Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

choosing second plane

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

choosing second plane

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2012, 08:08 PM
VetteV12

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default choosing second plane

First I want to start with saying that I've been flying my Alpha 40 for about 4 months now every weekend and use my flight sim about once a week flying different planes. I've modified my Alpha 40 with increasing the throws and beefing up the tail and wings so they will hold together with the bigger flight control movements. My "instructor" (a guy I've been flying with that's been doing it since he was 9 and from seeing him fly is a damn good pilot that know's what he's doing) said that I should skip the basic low wing sport plane and jump to an Extra 300 or Edge 540 because I've been advancing so fast in my skill level. I was originally looking at getting a Phoenix Dolphin and beefing it up handle more than it was probly ment to, or getting a P-51 from Hangar 9. Either of which I'm wanting to install a 4 stroke, Enya 80 or Magnum 70. So what do you guys think I should do or do you have a different plane to suggest? I'm not looking to break the bank on this but if I can get just the airframe for $160 - $200ish that is .40 size to fit one of those 2 engines I'll be happy. Also, what servo's are good yet cheap? I've been looking at the Hitec 5485 and 5625. Lastly, is $150 a good price for an Enya 80 new in box for the 1980's?
Old 03-01-2012, 06:38 AM
kenh3497

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: choosing second plane

IF.... you can talk somebody into it..... Maybe they will let you fly their Extra or Edge for a few minutes. Possibly on a buddy box for safety???

Also try some of the sport planes out there. Many are VERY capable fliers. Will do any of the aerobatic maneuvers, maybe not quite as precisely as a an Edge or Extra, but still capable.