Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

I feel like a NIMROD

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

I feel like a NIMROD

Old 08-30-2003, 11:05 PM
Dauntae

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default I feel like a NIMROD

I started training a new pilot today that I met through here, timnbrody. Tim had some time on the Sim and it really paid off for him and he does real well and his orientation is great, Had him doing circles and figure 8's with no problems so I had he doing approaches up high and I feel he won't be long on a trainer box and today was his first day. Now after having him do all kinds of stuff I went to bring it in and our field is surrounded by trees so you have to go over the tops of the trees and drop down for the landing so I lined up for the approach over the trees and right after I got over the trees (So I thought) I started dropping down to Land and the front wheel snagged the top of the tree :stupid: We got it down with minor damage to the rudder but we had it fixed right at the field.... MAN was my depth perception off today, I'm glad there was not a lot of damage and I told Tim if there was damage I would fix it for him (I felt like MUD) and he is a great sport and is looking to be a great pilot in the making so congrads on your first few flights today Tim and I'll try to keep your plane out of the trees for now on.

Dauntae
Old 08-31-2003, 12:57 AM
Tweet
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The depth perception thing is the biggest surprise for me in model flying. I have landed just to one side of the runway in the grass a couple of times for no reason other than just thinking I was okay. Very odd, but I am aware of it now.
Old 08-31-2003, 01:19 AM
DBCherry
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post