Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Why this is the best hobby in the world

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Why this is the best hobby in the world

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2012, 06:08 PM
lopflyers
My Feedback: (12)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why this is the best hobby in the world

I walked in the hobby shop knowing nothing about planes 3 yrs ago. Mow I'm still learning. This hobby is just very deep and intricate.
Im a medical doctor so I'm a little more educated than most people and still the perils of RC planes are slowing getting in my memory bank.
There are planes, but there are warbirds, acrobatic, sports, pattern, combat, ducted fan jets, turbine jets........ Each of these categories fly different and requires a different set of skills. To the point that if you are flying a warbird for two or three flights and then decide to take off on a pattern or acrobatic you can crash it .
Then there are electrics, glow, gas and turbines powered. The electrics use batteries, wow another science, there's different brands and different powers.
The glow uses a mixture of nitro, methanol and oil, but wait, there is 0-5-10-15 &30%. Which one do I use. Well that's another science, it all depends if your engine is 2 stoke or 4 stroke, OS, Saito or Moki. God forbids someone gives you a vintage German engine because that's another chapter.
These engines uses glow plugs, but they are 6 or 8 or F. But they can also be long or hot. Whattttttt. If your head isn't spinning by now there is more.