Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Hinges

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2012, 06:08 PM
frogwalking

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hinges

I am new to RC so this may not belong in the kit area.

I am well into a Telemaster 40 electric kit build. The kit came with pinned plastic hinges for the flaps (I am not installing moveable flaps) and the fabric type hinges for everything else. I like the pinned plastic (Dubro) hinges better, canuse the flap hinngesfor the ailerons, and buy more for theelevator and rudder. What are your thoughts on which type of hinge is easiest to install, and which type works the best? Toward that end, how does one keep from glueing the bendy portion of the fabric hinge thus making it stiff, and how does one anchor the hinged plastic type of hinge?

Thanks,

Frog
Old 03-01-2012, 06:14 PM
Desertlakesflying
My Feedback: (28)

Received 62 Likes on 53 Posts
Default RE: Hinges

Yes you can, but on that one there's no reason not to use the CA hinges. (fabric type) Just make sure you use thin CA glue when installing them. When you get into bigger models then the plastic ones are better.

I have a Hangar 9 P-51, the 60 size like the blue nose they sell now that does 125mph with the fabric hinges with no issues. It's been 7 years.
Old 03-01-2012, 09:58 PM
Chuck54sd

Hi Frog:

I use "pinned" hinges as well since they put less stress on the servos and allow more freedom of movement.

The down-side is the CA glue getting in the hinge when you insert them and locking or binding them up.

A trick someone showed me to prevent the CA glue from getting into the hinge is to take a toothpick.... dab some vegetable oil on the moving part of the hinge....work it in by moving the hinge back & forth.... and that way there is no where for the CA glue to go since the pin part is already filled with a drop of vegetable oil, which the glue can't stick to.

A little "veggie" oil (I use olive oil) goes a long way.