Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Flying first time "by myself"

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Flying first time "by myself"

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2012, 08:25 PM
Jamming

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Flying first time "by myself"

Hello, been flying model helicopters for more than 10 years now and totally self taught, some crashes but overall I have managed to learn without help. Built and flown scale helis and 3d flight. Now I have a new airplane coming already built and proven, it's modified and has flaps, " kadet senior saito .91 powered" the owner says it very easy to fly, and I have many simulator hours. Ant tips for my first flight would be appreciated. See the problem is I live in a rural area and 65 miles from any town with a hobby shop and don't know anyone who flies planes. But I do have plenty of flight area and a well groomed runway.
Old 03-24-2012, 09:02 PM
BIGMIG

Default RE: Flying first time

I realy can't offer you much help.One plus is you have been flying heli-s and understand radios and such.Check all the control movement and make sure everthing is moving in the right directions.Try to get some altitude and go easy on the throttle and when it is going straight away from you (after you get it up aways and hopefully after bringing it around so you can do this ) try to trim it out with the trim levers for each control so it is flying straight and level as possible with zero control input.

I crashed a lot of planes trying to fly on my own. Some very short flights.....and some that seemed to last forever...all with the same final outcome. But that was me and i'm sure there are guys out there who have been able to make it on their own.It is nice though when you can have an expierienced pilot hook up to you with a buddy cord and take control if and when you loose control and give you good advice and save you some airplane models.