pretty docile plane that claims it is a 'Trainer' I have one for fun since I like the plane but I haven't flown it yet. 55" wingspan, balsa frame, easy to see
Old 02-01-2012, 12:37 PM
RCVFR
My Feedback: (7)